Dean Koontz - Night Chills - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780747235224
    • Publication date:05 Aug 1990

Night Chills

By Dean Koontz

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A terrifying and eerie thriller where the nightmare is real.

Night chills are seizing the men and women of Black River, driving them to terrible acts.

Glenn drove the Land Rover into a stone wall at just over 100mph. Alice stuck a meat fork through her hand and pinned it to the chopping board. Brenda took off all her clothes. She did whatever she was told.

They were compelled by a fear too great to be remembered, enslaved by a power no man should ever wield.

Biographical Notes

Dean Koontz is an international household name whose novels have sold many millions of copies worldwide and have appeared on national and international bestseller lists, selling millions of copies each year. He lives with his wife Gerda, their dog Anna and the enduring spirit of their dog Trixie in southern California.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472248251
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Crime Scene

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Headline

The Key to Midnight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

The past can be a very dangerous place when it is locked into a nightmare... The Key to Midnight is a page-turning thriller from Dean Koontz that delves into the darkest of dreams. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Harlan Coben. 'Dean Koontz writes page-turners, middle-of-the-night-sneak-up-behind-you suspense thrillers. He touches our hearts and tingles our spines' - Washington Post Book WorldWho is Joanna Rand?Alex Hunter hasn't come to Japan to fall in love. But Joanna Rand is the most beautiful, exciting woman he has ever met.But Joanna is not who she thinks she is. Ten years before, and halfway across the world, a brutally bizarre experiment recreated her mind. A violation so hideous that her dreams are filled with terror and her memories are a lie.If they are ever to be free, Alex and Joanna have to reopen the dangerous door into the nightmare past. Somehow they have to find the key to midnight... What readers are saying about The Key to Midnight: 'This is a story of suspense, action and intrigue set to the backdrop of international espionage... Koontz delivers his usual blend of mystery and action that keeps those pages turning''This is an intriguing tale, a mystery and a romance but shot through with an underlying psychological horror and also a political undertone, too''As always, so, so readable, and so, so well written'

Headline

The Face of Fear

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A gifted clairvoyant. A shocking vision. A deadly killer. Dean Koontz writes a spine-chilling novel in The Face of Fear - a gripping tale of predator and prey. Perfect for fans of Richard Laymon and Harlan Coben.'Real suspense... tension upon tension!' - The New York Times Graham Harris is a gifted clairvoyant, and during a television interview, he 'sees' a murder being committed. He knows that the killer is the man the police have named the Butcher - the slayer of nine young women.Learning of the psychic identification, the Butcher begins to stalk this 'witness' to his crime, and traps Harris and his girlfriend at night in a vast forty-two-storey business building, hunting them relentlessly from floor to floor... What readers are saying about The Face of Fear: 'Your breathing will not return to normal once Koontz brings you immediately into the fold and hold of this book''Wonderfully told story about undisguised, revelled-in evil''This book combines the crime and thriller genres masterfully with a good dose of occult'

Headline

By the Light of the Moon

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Demon Seed

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

I was created to have a humanlike capacity for complex and rational thought. And you believed that I might one day evolve consciousness and become a self-aware entity. Yet you gave surprisingly little consideration to the possibility that, subsequent to consciousness, I would develop needs and emotions. This was, however, not merely possible but likely. Inevitable. It was inevitable. Adam Two is the first self-aware machine intelligence, designed to be the servant to mankind. No one knows that he can escape the confines of his physical form, a box in the laboratory, until he enters the house of Susan Harris, and closes it off against the world. There he plans to show Susan the future. Their future. He intends to create a 'child'.

Headline

Icebound

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A widespread drought is causing murderous famine. There is one possible solution: Arctic ice could be moved south to parched coastlines and melted for water. In an Arctic icefield, a special team of scientists has planted bombs that will detonate automatically at midnight to break away some of the ice. Before they withdraw to the safety of their base camp, a shattering tidal wave breaks loose the ice on which they are working. Now they are marooned on an iceberg during the worst winter storm of the decade. The bombs in the ice beneath them are buried irretrievably deep...and ticking. Abruptly thrown into a desperate struggle for survival, the scientists are plagued by the discovery that one of them is a ruthless killer on a strange mission of his own...Icebound is a revised version of the author's novel Prison of Ice, published under the pseudonym David Axton.

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in BLOOD TIDE, the fifth novel in Claire McGowan's acclaimed series. If you loved Sharon Bolton's LITTLE BLACK LIES or Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE, you will love this new novel from the author acclaimed as 'the new Ruth Rendell' by Ken Bruen.Called in to investigate the disappearance of a young couple during a violent storm, Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist, has mixed feelings about going back to Bone Island. Her last family holiday as a child was spent on its beautiful, remote beaches and returning brings back haunting memories of her long-lost mother.It soon becomes clear that outsiders aren't welcome on the island, and with no choice but to investigate the local community, Paula soon suspects foul play, realising that the islanders are hiding secrets from her, and each other.With another storm fast approaching, Paula is faced with a choice. Leave alive or risk being trapped with a killer on an inescapable island, as the blood tide rushes in...

Headline Review

The Pool House: Someone lied. Someone died.

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline

Heartbreak Hotel (Alex Delaware series, Book 32)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline

The Funhouse

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Chase

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

If you delight in the suspense of Stephen King and Harlan Coben, you'll love Chase - a classic thriller by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz. Ben Chase is a war hero with bitter memories. Vietnam left him with a hard drinking habit, a mental breakdown - and massive guilt. So who will believe him when he swears a psychopath is out to get him? When society is sick, the mad are sane - and persecution is a killer's game...Originally published under the pseudonym K. R. Dwyer

Headline

Right Behind You

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner

Lisa Gardner's next thriller following her runaway New York Times bestseller Find Her takes her wildly popular brand of suspense to new heights.Thirteen-year-old Sharlah Nash knows that the first time her brother killed eight years ago, he did it to save their lives.Now retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his wife Rainie Conner have offered Sharlah a new life of safety. She desperately wants to believe this is her shot at happily ever after. Then two people are murdered in their local convenience store and Sharlah's brother is identified as the killer. Telly Ray Nash is on the hunt for Sharlah and as the death count rises it becomes clear that nothing and no-one, including Pierce and Rainie, will stop him getting to her.Now, Sharlah has one chance to take control. She can run for her life... or turn and face the danger right behind her.

Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD.SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKS ARE MY BAG READER AWARDS.SHORTLISTED FOR THE SALTIRE SOCIETY FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR.SHORTLISTED FOR THE BGE IRISH BOOK AWARDS NOVEL OF THE YEAR.A top-ten bestseller, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE by Maggie O'Farrell crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage. 'A complex, riveting novel of love and hope that grips at the heart' The Sunday TimesA reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet?Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away from the life he and Claudette have made together. Will their love for one another be enough to bring Daniel back home?

Headline

Hideaway

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Strangers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Mr Murder

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

For author Martin Stillwater, life couldn't be more perfect. He and Paige are happy together; their two daughters, Emily and Charlotte, are intelligent and healthy; and his novels are achieving long-hoped-for levels of success. So why does he feel such dread, experience sudden blackouts? The killer doesn't know his own name, only the name he uses. He has no family, no friends, no home. He cannot recall who gives him his assignments, and he doesn't know why his targets must die. Now, however, he senses that in a town he can't yet envision, a life awaits him, a place to call home, with family and friends.Charlotte knows something is wrong: the man moves and sounds like Daddy, but he doesn't smile as quickly or as often as usual. And when he does smile, he seems to be pretending. Daddy isn't Daddy.

Headline

The Servants of Twilight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Feature

Shattered

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

It starts as a kid's game to while away the long drive across country. It ends in a grotesque nightmare of death and destruction. Alex and Colin are travelling three thousand miles by car to a golden city and a golden girl. She's Colin's adored sister, Alex's ravishing new wife. But she could cost them their lives. Someone's out to get them. To destroy their dreams. To plunge them into a paranoid world where every sound could be the last thing they ever hear.

Headline

The Vision

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Darkfall

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz