Jennie Melamed - Gather the Daughters - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472241733
    • Publication date:25 Jul 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472241726
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

Gather the Daughters

By Jennie Melamed

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

For fans of Emma Cline's THE GIRLS and Emily St John Mandel's STATION 11, this dark, unsettling and hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult will get under your skin.

Described by Kate Hamer as 'intriguing, gorgeously realised . . . inexorably draws you into its dark heart', this novel for fans of Emma Cline's THE GIRLS and Emily St John Mandel's STATION 11 is a hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult that will get under your skin.

On a small isolated island, there's a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. They are free.

It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

Biographical Notes

Jennie Melamed is a psychiatric nurse practitioner who specialises in working with traumatised children. She lives in Seattle. This is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472241702
  • Publication date: 25 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart — Kate Hamer
Gather The Daughters is extraordinary, powerful, and harrowing-and yet hopeful in its portrait of the human spirit and the endurance of love. This is a visceral book on all levels and it is haunting me still — Julie Cohen
Headline Review

The Pool House

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements
Headline

The Face of Fear

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Tinder Press

The Watch House

Bernie McGill
Authors:
Bernie McGill

In the vein of Hannah Kent's Burial Rites, THE WATCH HOUSE by Bernie McGill is the story of the modern world arriving on Rathlin, a remote Irish island, at the very end of the nineteenth century, with dramatic consequences for a young woman named Nuala.As the twentieth century dawns on the island of Rathlin, a place ravaged by storms and haunted by past tragedies, Nuala Byrne is faced with a difficult decision. Abandoned by her family for the new world, she receives a proposal from the island's aging tailor. For the price of a roof over her head, she accepts.Meanwhile the island is alive with gossip about the strangers who have arrived from the mainland, armed with mysterious equipment which can reportedly steal a person's words and transmit them through thin air. When Nuala is sent to cook for these men - engineers, who have been sent to Rathlin by Marconi to conduct experiments in the use of wireless telegraphy - she encounters an Italian named Gabriel, who offers her the chance to equip herself with new skills and knowledge. As her friendship with Gabriel opens up horizons beyond the rocky and treacherous cliffs of her island home, Nuala begins to realise that her deal with the tailor was a bargain she should never have struck.

Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

The Gilded Cage

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

The Gilded Cage by Josephine Cox, Sunday Times bestselling author, explores the intoxicating pull of money, power and passion. 'The fact that Josephine Cox brings so much freshness to the plot, and the characters, is an indication of her skills as a storyteller' Birmingham PostPowerful, hard-hearted Leonard Mears ruthlessly presides over his wife and children, exiling them from the outside world and brutally punishing any disobedience. But he is also a man with a dark secret; an illegitimate daughter that he forced his sister to bring up. The girl is now a young woman who, unbeknown to him, is determined to find the father that abandoned her.James Peterson, a gifted young man, runs Mears' factory with more success than Leonard's own sons. He lives for the day he can have his own business and make his fortune. Only then will he be able to declare his love for beautiful Isabel Mears who he means to release from the gilded cage her father has created. But then the lonely, lovely Sally comes in to his life, turning his heart and dreams upside down.

Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt
Headline

Ararat

Christopher Golden
Authors:
Christopher Golden
Headline Review

Keep Me Safe (Seal Island 1) A gripping emotional page turner with a breathtaking ending

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti

A lost girl shows a mother and her daughter their way home. Keep Me Safe is the much anticipated new novel from the author loved by over a million readers, Daniela Sacerdoti. Perfect for all fans of Nicholas Sparks and Cecelia Ahern. 'Beautifully written... I could almost hear the sea and the wind. A great book' Lesley Pearse When Anna's partner walks away from their relationship, she is shattered. But it is her little girl Ava who takes it hardest of all. The six year old falls silent for three days. When she does speak, her words are troubling. Ava wants to go home. To a place called Seal. To her other mother.Anna knows to unravel the mystery she must find Seal and take Ava there. She hopes this tiny island will unlock her daughter's memories. But could it also offer a new life... and unexpected love... for Anna too?Praise for Keep Me Safe:'I fell in love with this book' Prima magazine'Beautifully written and atmospheric... I adored Keep Me Safe' The Sun'I couldn't put it down' Daily Mail'Heartwarming and mysterious with great atmosphere' Katie Fforde'I was hooked from the beginning, rooting for the mystery to be unravelled. Softly paced yet captivating. I loved Keep Me Safe' Alice Peterson'Heartwarming and intriguing. An absorbing and mysterious journey to Seal, a place I already want to revisit' Dani Atkins

Tinder Press

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Hannah Tinti
Authors:
Hannah Tinti

Bursting with imaginative exuberance, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as 'One part Quentin Tarantino, and one part Scheherazade' (Ann Patchett) and will appeal to fans of The Sisters Brothers or The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter Loo to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife's hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother's mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past - a past that eventually spills over into his daughter's present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. Both a coming of age novel and a literary thriller, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY explores what it means to be a hero, and the price we pay to protect the people we love.

Headline

In the Name of Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Tinder Press

The House of Birds

Morgan Mccarthy
Authors:
Morgan Mccarthy

Morgan McCarthy's THE HOUSE OF BIRDS is a beautiful and bewitching story of love, war and second chances that will be adored by readers of Louisa Young and Virginia Bailey. Oliver has spent years trying to convince himself that he's suited to a life of money making in the city, and that he doesn't miss a childhood spent in pursuit of mystery, when he cycled around the cobbled lanes of Oxford, exploring its most intriguing corners.When his girlfriend Kate inherits a derelict house - and a fierce family feud - she's determined to strip it, sell it and move on. For Oliver though, the house has an allure, and amongst the shelves of discarded, leather bound and gilded volumes, he discovers one that conceals a hidden diary from the 1920s.So begins a quest: to discover the identity of the author, Sophia Louis. It is a portrait of war and marriage, isolation and longing and a story that will shape the future of the abandoned house - and of Oliver - forever.

Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

A Girl Called Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee
Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Readers of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan's THE MISSING WIFE.Have you ever wanted to disappear? When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince?What goes on behind closed doors is often a surprise, and Imogen surprises herself by taking the leap she knows she must. But as she begins her journey to find the woman she once was, Imogen's past is right behind her... Will it catch up with her? And will she be ready to face it if it does?

Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

Breakdown

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline

Whispers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A beautiful woman scarred by a hateful past. A compassionate cop haunted by a childhood blighted by poverty. Violence brought them together. An unspeakable abomination may tear them apart.Bruno Frye nightly succumbs to the malicious lullaby of the whispers. Losing himself in the nightdreams of their rustling cries, he is deafened by whispers more piercing than any scream. In the dark recesses of his mind no act is too violent, no deed too shocking . . .