Paul Fraser Collard - The Jack Lark Library - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Jack Lark Library

The complete gripping backstory to the action-packed Jack Lark series

By Paul Fraser Collard

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Available together for the first time, the complete Jack Lark backstory. Includes brand-new prequel: RASCAL.

Available together for the first time, The Jack Lark Library by Paul Fraser Collard is complete Jack Lark backstory. **Includes brand-new, never-before-seen prequel: RASCAL** A must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow.

'An appealing and formidable hero' Sunday Express on The Last Legionnaire
'Enthralling' - The Times on The Lone Warrior
'Brilliant' - Bernard Cornwell on The Scarlet Thief

From gin palace pot boy to a young Private who wears his red coat with pride, The Jack Lark Library reveals the early years of Jack Lark: Soldier, Leader, Imposter.

RASCAL: Jack finds himself witness to the execution of Mistress Manning, murderess in the notorious 'Bermondsey Horror' case.

ROGUE: When an unlikely ally draws Jack from the East End alleys into the bright lights of a masked ball, he gets a glimpse of another life...

RECRUIT:Forced to leave London, Jack is now a young recruit, determined to make his way as a Redcoat.

REDCOAT:Jack relishes the camaraderie of barracks life, but four years of harsh discipline hasn't blunted his desire to be more than just a Redcoat...

Biographical Notes

Paul's love of military history started at an early age. A childhood spent watching films like Waterloo and Zulu whilst reading Sharpe, Flashman and the occasional Commando comic, gave him a desire to know more of the men who fought in the great wars of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. At school, Paul was determined to become an officer in the British Army and he succeeded in winning an Army Scholarship. However, Paul chose to give up his boyhood ambition and instead went into the finance industry. Paul stills works in the City, and lives with his wife and three children in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472247926
  • Publication date: 23 Mar 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Brilliant — Bernard Cornwell
I love a writer who wears his history lightly enough for the story he's telling to blaze across the pages like this. Jack Lark is an unforgettable new hero — Anthony Riches
It felt accurate, it felt real, it felt alive... Every line every paragraph and page of the battles had me hooked, riveted to the page, there were times when I was almost as breathless as the exhausted soldiers — Parmenion Books
Headline

The Lost Outlaw (Jack Lark, Book 8)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard

The eighth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter. Expect hard fighting, dangerous bandoleros and double-crossing aplenty as Jack arrives in Mexico. A must-read military adventure for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better' Matthew Harffy 'Enthralling' The Times on the Jack Lark series 1863, the Deep South. Navy Colt in hand, Jack Lark - the roguish English hero dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley' - is drawn into escorting a valuable wagon train of cotton from Louisiana all the way down to Mexico. Meanwhile, civil war continues to rage across America...

Headline

Death's Dark Valley (Hugh Corbett 20)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Tinder Press

The Den

Abi Maxwell
Authors:
Abi Maxwell

For readers of THE VIRGIN SUICIDES or THE GIRLS, a story of two extraordinary, magnetic women and their disappearances - a hundred years apart - from the small New England town they call home.Henrietta and Jane are growing up in a farmhouse on the outskirts of town, their mother a remote artist, their father in thrall to the folklore and legend of their corner of New England. When Henrietta falls under the spell of Kaus, an outsider and petty criminal, Jane takes to trailing the couple, spying on their trysts, until one night, Henrietta vanishes into the woods.Elspeth and Claire are sisters separated by an ocean. Elspeth's pregnancy at seventeen meant she was quickly married and sent away from her Scottish village to make a new life in America. When she comes to the attention of the local mill owner, a series of wrenching and violent events unfolds, culminating in her disappearance.As Jane and Claire search in their own times for their missing sisters, each uncovers the strange legend of Cold Thursday, and of a family apparently transformed into coyotes. But what does his myth really mean? Are their sisters dead, destroyed by the men who desired them? Or have they made new lives, elsewhere, beyond the watchful eyes of the community they longed to escape?

Headline

Pirata: The Pirate Chief

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The fifth episode in the new Roman pirate series of ebook novellas from the Sunday Times bestselling authors Simon Scarrow and T. J. Andrews. AD 25. Mighty Rome is reclaiming control of the pirate-haunted seas, endangering the livelihoods of the pirate crews. Despite their hard-won fighting skills, the pirates are losing. Until one man, a black flag captain like no others, steps in to challenge the Roman enemy ...A vast fleet of pirate ships has gathered, black pennants fluttering in the breeze. On board are men who would slit each other's throats rather than work together. They have sailed from all directions, reluctant and suspicious, at the request of the notorious pirate Telemachus, the new captain of the Poseidon's Trident. They come in honour of the fallen Bulla, Telemachus's predecessor, not for the young upstart. But Telemachus has a message they can't ignore. The Ravenna fleet, under the command of the ruthless Prefect Canis, has destroyed their trade and devastated many of their hideouts. Once the prevailing sea power, the brotherhood of pirates now live in fear. Telemachus has a bold plan: rather than flee or hide, attack. Fighting is in the pirates' blood. If they can entice the warships out of Ravenna, the pirate force will outnumber the remaining Romans. Then, anything is possible. For every pirate present, there's a glimpse of a future ruling the waves again. And for Telemachus, the chance to save his brother Nereus, languishing in a Roman cell. Do or die, with nothing to lose ...Episode five in the PIRATA ebook novella series.

Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Anna of Kleve, Queen of Secrets

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir

'This six-book series looks likely to become a landmark in historical fiction' The TimesAlison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times bestsellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession and Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen, paints a spellbinding portrait of Anna of Kleve, Henry VIII's fourth queen.A GERMAN PRINCESS WITH A GUILTY SECRET. The King is in love with Anna's portrait, but she has none of the accomplishments he seeks in a new bride. She prays she will please Henry, for the balance of power in Europe rests on this marriage alliance. But Anna's past is never far from her thoughts, and the rumours rife at court could be her downfall. Everyone knows the King won't stand for a problem queen. ANNA OF KLEVE THE FOURTH OF HENRY'S QUEENS HER STORY Acclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir draws on new evidence to conjure a startling image of Anna as you've never seen her before. A charming, spirited woman, she was loved by all who knew her - and even, ultimately, by the King who rejected her.History tells us she was never crowned.But her story does not end there. SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS. 'Alison Weir makes history come alive as no one else' Barbara Erskine'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' Guardian

Headline

Hope for the Best

Jodi Taylor
Authors:
Jodi Taylor
Headline

Pirata: Sea of Blood

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Rebel Killer (Jack Lark, Book 7)

Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Headline Review

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

Gill Thompson
Authors:
Gill Thompson

Inspired by heartrending real events, a mother fights to find her son and a child battles for survival in this riveting debut novel.For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.A woman is found wandering injured in London after an air raid.She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.As the little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return.But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?In Perth, a lonely wife takes in the orphaned child. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the boy who has become her life? This magnificent, moving novel, set in London and Australia, is testament to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

Headline

Pirata: Hunters of the Sea

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

Pirata: The Gates of Stone

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

The Knights Templar Collection: Volume 2

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

Pirata: The Black Flag

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir

'This brilliant book is a bombshell! Jane Seymour the shy mouse type? Think again!' Kate WilliamsAlison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times bestsellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen and Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession, draws an enthralling portrait of Jane Seymour, Henry VIII's third queen, as you've never seen her before. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.'This six-book series looks likely to become a landmark in historical fiction' The TimesTHE WOMAN HAUNTED BY THE FATE OF HER PREDECESSOR. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King.She has witnessed at first hand how courtly play can quickly turn to danger and knows she must bear a son . . . or face ruin.This new Queen must therefore step out from the shadows cast by Katherine and Anne. In doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King?JANE SEYMOURTHE THIRD OF HENRY'S QUEENSHER STORYAcclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir draws on new research for her captivating novel, which paints a compelling portrait of Jane and casts fresh light on both traditional and modern perceptions of her. Jane was driven by the strength of her faith and a belief that she might do some good in a wicked world. History tells us how she died.This spellbinding novel explores the life she lived.SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.Readers love the SIX TUDOR QUEENS series:'Alison Weir is such a good author I can hardly put it down''An extremely refreshing take on a very well-known period of history''Can't wait for the next one in the series''Weir really captures the essence of the people, I could envisage and understand all of them, this really is history brought to life'

Headline Review

The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year

Emily Gunnis
Authors:
Emily Gunnis
Tinder Press

The Story Keeper

Anna Mazzola
Authors:
Anna Mazzola
Headline

The Blood of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 17)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline

Secret Service Brainteasers

Sinclair McKay
Authors:
Sinclair McKay
Headline

Time's Convert

Deborah Harkness
Authors:
Deborah Harkness