Jennie Melamed - Gather the Daughters - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472241733
    • Publication date:25 Jul 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472241726
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

Gather the Daughters

By Jennie Melamed

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

For fans of Emma Cline's THE GIRLS and Emily St John Mandel's STATION 11, this dark, unsettling and hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult will get under your skin.

For fans of Emma Cline's THE GIRLS and Emily St John Mandel's STATION 11, GATHER THE DAUGHTERS is a hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult that will get under your skin. 'An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart' Kate Hamer

On a small isolated island, there's a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. They are free.

It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

Biographical Notes

Jennie Melamed is a psychiatric nurse practitioner who specialises in working with traumatised children. She lives in Seattle. This is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472241702
  • Publication date: 25 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart — Kate Hamer
Gather The Daughters is extraordinary, powerful, and harrowing-and yet hopeful in its portrait of the human spirit and the endurance of love. This is a visceral book on all levels and it is haunting me still — Julie Cohen
A terrifying work of speculative fiction ... Melamed is a masterful writer, and she establishes a hauntingly vivid atmosphere....This is a haunting work in the spirit of The Handmaid's Tale-but Melamed more than holds her own. Fearsome, vivid, and raw — Kirkus Reviews