Dean Koontz - The Mask - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780747232629
    • Publication date:20 Jul 1989
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472202970
    • Publication date:06 Dec 2012

The Mask

A powerful thriller of suspense and horror

By Dean Koontz

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Another spine-chilling tale from the No. 1 bestselling master of suspense.

Originally published under the pseudonym Owen West

Who was the girl behind the mask ...?

She had appeared out of nowhere...in the middle of traffic, on a busy day, in front of Carol's car. A teenager with no past, no family - and no memories. Carol and Paul were instantly drawn to her, this girl they named Jane - she was the daughter they never had. It was almost too good to be true.

Then the hauntings began - ghastly sounds in the dark of night; a bloody face in the mirror; a dim but persistent sense of fear...and the déjà vu. Where had Jane come from? Was she just an orphan in need of love? Or was she hiding a more sinister purpose?

Originally published under the pseudonym Owen West

Biographical Notes

Dean Koontz is an international household name whose novels have sold many millions of copies worldwide and have appeared on national and international bestseller lists, selling millions of copies each year. He lives with his wife Gerda, their dog Anna and the enduring spirit of their dog Trixie in southern California.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472248329
  • Publication date: 05 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Headline
Wildfire

All the Little Pieces

Rachel Abbott
Authors:
Rachel Abbott

A brilliant new novel from the 3 million-copy bestselling author of ONLY THE INNOCENT, COME A LITTLE CLOSER and AND SO IT BEGINS. For fans of Clare Mackintosh and Lisa Jewell

Headline Eternal

Her Deadly Secrets

Laura Griffin
Authors:
Laura Griffin
Headline Review

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

Abbi Waxman
Authors:
Abbi Waxman
Headline Eternal

Stone Cold Heart

Laura Griffin
Authors:
Laura Griffin
Headline

The Quite Nice and Fairly Accurate Good Omens Script Book

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Headline Review

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

Gill Thompson
Authors:
Gill Thompson

Inspired by heartrending real events, a mother fights to find her son and a child battles for survival in this riveting debut novel.For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.A woman is found wandering injured in London after an air raid.She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.As the little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return.But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?In Perth, a lonely wife takes in the orphaned child. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the boy who has become her life? This magnificent, moving novel, set in London and Australia, is testament to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

Tinder Press

The Six Loves of Billy Binns

Richard Lumsden
Authors:
Richard Lumsden
Headline Review

The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year

Emily Gunnis
Authors:
Emily Gunnis
Wildfire

Scrublands

Chris Hammer
Authors:
Chris Hammer

'Stunning ... Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)'A heatwave of a novel, scorching and powerful... Extraordinary' AJ FinnThe #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane HarperIn an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself. A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events. Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight. Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent, C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series and The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse. 'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER1316. On the wilds of Dartmoor stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, home to the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People journey from afar in search of healing at the holy well that lies beneath its chapel.But the locals believe Dartmoor was theirs long before Christianity came to the land. And not all who visit seek miracles. When three strangers reach the moor, fear begins to stir as the well's waters run with blood.What witchcraft have the young woman, the Knight of St John and the blind child brought with them?The Sisters will need to fight for everything they hold dear as the ghosts of the Old World gather in their midst.

Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo

The Feed is a unique, thought-provoking and utterly addictive post-apocalyptic thriller that fans of The Girl With All the Gifts and The Passage will love. SJ Watson says he was 'hooked from the very beginning and haunted for days' and CJ Tudor was captivated by 'a twist that will make your head explode'.The Feed was everything, until it was gone.Tom and Kate have managed to survive in an unconnected world, but the search for their abducted daughter reveals what they have lost.Without the Feed, no one knows who you are. No one knows who to trust.Without it, how can their daughter be saved?What readers are saying about The Feed: 'Absolutely terrifying. It is incredibly real and wholly recognisable''Gripping and exciting and all too close for comfort. Very realistic and beautifully written''A harrowing tale, at times moving, at times thoughtful, at times harsh. It will keep you coming back for more with characters that feel real, a vivid landscape and stellar thought-provoking story' 'This is not a book you can start reading and put back down so be prepared to lose some sleep over this one!'

Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton

YOU'VE NEVER READ A LOVE STORY AS TWISTED AS THIS.***THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP 10 BESTSELLER***Perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, and THE GIRL BEFORE.Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love.Juliette loves Nate.She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flightattendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.They are meant to be.The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing.Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.She is the perfect girlfriend.And she'll make sure no one stops her fromgetting exactly what she wants.True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain...'You don't often come across a character who is both sociopathic and compelling. Buckle your seatbelts, you're in for a very bumpy ride ... Let this supremely enjoyable thriller whisk you up, up and away' Sunday Mirror'This debut novel is written with a gleeful zeal ... Juliette is a memorable, grippingly unpredictable character' Daily Express'An addictive psycological thriller... Unhinged' Culturefly'Be prepared to put your life on hold' Good Housekeeping

Headline

Shattered

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

It starts as a kid's game to while away the long drive across country. It ends in a grotesque nightmare of death and destruction. Alex and Colin are travelling three thousand miles by car to a golden city and a golden girl. She's Colin's adored sister, Alex's ravishing new wife. But she could cost them their lives. Someone's out to get them. To destroy their dreams. To plunge them into a paranoid world where every sound could be the last thing they ever hear.Originally published under the pseudonym K. R. Dwyer

Headline

Heartbreak Hotel (Alex Delaware series, Book 32)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline

Mr Murder

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Dean Koontz Collection

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

The Dean Koontz Collection is an unmissable omnibus of three of his most spine-tingling thrillers, By the Light of the Moon, One Door Away From Heaven and Seize the Night. A terrifying treat perfect for Stephen King fans...By the Light of the Moon: When Dylan O'Conner pulls into a motel, all he wants is sleep. But he soon finds himself bound, gagged and being injected with a mysterious fluid by a lunatic doctor, who claims Dylan will be the carrier of his 'life's work'. He warns Dylan and fellow victim Jillian that he's being pursued and that they too are now targets. They're sceptical. But soon they realise that perhaps he isn't so mad after all... One Door Away From Heaven: Leilani Maddoc's tenth birthday is nine months away. Micky Bellsong is convinced that in nine months and one day, the girl will be dead. Micky's decision to save the child's life - and pit herself against an adversary as fearsome as he is cunning - takes her on a journey of incredible peril and stunning discoveries, a journey that will change her for ever...Seize the Night: One by one, the children of Moonlight Bay are disappearing. No one knows if they are dead or alive. Christopher Snow has glimpsed the dark and torrid secrets of the small-town community where he has spent his life. And only he has the key to the truth - a truth that could only exist in the genetic chaos of Moonlight Bay.

Headline

The Funhouse

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Key to Midnight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Feature

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Chase

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Ben Chase is a war hero with bitter memories. Vietnam left him with a hard drinking habit, a mental breakdown - and massive guilt. So who will believe him when he swears a psychopath is out to get him? When society is sick, the mad are sane - and persecution is a killer's game...