Chloe Benjamin - The Immortalists - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472253835
    • Publication date:09 Jan 2018
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472244994
    • Publication date:09 Jan 2018
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472244987
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

The Immortalists

By Chloe Benjamin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'It's amazing how good this book is' says Karen Joy Fowler: discover Chloe Benjamin's THE IMMORTALISTS, a sweeping family drama for fans of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and FATES AND FURIES.

'For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. It's amazing how good this book is' Karen Joy Fowler

It's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.

Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the prophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.

Biographical Notes

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472245014
  • Publication date: 09 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. A memorable and heartfelt look at what might happen to a family who knows too much. It's amazing how good this book is — Karen Joy Fowler
A great new talent — Lorrie Moore
The very best kind of literary thriller — Richard Russo
A beautiful, compassionate, and even joyful novel. Chloe Benjamin has written an inspiring book that makes you think hard about what you want to do with the time you're given. This is not really a book about dying - it's a book about how to live — Nathan Hill, author of THE NIX
The four siblings were so real to me that when I turned the last page I immediately missed their company. I was fascinated by the idea of knowing the date of one's death and seeing how each character in The Immortalists handled that knowledge, but maybe even more than that, I loved how Benjamin conveyed the intimate details of these people, which made them and their stories come alive — Claire Fuller, author of OUR ENDLESS NUMBERED DAYS
Benjamin is at turns funny, tragic, informative, and mystical. And, like a good magic act, you'll be wondering what on earth she'll pull out of the hat next. The Immortalists demands to be discussed, dissected, and pondered long after reading — Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of HARMLESS LIKE YOU