Jennie Felton - The Widow's Promise: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 4 - Headline Publishing Group

The Widow's Promise: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 4

By Jennie Felton

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A heartrending saga in the Families of Fairley Terrace series, filled with romance, tragedy, drama, secrets and triumph in adversity from the author of All The Dark Secrets.

The powerful new saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Katie Flynn, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Josephine Cox, of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.

She'd do anything to keep her children safe...

Carina Talbot's life is shattered when her beloved husband Robert is found dead in mysterious circumstances. Suddenly she must take on sole responsibility for their two young children and find a way to continue running the farm which was Robert's pride and joy - not to mention prevent Sally, her beautiful and headstrong sister-in-law, from making choices that will affect them all.

Help comes in the form of two new men in her life: local landowner Lord Cal Melbrook, a scarred war hero whose surly temperament seemingly masks a generous heart, and a mysterious stranger who claims to have been friends with Robert and offers a much-needed hand on the farm. But can Carina truly trust the motives of either man? And, as a woman alone, can she keep her vow to protect her children from further tragedy?

Don't miss the rest of the Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, and Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs.

Biographical Notes

Jennie Felton grew up in Somerset, and now lives in Bristol. She has written numerous short stories for magazines as well as a number of novels under a pseudonym. Her Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas series is about the lives and loves of the residents of a Somerset village in the late-nineteenth century, and started with All The Dark Secrets.

Visit Jennie on Facebook www.facebook.com/JennieFeltonAuthor and follow her on Twitter @Jennie_Felton for all her latest news.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472240910
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Headline
Fans of Katie Flynn will love this — Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Enthralling . . . Jennie Felton . . . writes her stories straight from the heart . . . evokes time and place with compelling authenticity, and conjures up a feisty heroine and a cast of engaging characters — Lancashire Evening Post
Headline

Belle of the Back Streets

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young

A dramatically powerful and romantic saga of tragedy and triumph, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.'Any rag and bone!'Everyone recognises the cry of Meg Sutcliffe as she plies her trade along the back streets of Ryhope. She learnt the ropes from her dad when he returned from the War. But when tragedy struck, Meg had no choice but to continue alone, with only her trusty dog Spot, and beloved horse Stellar, for company. Now the meagre money she earns is the only thing that stands between her family's safety and predatory rent collector Hawk Jackson...Many say it's no job for a woman - especially a beauty like Meg who's noticed everywhere she goes. When she catches the eye of charming Clarky it looks like she might have found a protector and a chance of happiness. But is Clarky really what he seems? And could Adam, Meg's loyal childhood friend, be the one who really deserves her heart?

Headline

A Lucky Sixpence

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A LUCKY SIXPENCE by Anne Baker is a poignant and dramatic saga set in Liverpool, sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.Praise for Anne Baker's Merseyside sagas: 'A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition' Liverpool Echo

Headline

The Sister's Secret: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 5

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

The Sister's Secret is a powerful new saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Josephine Cox, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.She must conceal the truth to protect those she loves.The Sykes family have lived at Fairley Terrace since their youngest daughter, Rowan, was born. Fiercely clever, Rowan finds it difficult to fit in with the other village children, so when her beloved older sister Laurel takes a new job and moves back home, Rowan is overjoyed. Laurel is happy to be with her family even if she's keeping the real reason for her return to herself. It seems like she is destined to keep repeating the mistakes of her past when it comes to matters of the heart. The two sisters are each longing for excitement and a fresh start, and when familiar faces return to Fairley Terrace, along with an enigmatic new resident, it looks like they might get their wish. But their harmony is about to be shattered by a mysterious stranger who threatens to expose a deep family secret - and is prepared to stop at nothing to wreak revenge on the family.Don't miss the rest of the Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs, and Carina's story in The Widow's Promise.

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW is a heartwarming and poignant saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Readers love Pam Evans' books: 'A touching novel' Daily ExpressDespite air raids and rationing in wartime London, sisters Liz and Dora Beck find time for fun and laughter at the local ice-rink. Then a handsome American serviceman catches their attention, and so begins heartache between the sisters. Dora is increasingly jealous of her sister's blossoming romance with Victor. But when Victor is killed in a bomb attack, Liz makes a shocking discovery that upsets her whole family. Forced out of her home, Liz finds support where she least expects it. And, with almost nothing left to lose, she hopes for a brighter day tomorrow...(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline Review

The Songbirds of Colliers Row: A cosy wartime family saga perfect for a winter's day

Jennifer Hart
Authors:
Jennifer Hart
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' heartwarming London saga, DANCE YOUR TROUBLES AWAY, is set during the Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.When Polly Pritchard learns that her husband has been killed in action, she brings up their young daughter Emmie alone. To make ends meet she gets a job at the Cherry Ballroom in West London and it is here that she meets James, a Canadian airman, and they fall in love. But then Polly's husband turns up, very much alive...Life is even harder for Polly after the war; James has gone; her husband is involved in a criminal gang; and their daughter suffers from an illness that leaves her deaf. But Polly's spirit remains strong and with courage and determination she find the happiness she and her daughter deserve.

Headline

Liverpool Sisters

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

LIVERPOOL SISTERS is a nostalgic, heart-warming and dramatic Merseyside saga from bestselling author Lyn Andrews - not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale. Liverpool, 1907. Thanks to their father's success, sisters Livvie and Amy Goodwin are moving from their cramped home to a roomier house on the outskirts of Liverpool. But tragedy strikes when their adored mother dies in childbirth. The girls are still grieving when Thomas introduces their new stepmother - a woman just a few years older than Livvie.Thomas has plans for his daughters. He wants Livvie to marry a wealthy neighbour's son - not Frank Hadley, the kind and handsome factory manager she is attracted to. Their relationship is a dangerous enough secret, but Livvie's interest in the Suffragettes could drive Thomas to the edge. For the Goodwin girls, the happy future they once took for granted is far from certain...

Headline

The Gilded Cage

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Tomorrow the World

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

No.1 bestselling writer, Josephine Cox's Tomorrow the World is a compulsive tale of love and secrets, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin, Catherine Cookson and Kathyrn Hughes. 'Driven and passionate' The Sunday TimesBridget Mulligan loves her husband. He is caring, loyal and dependable - everything a woman could ask for. But she can't quite forget Harry - the one that got away - and when a snow storm drives her into his arms, the inevitable happens. Nine months later a child is born. Overcome with remorse, Bridget is determined that her husband should know the truth, but her confession can lead only to heartbreak. Although he allows his wife and her child to continue living in his home, Tom Mulligan makes it clear that their marriage is over. Lonely and afraid, Bridget finds comfort in the friendship of Fanny, a feisty young mother who knows what it is to be alone. But Bridget's life can never be complete until she has the love of the only man she ever really wanted...

Headline

Rainbow Days

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Miss You Forever

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Let It Shine

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Ada Williams once believed money and power would bring her happiness. But now she is all alone except for her greedy son Peter, who waits only for the day he will inherit her fortune. Ada, however, has a different plan altogether. A few miles away in Blackburn, the Bolton family may be poor - but the love they share means they can overcome almost any adversity. But no one could foresee the shocking events of Christmas night, 1932, which split the family asunder, leaving Larry crippled and the twins, Ellie and Betsy, in a foster home. Events that began many years ago, when Ada Williams was young and foolish.

Headline

Looking Back

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

From the moment she learns of the stranger's visit, Molly Tattersall is filled with a sense of fear.Then her mother disappears, leaving behind a letter asking Molly to take care of her five brothers and sisters. Molly's wayward father rejects his responsibilities, leaving Molly to choose between the young man she has given her heart to, and the family she adores. It is the cruellest decision of her life, with long-reaching and heartbreaking consequences. Only one thing is certain: Molly's life will never be the same again.

Headline

Somewhere, Someday

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Kelly knew that, although Barney would always love her, his restless soul would never allow him to stay, but she could never have envisaged how his leaving would alter her life. Alone once more, Kelly finds herself remembering the past: in particular, what happened in the autumn of 1877 and how it destroyed her family. Filled with regrets and wishes that life may have been different, Kelly begins to see that she must confront her past - and only then will she finally be free.

Headline

The Devil You Know

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

More than Riches

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox