G X Todd - Defender - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472233103
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472233110
    • Publication date:12 Jan 2017

Defender

The most gripping read-in-one-go thriller since The Stand (The Voices Book 1)

By G X Todd
Read by Nick Landrum

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The primal battle between Good and Evil plays out in a new arena. With nods back to Stephen King's The Stand, Defender is the first in a four part series where your inner voice might kill you.

Defender by G X Todd is an imaginative thriller that draws on influences from Stephen King, Clive Barker and Neil Gaiman to create a new world - where the biggest threat mankind faces is from the voices inside your own head. If you loved The Stand, you'll love Defender, the first in a four part series.

'So accomplished that it's difficult to believe it's a first novel, Defender is already worthy to take its place alongside The Stand in the canon. An absolute gem of a book' John Connolly

'On the cusp of sleep, have we not all heard a voice call out our name?'

In a world where long drinks are in short supply, a stranger listens to the voice in his head telling him to buy a lemonade from the girl sitting on a dusty road.

The moment locks them together.

Here and now it's dangerous to listen to your inner voice. Those who do, keep it quiet.

These voices have purpose.

And when Pilgrim meets Lacey, there is a reason. He just doesn't know it yet.

Defender pulls you on a wild ride to a place where the voices in your head will save or slaughter you.

#HearTheVoices

(P)2017 Headline Digital

Biographical Notes

G X Todd is a thirty-four-year-old librarian from the West Midlands. Since completing a history degree at Birmingham University, she has worked for public libraries for more than a decade and currently holds an HGV licence because she drives a 35ft long library van around the borough.

Defender is her first novel and the first in a four-part series featuring Pilgrim and Lacey.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472246653
  • Publication date: 12 Jan 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Compelling, suspenseful, and altogether extraordinary. You won't forget this one in a hurry — Lee Child
So accomplished that it's difficult to believe it's a first novel, Defender is already worthy to take its place alongside The Stand in the canon. An absolute gem of a book — John Connolly
A chilling vision of a world gone feral, yet strangely triumphant. You can taste the dust and blood and sweat; the fear on every page. Readers should approach with caution, those voices will burrow into your head and heart — Karen Maitland
An incredibly accomplished and impressive debut. The novel is of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand. . . Defender stands head and shoulders above most recent post-apocalyptic offerings — Independent
It's not often you read a debut this assured, this confident. Defender is simply majestic — Adam Christopher, author of Made to Kill
Defender is insane, intelligent, beautifully plotted, intensely absorbing and will enfold you in a vice-like grip from the first page until the last sentence — Lizlovesbooks.com
A rich blend of horror and heart . . . sharp, gruelling and gripping, and we can't wait to explore this harsh world further and see what Todd has to offer us in part two — SciFiNow magazine
Highly entertaining . . . Defender portrays a vivid picture of the cruelty of humanity and highlights the destructive power of the mind — thebookbag.com
Defender is a delightfully dark dystopian journey with compelling characters and a provocative plot. Highly recommended — sfbook.com
Yes it's dark, violent and blood. Yes there's gore, guns and grief. But there's also friendship, loyalty, fantastic characters and writing that will keep you hooked from the outset. . . This is a series to be really excited about — strupag.com
Extremely refreshing . . . a brilliant thriller — Starburst magazine
Defender is lifted way above the other novels in the over-subscribed post-apocalyptic subgenre by Todd's sympathetic characterisation, and superb pacing — Guardian
G X Todd is not just going to be "The Next Big Thing", she's going to be the benchmark for other "Next Big Things" — ebookwyrm.blogspot.co.uk
Post-apocalyptic amazingness — Gillian McAllister, author of Everything But The Truth
Promises to be the start of a wonderful series. A superb debut novel — bluebookballoon.blogspot.co.uk
Quite simply an unputdownable page-turner. Seek it out! — booksmonthly.co.uk
The best dystopian novel I have read for a long time. . . This book made me laugh and cry and was impossible to put down — bookerworm.com
Defender is one of those absolute rarities - a book by a debut author that is genuinely mind-blowing — mikecraven.co.uk
Wow. . . A brilliant debut novel. . . I can't wait for the next book in the series — jacob-reviews-books.blogspot.co.uk
Headline

Skyjack

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline

The Girl I Used To Be

Mary Torjussen
Authors:
Mary Torjussen
Wildfire

Lying To You

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds

Following on from her Kindle bestseller Close To Me, Amanda Reynolds is back with Lying To You, another gripping psychological drama. Perfect for fans of The Husband's Secret and I Let You Go. Praise for Close To Me:'A gripping and twisting psychological drama... a must-read' - Take a Break'Reynolds... masterfully peels away the layers... [an] accomplished debut' - Kathryn Hughes, author of Number 1 Bestseller The Letter'Gripping, claustrophobic and often deeply unsettling' - Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph

Wildfire

The Broken Girls

Simone St. James
Authors:
Simone St. James

Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo
Headline Eternal

Pretend You're Safe (A gripping thriller of page-turning suspense)

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy

Pretend You're Safe is the new gripping, chilling thriller from New York Times bestselling author, Alexandra Ivy. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.He sees you... He knows you... And he'll never let you go...Jaci Patterson was sixteen when she found the first golden locket on her porch. Inside were a few strands of hair wrapped around a scrap of bloodstained ribbon. Though the 'gifts' kept arriving, no one believed her hunch that a serial killer was at work. Now Jaci has finally returned home - only for bodies of strangled victims to start appearing years after they disappeared. Her nightmare is beginning all over again. And this time it won't end until the murderer makes Jaci his...for ever.Look for the next novel of page-turning suspense from Alexandra Ivy, What Are You Afraid Of?

Headline

Freefall

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy
Wildfire

Now You See

Max Manning
Authors:
Max Manning

Will you look her in the eyes, just before she dies? A terrifying crime thriller that will set your pulse-pounding. Perfect for fans of M. J. Arlidge, Robert Bryndza, and Angela Marsons.A psychopath calling himself I, Killer has posted two photos of his first victim online - Before Death and After Death. They've gone viral before DCI Fenton's team even discovers the body.Soon, another victim's photo is similarly posted...and so begins the killer's following.DCI Fenton is determined to discover the identity of I, Killer. Then the murderer makes the hunt personal, and Fenton's search becomes a matter of life or death for him and his daughter.But as I, Killer's body-count rises, his number of online followers is growing - and he loves to give his fans what they want...(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

Headline

The Foster Child

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

King Solomon's Curse (Wilde/Chase 13)

Andy McDermott
Authors:
Andy McDermott
Headline Review

The Pool House: Someone lied. Someone died.

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Wildfire

Yesterday

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap

A brilliant high-concept debut thriller - just how do you solve a murder when you only remember yesterday?'The thriller of the summer' - Observer'A 2017 literary event' - Newsweek'The intrigue of Gone Girl and the drama of Before I Go to Sleep' - iNews'So hotly tipped it should come with scorch marks... Quite literally mind-bending' - RedThere are two types of people in the world: those who can only remember yesterday, and those who can also recall the day before.You have just one lifeline to the past: your diary. Each night, you write down the things that matter. Each morning, your diary tells you where you were, who you loved and what you did.Today, the police are at your door. They say that the body of your husband's mistress has been found in the River Cam. They think your husband killed her two days ago.Can you trust the police? Can you trust your husband? Can you trust yourself?

Wildfire

Close To Me

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds
Headline

The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1)

Jen Williams
Authors:
Jen Williams
Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth
Headline

My Sister

Michelle Adams
Authors:
Michelle Adams

MY SISTER is a dark and gripping psychological thriller - a twisting, shocking tale of family secrets for readers who loved Clare Mackintosh's I SEE YOU and Erin Kelly's HE SAID/SHE SAID.'SO fantastic; twisty and exciting yet original and beautifully written. I'm in awe!' Gillian McAllister, author of Everything But The TruthMy name is Irini. I was given away. My name is Elle. I was kept.All her life Irini thought she was given away because her family didn't want her. What if the truth is something much worse?Two sisters. Two separate lives.One family bound by a harrowing secret.

Headline

One Perfect Lie

Lisa Scottoline
Authors:
Lisa Scottoline

Lisa Scottoline, internationally bestselling author of KEEP QUIET and EVERY FIFTEEN MINUTES, returns with a gripping new tale of family and survival. Sure to keep fans of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN hooked until the last page.Single mother Heather would do anything for her son, Jordan. His talent on the high-school baseball field could be his only ticket to college. Yet there are those in Jordan's team who have the potential to lead him down a darker path. Not least their coach - a new teacher with a dark, hidden agenda of his own.But there is no such thing as a perfect façade. And under pressure the cracks will soon appear...If your child conceals the truth, how can you be sure that they are safe?

Headline Review

Where Dead Men Meet

Mark Mills
Authors:
Mark Mills

A return to the period adventure thriller in WHERE DEAD MEN MEET re-establishes Mark Mills as:'A master storyteller' Val McDermid. For fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming or Robert HarrisParis, 1937. Luke Hamilton - a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy - finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity, or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding towards war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago.From the author of the bestselling THE SAVAGE GARDEN, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets and lies.

Headline

Pendulum

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy