Adebayo Akinfenwa - The Beast - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472247933
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017

The Beast

My Story

By Adebayo Akinfenwa

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The autobiography of Adebayo Akinfenwa - aka The Beast

For fans of books by Jimmy Bullard, Paul Merson, The Sidemen and the F2 Freestylers

Messi might be the most skilful, Ronaldo might have the best shot, but according to FIFA it's 16-stone Adebayo Akinfenwa who's the strongest footballer in the world.

With a larger-than-life personality to match, it's no wonder 'The Beast' has become an icon, attracting millions of social media followers, launching his own clothing label, and still banging in the goals for Wycombe Wanderers.

With such fame and adoration, it's easy to forget that Bayo is one of the hardest-working footballers around. His mental strength has had to be equal to his physical. Told by English clubs he was 'too big' to play football, he joined Lithuanian team FK Atlantas as a teenager where he faced widespread racial abuse. A career of grafting in the lower leagues of English and Welsh football followed, with spells at Barry Town, Torquay, Swansea, Gillingham, Northampton and AFC Wimbledon. Bayo's charisma and knack of scoring vital goals made him a fan favourite at each.

His last ever kick for the Dons was a penalty at Wembley to help win the club promotion. 'I think I'm technically unemployed,' he told an interviewer after the final whistle. 'So any managers hit me up on the WhatsApp and get me a job!'

Inspiring, entertaining and full of character, this is the story of how Akinfenwa became a true cult hero and the never-give-up attitude that made him the biggest footballer on the planet.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472247957
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

The Football Yearbook 2018-2019 in association with The Sun

'It's been the basis of my work since 1971. It's the internet between covers' John Motson'The definitive chronicle of changing times for so many who love the sport' Ian Herbert, Daily Mail'The Yearbook stands for authority and integrity' Martin Tyler'The first reference book you should turn to' Daily TelegraphThe Football Yearbook 2018-2019 in association with The Sun is the market-leading book of football statistics, featuring 1,056 fact-filled pages with everything you need to know about domestic and international football.This 49th edition of the football bible brings you all the Premier League, Football League, Champions League, Europa League and World Cup facts and figures. It never fails to deliver with unrivalled stats and information including a comprehensive season-by-season players' directory with an invaluable A-Z of all entries; the most informed stats for English, and Scottish league and cup matches and English and Scottish important dates at home and abroad for the 2018-2019 season. As ever, this is the first reference book you should turn to.

Headline

In the Line of Fire

Warren Gatland
Authors:
Warren Gatland
Headline

Graeme Souness – Football: My Life, My Passion

Graeme Souness
Authors:
Graeme Souness
Headline

Old Too Soon, Smart Too Late

Oliver Holt, Kieron Dyer
Authors:
Oliver Holt, Kieron Dyer

Kieron Dyer's memoir, Old Too Soon, Smart Too Late, is the first intimate and unsparing portrait of the failures and excesses of the generation of English footballers made rich beyond their wildest dreams by the post-1990 World Cup boom in the game and the explosion of the Premier League. It shares the same brutal honesty and self-awareness of the bestselling No Nonsense by Joey Barton and GoodFella by Craig Bellamy.In the public mind, Kieron Dyer came to symbolise so much of what was self-destructive about a group of football players known collectively as the 'Baby Bentley generation'. Nicknamed 'The King of Bling' by the tabloid press, Dyer was caught up in many of the scandals that characterised the history of a talented crop of players who promised so much and delivered so little, a generation whose wages and lavish lifestyles began to alienate them from the fans who once worshipped them.The brash young man is gone now, and in his place is the quiet, caring, wise man who was such a favourite on I'm a Celebrity, Get me Out of Here! in 2015. Dyer narrates, in uncompromising detail, how a generation of talented English footballers, taken out of working class childhoods and presented with a world of glitz, glamour, wealth and temptation, failed to cope with the riches that were presented to them and often fell apart.Old Too Soon, Smart Too Late is about a moment in time, a social and historical record of English football at the start of its gold rush. For Dyer, the end of the book brings a measure of personal redemption and peace but for the English game, there is only a lingering sense of waste and regret for an opportunity lost.(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

Joe Weller Explores: Haunted Hotel

Joe Weller
Authors:
Joe Weller

For fans of The Sidemen, a hilariously spooky choose-your-own-adventure book from YouTube sensation Joe Weller.Join Joe as he explores a haunted hotel, where petrifying paranormal surprises can lurk in every dark corner. You can stick with Joe or you can choose your own path and make your way through the building as you encounter long eerie corridors, experience horrific chills and not to forget, you may witness Joe behaving like an absolute nut-job.Enter at your own peril. And be sure to bring a torch with you as it's going to be one unforgettable adventure.

Headline

Wrecking Ball: A Big Lad From a Small Island - My Story So Far

Billy Vunipola
Authors:
Billy Vunipola
Headline

Fearless

Jonathan Northcroft
Authors:
Jonathan Northcroft

The definitive account of Leicester City's astonishing rise from relegation certainties to Premier League title winners: the greatest achievement in the modern football era.King Power Stadium, countdown to kick off. Out on the pitch a lone brass player sounds the haunting Post Horn Gallop, for 80 years the home players' entrance tune. Spines tingle. Air is gulped into opposition lungs. Game time, time to begin the chase. Burning fox eyes peer down from between the decks of one of the stands. On the stadium's outside wall a royal blue LCD display says #Fearless.Welcome to Leicester City. They were always a club with a difference but in 2015-16 they created a story that in modern football stands unique. Who could believe it: from relegation certainties to champions of England? It was when, on behalf of every small club, dreams were hunted at the King Power, a season where the impossible became merely quarry.5,000-1 shots when the campaign started, Leicester's transformation has been remarkable. This is the most incredible cast of written-offs, grafters, misfits and journeymen, coming together in a special time and place to simultaneously have the season of their lives. Fearless will document Leicester's hunt of their impossible dream. It will tell the greatest football tale of the Premier League era, in loving detail, with the inside track. Now Leicester have gone all the way and won the title, it's the best story in world sports - for years. Champions of the Premier League. The side who'd been adrift at the bottom 12 months previously, who's started the season as relegation favourites, whose manager was favourite to be the first one sacked once the campaign got underway. A League One side only seven seasons previously. A squad of £500,000 and £1m men. Leicester. Ridiculous. Miraculous. Fearless.

Headline

Part Reptile

Dan Hardy
Authors:
Dan Hardy

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who will lift the lid on his own career, give his views on other MMA competitors such as Conor McGregor, Michael Bisping, Georges St-Pierre, Nate Diaz and Amanda Nunes, and discuss just what it takes to compete in the most brutal and competitive sport in the world. Dan Hardy's first book is much more than a straightforward MMA autobiography. Taking the key fights from his career, Hardy explores the sport with the unparalleled insight which has made him the best analyst working today.From training in China with Shaolin monks, to how MMA helped him channel his rage, to psychedelic drugs and the ceremony in Peru that changed his life, to tapping into his 'reptilian brain' and the psychological warfare of UFC, to his epic title fight with Georges St-Pierre and the dark side of the sport, no stone is left unturned.Hardy also speaks eloquently of the heart condition that forced him to stop fighting, the road to recovery, and the evolution of a sport that flies in the face of mainstream disapproval to entertain and thrill millions of obsessives around the globe.

Headline

Firestarter

Ben Stokes
Authors:
Ben Stokes
Headline

The Artist: Being Iniesta

Andrés Iniesta
Authors:
Andrés Iniesta
Headline

Where Am I?

Phil Tufnell
Authors:
Phil Tufnell

As England's cricket team compete for the Ashes in Australia, ex-England spinner Phil Tufnell is enjoying life as a retired cricketer and national treasure. When the sporting legend hung up his cricket boots back in 2003, little did he know the dramatic direction his professional life would take next.Yet since being crowned 'King of the Jungle', the ex-England spin bowler has never looked back and has become a much loved television and radio presenter. Cricket's dressing-room clown is now broadcasting's joker in the pack.Whether it's dining on mealworms on I'm a Celebrity, displaying his ballroom fleckle on Strictly Come Dancing or causing weekly mayhem for the long-suffering host Sue Barker on A Question of Sport, millions of us enjoy Tuffers' lust for life and endearing sense of humour.In Where Am I?, Phil gamely tries to make sense of the wonderful roller-coaster he has been riding these last dozen years, delighting fans with a treasure trove of wonderful stories about the places he has been, the people he has met, the 'things' he has been asked to do but - most of all - the sheer enormous joy he has had doing it all.Five star reader reviews for Where Am I:'Tuffers at his best. A great read, full of fun as you expect''Proper laugh out loud material from Tuffers, but also heartfelt stories about his family' 'I'm bowled over by this read. An ordinary guy doing extraordinary things all because he enjoyed his cricket'

Headline

Dan Carter: The Autobiography of an All Blacks Legend

Dan Carter
Authors:
Dan Carter
Headline

Big Sam: My Autobiography

Sam Allardyce
Authors:
Sam Allardyce
Headline

Mourinho

Jose Mourinho
Authors:
Jose Mourinho
Headline

Bomb

Adam Jones
Authors:
Adam Jones
Headline

Ricky Hatton's Vegas Tales

Ricky Hatton
Authors:
Ricky Hatton
Headline

Luis Suarez: Crossing the Line - My Story

Luis Suarez
Authors:
Luis Suarez
Headline

Football Clichés

Adam Hurrey
Authors:
Adam Hurrey
Headline

Bend It Like Bullard

Jimmy Bullard
Authors:
Jimmy Bullard
Headline

Making the Running

Ian Balding
Authors:
Ian Balding