Josephine Cox - More than Riches - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780747246572
    • Publication date:02 Mar 1995
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755384518
    • Publication date:19 Jan 2012

More than Riches

Love, longing and rash decisions

By Josephine Cox

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

An irresistible and heartrending novel from No. 1 bestselling writer Josephine Cox. Has Rosie destroyed her chances of love and happiness for ever?

No.1 bestselling writer, Josephine Cox, is 'one of the country's best-loved storytellers' (Prima). More Than Riches is a heartrending novel of love, loss and redemption. A classic that will appear to fans of Catherine Cookson and Rosie Goodwin.

'Cox's talent as a storyteller never lets you escape' Daily Mail

When Rosie's parents were involved in a train accident, her mother was killed and her father left crippled, unable to earn a living and relying on Rosie to keep the wolf from the door.

With her mother gone and her sweetheart Adam away in the army, Rosie is lonely. She eagerly awaits the letters from him, but they never come. As she grows more disillusioned, Adam's best friend Doug goes out of his way to be charming and attentive. Alone and confused, Rosie blossoms under his evil influence. Soon she is carrying Doug's baby and her father has thrown her out of the house. Realising she has no choice, she agrees to marry Doug.

As if she isn't in enough trouble, Rosie's whole world falls apart when a warm and wonderful letter arrives from Adam . . . telling her he's on his way home.

Biographical Notes

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472245717
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline Eternal

Rainy Day Friends: Wildstone Book 2

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis
Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 2: Wicked Mortals

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke

A chilling, lavishly illustrated who's-who of the most despicable people ever to walk the earth, featuring both rare and best-loved stories from the hit podcast Lore, soon to be an online streaming series. Here are the incredible true stories of some of the mortals who achieved notoriety in history and folklore through horrible means. Monsters of this sort - serial killers, desperate criminals, and socially mobile people with a much darker double-life - are, in fact, quite real . . . including H. H. Holmes, the infamous Chicago serial killer; William Brodie, the Edinburgh criminal mastermind who inspired The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde; and Bela Kiss, a Hungarian tinsmith with a most disturbing hobby: collecting women in gasoline drums. As Aaron Mahnke reminds us, sometimes the truth is even scarier than the lore.

Headline Home

Live Well to 101

Dawn Harper
Authors:
Dawn Harper
Headline Review

The Key: From the #1 bestselling author of The Letter

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes
Headline Eternal

Working Girl: Complete Novel

Shana Gray
Authors:
Shana Gray
Headline

Watch Me Disappear

Janelle Brown
Authors:
Janelle Brown
Headline

King Solomon's Curse (Wilde/Chase 13)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

Rainbow Days

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

No.1 bestselling writer, Josephine Cox, is 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' (Manchester Evening News). Rainbow Days is a compelling novel exploring the strength of love and obstacles that can cause destruction. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Catherine Cookson.'You're everything to me. I'd have to lose my life before I'd lose you.'This is the vow Silas made to Cathleen on the day he asks her to marry him. Throughout their childhood their love has grown stronger and now, in 1900, they start to plan a life together. But a jealous woman is determined to ruin their happiness and uses Silas's father - a good and honest man - to do so, forcing him to make an impossible sacrifice. As a dutiful son, Silas has no choice but to obey his father, and Cathleen must pay the bitter price. Separated, each is swept along to a place where there is no love or peace and no way back . . .

Headline

Cradle of Thorns

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Cradle of Thorns by Josephine Cox, the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lonely Girl and Whistledown Woman, is a classic spell-binding tale of escape, love and family, that will appeal to fans of Catherine Cookson and Rosie Goodwin. 'One of the country's best-loved storytellers' PrimaNell Reece has never known her mother, and her father's burden of guilt about his wife has kept him cowed for years, working as a common labourer on his sister's farm. But for all her aunt's spiteful attempts to break Nell's independent spirit, she has never succeeded. But now Nell, pregnant and alone, is forced to leave behind the men in her life, believing she might never be able to return. With little but the clothes she wears, she travels across the Bedfordshire countryside of 1890. When she encounters a scruffy urchin called Kit, a ten-year-old orphan who's lived his whole life on the streets, she takes him under her wing. The pair become devoted friends, never knowing where their journey will take them, but each aware that the time will come when there must be a reckoning.

Headline

Miss You Forever

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Defender

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline

Jinnie

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

No.1 bestselling writer Josephine Cox is 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' (Manchester Evening News). Jinnie is a compelling story of love and belonging, perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Rosie Goodwin.Ten years ago, Louise Hunter's life was torn apart by tragedy. Her husband, Ben, killed himself; her brother-in-law, Jacob, was murdered; and her sister, Susan, abandoned her new-born daughter, revealing the baby is Ben's child. Louise remains haunted by guilt over the one night she spent with Ben's friend Eric, and refuses to return Eric's love. But after adopting Jinnie, she finds new happiness - until Susan decides she wants Jinnie back.Meanwhile, Adam and Hannah, whose mother was killed with Jacob, are on the run. What Adam witnessed on that dreadful night has put them all in danger, but their beloved grandmother knows that one day they must return to the place where it all began . . .

Headline

Born to Serve

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

The bestselling classic story from Sunday Times bestselling author Josephine Cox.'I can take him away from you any time I want.' Her mistress's cruel taunt is deeply disturbing to Jenny. But why should Claudia be interested in a servant's sweetheart? Jenny reckons without Claudia's vicious nature; using a wily trick she seduces Frank, who, overcome with shame, departs for a new life in Blackburn. Losing her sweetheart is just the first of many disasters that leave Jenny struggling to cope alone. When Claudia gives birth to Frank's baby girl she cruelly disowns the helpless infant and relies on Jenny to care for little Katie and love her as her own. Always afraid for the beloved child who has come to depend on her, Jenny is constantly called upon to show courage and fortitude to fight for all she holds dear. In her heart she yearns for Frank, believing that one day they must be reunited. When Fate takes a hand, it seems as though Jenny may see her dreams come true.

Headline

The Revelation Code (Wilde/Chase 11)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline

Mosquitoland

David Arnold
Authors:
David Arnold
Headline

Brothers in Blood (Eagles of the Empire 13)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!BROTHERS IN BLOOD is the unputdownable thirteenth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Praise for Simon Scarrow's compelling novels: 'Gripping and moving' The TimesThe Roman Empire's conquest of Britannia is under threat from within. A messenger on the streets of Rome has been intercepted and tortured, revealing a plot to sabotage the Roman army's campaign against Caratacus, commander of Britannia's native tribes. A treacherous agent's mission is to open a second front of attack against them and eliminate the two Roman soldiers who could stand in the way.Unwarned, Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro are with the Roman army pursuing Caratacus and his men through the mountains of Britannia. Defeating Caratacus seems within their grasp. But the plot against the two heroes threatens not only their military goals but also their lives.Includes 2 maps and Roman army organisation chart.

Headline

Sorrow's Isle (Short Story)

Jen Williams
Authors:
Jen Williams

An exclusive digital short story by dazzling epic-fantasy talent, Jen Williams, author of British Fantasy Award-nominated Copper Cat Trilogy. The three reckless adventurers of The Copper Promise return. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Jay Kristoff. Reckless adventurers Wydrin of Crosshaven and her companion, Sir Sebastian, never turn down a quest that bears the promise of coin.So it is that they find themselves mooring on the jagged rocks of the desolate Sorrow's Isle, in search of an oarsman's sister missing somewhere on its cursed shores.Now they must navigate amid the deathly tales that haunt the isle, or else be swallowed for ever into the depths of magic and danger that lie within...SORROW'S ISLE follows Wydrin of Crosshaven and Sir Sebastian on a quest that takes place before the events of their first full-length novel, THE COPPER PROMISE. *Contains a preview of Jen Williams second Copper Cat novel, THE IRON GHOST*

Headline

Bad Boy Jack

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

The Devil You Know

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Sonny Fareham's lover - and also her boss - is the charismatic Tony Bridgeman, a successful and ruthless man who usually gets what he wants. But for Sonny, the affair that has promised a future of hope and happiness must end in desperate fear. Late one evening, Sonny overhears a private conversation between Tony Bridgeman and his wife. Only then does she realise she is in great danger. Pregnant and afraid, Sonny flees her home to make a new life in the north of England, where she meets a gregarious and motherly new friend, Ellie Kenny. When the mysterious and handsome David Langham seems drawn to her, Sonny almost dares to believe that she could be happy again. But never far away is the one person who wants to destroy everything that she now holds dear...