Chloe Benjamin - The Immortalists - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472244987
    • Publication date:04 Jan 2018

The Immortalists

By Chloe Benjamin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hailed a 'a great new talent' by Lorrie Moore, Chloe Benjamin's THE IMMORTALISTS is a sweeping family drama for fans of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and FATES AND FURIES.

It's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. Four siblings, too young for what they are about to hear, sneak out to hear their fortunes.

We then follow the intertwined paths the siblings take over the course of five decades and, in particular, how they choose to live with the supposed knowledge the fortune-teller gave them that day. This is a story about life, mortality and the choices we make: is it better to live a long and cautious life, or to burn brightly, but for the shortest time?

Biographical Notes

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472245014
  • Publication date: 04 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Headline

Let the Good Times Roll

Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page

At Jolly's the holidaymakers have nothing to worry about except how much sun is going to shine. If only that was the case for the staff. When the head of the entertainment team is accused of sleeping with a guest, his instant dismissal leads to Patsy Mathers landing the coveted role of Head Stripey. Patsy can't believe her luck and is determined to do her best, but fellow Stripey Dixie Carter has other ideas... Meanwhile, someone is trying to sabotage the smooth running of the camp, and staff manager, Harold Rose, has to rally the troops to ensure that Jolly's remains the place where the good times roll.With drama and adventure at every turn, a holiday at Jolly's is impossible to forget!

Headline

Holy Cow

David Duchovny
Authors:
David Duchovny
Tinder Press

The Captains and the Kings

Jennifer Johnston
Authors:
Jennifer Johnston
Headline

The Man Who Lied to Women

Carol O'Connell
Authors:
Carol O'Connell
Headline Eternal

Since I Saw You (Because You Are Mine Series #4)

Beth Kery
Authors:
Beth Kery

If you adore Sylvia Day, Fifty Shades and J. Kenner you'll love Since I Saw You...Book Four in the New York Times bestselling Because You Are Mine series.When enigmatic billionaire Ian Noble sets his assistant Lin the task of 'taming' his brilliant but half-savage brother Kam Reardon, she eagerly accepts. She's curious about the solitary genius, plus Kam oozes raw sex appeal. Kam avoids intimacy yet never shies away from satisfying his erotic appetites. But there's something different about Lin - a reserve he's anxious to break. A woman he's eager to take his time with...and possess completely. Soon Lin's smooth façade is undone by Kam's overwhelming masculinity and his irresistible erotic demands. Now, as the unpredictable nights between them grow darker, Lin and Kam are certain of only one thing: they're made for each other.For more electrifying, passionate romance, don't miss the other titles in the Because You Are Mine series: Because You Are Mine, When I'm With You and Because We Belong and look for Beth's sizzling new serialisation The Affair.

Headline

Conquest

John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Authors:
John Connolly, Jennifer Ridyard
Headline Review

The Unpredictable Consequences of Love

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

The Blood Crows (Eagles of the Empire 12)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

THE BLOOD CROWS is the unputdownable twelfth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell.For nearly ten years, the Roman Empire has fought ceaselessly to strengthen its hold over Britannia. But opposition from native tribes led by the ruthless warrior Caratacus threatens to destroy everything. Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro are summoned by Governor Ostorius to Londinium. Tasked with leading a newly formed cavalry cohort into the heartland of Wales, they must destroy the growing resistance. But with Caratacus hatching increasingly ambitious plans and disorder threatening from within Macro and Cato's own ranks, this final test will push the soldiers to their limits. And if they do not emerge as victors, the Emperor Claudius's rule may be at stake, and the very foundations of the Roman Empire could be shattered irrevocably.

Headline

Fire and Brimstone

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman

When billionaire's daughter Alison Wolff disappears following a massacre at a party, nobody knows if she has been kidnapped or killed. Dan Starkey is hired to find the missing student but instead is drawn into a violent struggle between rival gangs.A drugs war is tearing the city apart and in response, a new church movement has sprung up. But when a controversial new abortion clinic is firebombed, Dan is asked to prove their involvement.In a Belfast rapidly descending back into chaos, Dan is left with an impossible choice - betray his client or risk losing his family...

Headline Review

Gifted and Talented

Wendy Holden
Authors:
Wendy Holden
Headline Review

A Heart Bent Out of Shape

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall

From the author of The Book of Summers, picked for Richard & Judy's 2012 summer book club, comes the story of a first love, a terrible tragedy, a snow-filled paradise; a year that will never be forgotten. For Hadley Dunn, life so far has been uneventful - no great loves, no searing losses. But that's before she decides to spend a year studying in the glittering Swiss city of Lausanne, a place that feels alive with promise. Here Hadley meets Kristina, a beautiful but elusive Danish girl, and the two quickly form the strongest of bonds. Yet one November night, as the first snows of winter arrive, tragedy strikes. Hadley, left reeling and guilt-stricken, beings to lean on the only other person to whom she feels close, her American Literature professor Joel Wilson. But as the pair try to uncover the truth of what happened that night, their tentative friendship heads into forbidden territory. And before long a line is irrevocably crossed, everything changes, and two already complicated lives take an even more dangerous course...

Headline

It Happens in the Dark

Carol O'Connell
Authors:
Carol O'Connell
Headline Eternal

Release Me: Stark Series Book 1

J. Kenner
Authors:
J. Kenner

Charlie Owen

Charlie Owen enjoyed a thirty-year career in the police service, serving with two forces in the Home Counties and London, reaching the rank of Inspector.

Dee Williams

Dee Williams was born and brought up in Rotherhithe in East London where her father worked as a stevedore in Surrey Docks. She lives in Hampshire, where she is also an active fundraiser for breast cancer awareness.

Diana Janney

Diana Janney gained two degrees in philosophy from London University and is a dually qualified barrister and solicitor. She has lived for most of her adult life in London and now writes full-time.

Eileen Dreyer

Eileen Dreyer is an award-winning and bestselling American romance author. She lives in St. Louis County with husband Rick and her two children.

Elena Mauli Shapiro

Elena Mauli Shapiro was born and raised in Paris, and now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband.

Emma Darwin

Emma Darwin was born in 1964. Her first novel, THE MATHEMATICS OF LOVE, was acclaimed in nine countries; A SECRET ALCHEMY is her second. She lives in London.

Erick Setiawan

Erick Setiawan grew up in Indonesia and moved to San Francisco as a teenager to learn English. He later attended Stanford. He is now writing fulltime, and OF BEES AND MIST is his first novel.