Jennie Melamed - Gather the Daughters - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472241733
    • Publication date:25 Jul 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472241726
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

Gather the Daughters

By Jennie Melamed

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

For fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE, THE GIRLS and THE POWER, this dark, unsettling and compelling story of an isolated island cult will get under your skin.

GATHER THE DAUGHTERS is a haunting story of an isolated island cult for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE, THE GIRLS and THE POWER. 'An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart' Kate Hamer

On a small isolated island, there's a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. They are free.

It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

Biographical Notes

Jennie Melamed is a psychiatric nurse practitioner who specialises in working with traumatised children. She lives in Seattle. This is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472241702
  • Publication date: 25 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart — Kate Hamer
A skilful novel full of suspense — Guardian
An exceptional debut — Sunday Telegraph
It's a richly envisioned world, the strange isolation of which Melamed is excellent at teasing out slowly — Independent
A chilling, vividly realised feminist novel that propels the reader into the dark heart of a cruelly repressive and sinister society — Daily Mail
Obsessed with The Handmaid's Tale? This brilliant book is the one for you — Stylist
An assured, lyrical and vivid debut — Irish Independent
Gather the Daughters is an always-compelling and sometimes-shocking read as the horrific secrets of the island are slowly revealed. I read it in one sleep-deprived sitting — Red Magazine
Gather The Daughters is extraordinary, powerful, and harrowing-and yet hopeful in its portrait of the human spirit and the endurance of love. This is a visceral book on all levels and it is haunting me still — Julie Cohen
A terrifying work of speculative fiction ... Melamed is a masterful writer, and she establishes a hauntingly vivid atmosphere....This is a haunting work in the spirit of The Handmaid's Tale-but Melamed more than holds her own. Fearsome, vivid, and raw — Kirkus Reviews
Melamed's haunting and powerful debut blazes a fresh path in the tradition of classic dystopian works...a searing portrayal of a utopian society gone wrong...Melamed's prose is taut and precise. Her nuanced characters and honest examination of the crueler sides of human nature establish her as a formidable author in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Margaret Atwood — Publishers Weekly
At times harrowing in its depiction of cruelty, at other times joy-filled and buoyed by the spirit of liberated girlhood, this is an exhilarating, feminist cry-out, which I hope finds a wide readership — The Big Issue
[A] dark, compelling debut... At a time when it feels as if women's rights around the world are being slowly eroded this absorbing novel is both gripping and to-the-bone chilling. Melamed is definitely a talent to watch. — Daily Express
Headline Review

Addy Mayford's Last Feast

Hina Belitz
Authors:
Hina Belitz
Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo
Headline Review

Before I Let You Go: a gripping novel about the unbreakable bond between sisters

Kelly Rimmer
Authors:
Kelly Rimmer

Your sister needs you. But her child needs you more... Before I Let You Go, the stunning new novel from Kelly Rimmer, the bestselling author of Me Without You, has a heartpounding dilemma at its centre: Your sister or her baby. Who do you choose? Fans of Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse and Diane Chamberlain will adore Kelly Rimmer. As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father and their mother's swift remarriage, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leather-bound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears. As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a doctor, successful in her practice and happily engaged. Annie is addicted to heroin - a thief, a liar, and unable to remain clean despite the fact that she is pregnant. When Annie's newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to help and take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for? What readers are saying about the stunning Before I Let You Go...'A heartbreaking book about an impossible decision. A novel about the deepest love possible' Luanne Rice'One of the best books for discussion that I've read in years' Diane Chamberlain'A deeply emotional and thought-provoking read. It was impossible to not be moved by this beautifully written book' Vanessa Carnevale, AU'Another incredible, gripping read from an exceptionally talented author. This book takes you through a myriad of emotions, whilst opening your eyes to some very important issues for women. I read this in one sitting, because I had to. So will you. A magnificent read I can't praise or recommend highly enough' Heather Hill, UK'Heartbreaking and life-affirming. Before I Let You Go captures the bittersweet nature of existence and turns it into something truly beautiful' Tilly Tennant, UK'Heartbreaking, soul-searching but ultimately uplifting, this thought-provoking book challenges the judgements society makes and weaves a heartwarming story around the bonds we forge as sister, mother and partner' Zara Stoneley, UK'Being a mother means you are open to criticism from every angle, but if you are a pregnant addict, what then? Children are protected in society, but what about those who gave them life? Kelly Rimmer writes from the heart and soul. Be prepared to lose and gain a little of each as you read her stories' Rachel Dove, UK

Headline

Siege Line (Reawakening Trilogy 3)

Myke Cole
Authors:
Myke Cole
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline

Twilight Eyes

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Slim MacKenzie knows what they are, what they do - and how they hide in human form. He is blessed - or cursed - by twilight eyes. He can see the diabolical others through their innocent human disguise. He's already killed one of them. And he'll kill again...But even the grave won't hold them...

Headline

Neverwhere

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.'Eerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins'Stunning' Sunday Times'Gripping... outstanding' Observer'Glittering' Irish TimesJust after 11am on 4th August 1892, the bodies of Andrew and Abby Borden are discovered. He's found on the sitting room sofa, she upstairs on the bedroom floor, both murdered with an axe.It is younger daughter Lizzie who is first on the scene, so it is Lizzie who the police first question, but there are others in the household with stories to tell: older sister Emma, Irish maid Bridget, the girls' Uncle John, and a boy who knows more than anyone realises.In a dazzlingly original and chilling reimagining of this most notorious of unsolved mysteries, Sarah Schmidt opens the door to the Borden home and leads us into its murkiest corners, where jealousies, slow-brewed rivalries and the darkest of thoughts reside.

Tinder Press

The Fractured Life of Jimmy Dice

Ronan Ryan
Authors:
Ronan Ryan
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline Review

Cartes Postales from Greece

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline

Love Me or Leave Me

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The unputdownable summer read about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott
Headline

American Gods

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman

Headline

Phantoms

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

Turbo Twenty-Three

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline Review

The Secret

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes

The Secret is the unmissable second novel from Kathryn Hughes, the #1 bestselling author of The Letter. A powerful, twisting story that will grip you and break your heart, it is perfect for fans of The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks and The Secret Wife by Gill Paul.'Gripping' Good Housekeeping on The Secret. Mary has been nursing a secret. Forty years ago, she made a choice that would change her world for ever, and alter the path of someone she holds dear.Beth is searching for answers. She has never known the truth about her parentage, but finding out could be the lifeline her sick child so desperately needs. When Beth finds a faded newspaper cutting amongst her mother's things, she realises the key to her son's future lies in her own past. She must go back to where it all began to unlock...The Secret.What readers are saying about the unputdownable stories of Kathryn Hughes:'Get set to be hooked' 'A page-turner from the very beginning''This is one of the BEST BOOKS I have ever read''I cried buckets of tears reading it''A beautifully told, tragic tale'

Headline

The House of Thunder

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz