Jennifer Hart - The Songbirds of Colliers Row - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472250384
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017

The Songbirds of Colliers Row

By Jennifer Hart

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A warm, nostalgic saga of a village rising up from the ashes of war, united by the power of song, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Nadine Dorries and Call the Midwife.

From the ashes of war rose a song of hope...

A warm-hearted, nostalgic and uplifting saga, The Songbirds of Colliers Row by Jennifer Hart is perfect for fans of Call the Midwife, Donna Douglas, Kate Thompson's Secrets of the Singer Girls and for anyone with a song in their heart...

A village without a voice. That's what the locals are saying about Llandegwen, deep in the Welsh valleys. The village choir, once a source of pride for the small mining community, has been forced to disband; the elderly choirmaster heartbroken by the empty seats belonging to those who'll never return from the battlefields.

The arrival of a young war widow from the East End with her little boy sets tongues wagging, not least when rumours abound that she's looking to revive the choir. Can the community set aside their grief and lift their voices, and the village's hopes, once more?

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Hart lives in London. When she's not writing, she loves to dance, and is often found tripping the light fantastic at her local Lindy hop class.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472250391
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline

The Sister's Secret: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 5

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

The Sister's Secret is a powerful new saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Josephine Cox, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.Can she conceal the truth to protect those she loves?The Sykes family have lived at Fairley Terrace since their youngest daughter, Rowan, was born. Fiercely clever, Rowan finds it difficult to fit in with the other village children, so when her beloved older sister, Laurel, takes a new job and moves back home, Rowan is overjoyed. Laurel is happy to be with her family - even if she's keeping the real reason for her return to herself. It seems like she's destined to keep repeating the mistakes of her past when it comes to matters of the heart. The two sisters are each longing for excitement and a fresh start, and when familiar faces return to Fairley Terrace, along with an enigmatic new resident, it looks like they might get their wish. But their harmony is about to be shattered by a mysterious stranger who threatens to expose a long-kept secret - and is prepared to stop at nothing to wreak revenge on the family.Don't miss the rest of the Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs, and Carina's story in The Widow's Promise.

Headline

A Song Once Heard

Anne Goring
Authors:
Anne Goring

When rich, handsome Daniel Penhale proposes to Sophy Beardmore, she is swift to accept. The marriage seems to offer the security and respectability she has always dreamed of in a life overshadowed by her mother's feckless, radical way of living. But Daniel's wealth has not made Kildower, his Cornish house, a happy place. It is haunted by old memories, not least those of his first wife, Meraud. No one seems to know the true facts about her death, though rumours and suspicions abound, fostered by the tragic legends that cling to Kildower.Daniel's young daughter, Kensa, is resentful and sullen, her nurse, Jess Southcote, is sly and manipulative, the local people hostile. Then there is Meraud's brother Conan, who seems determined to strike up a friendship with Sophy, but out of what dubious motives?Only when Sophy has unravelled the truth about the past and faced up to her true feelings for both Conan and Daniel himself can she find the happiness she seeks.

Headline

Return to Moondance

Anne Goring
Authors:
Anne Goring
Headline

The Mulberry Field

Anne Goring
Authors:
Anne Goring
Headline

A Turning Shadow

Anne Goring
Authors:
Anne Goring
Headline Review

The Crimson Ribbon

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements

Based on the real figure of the fascinating Elizabeth Poole, The Crimson Ribbon is the mesmerising story of two women's obsession, superstition and hope.May Day 1646: Ruth Flowers finds herself suddenly, brutally, alone. Forced to flee the household of Oliver Cromwell, the only home she has ever known, Ruth takes the road to London, and there is given refuge by Lizzie Poole. Beautiful and charismatic, Lizzie enthrals the vulnerable Ruth, who binds herself inextricably to her world. But Ruth is still haunted by fears of her past catching up with her. And as Lizzie's radical ideas escalate, Ruth finds herself carried to the heart of the country's conflict, to the trial of a king.

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Serpent's Tooth

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

The new Moghul Emperor Shah Jahan reigns over a colossally wealthy empire of 100 million souls. Yet to gain his throne he has followed the savage 'throne or coffin' traditions of his ancestors - descendants of Genghis Khan and Tamburlaine. Ever since the Moghuls took India, brother has fought brother and sons their fathers for the prize and Shah Jahan has been no exception.As his reign dawns, now is the time for Shah Jahan to secure his throne by crushing his enemies. Instead, devastated by the death of his beautiful wife Mumtaz, he becomes obsessed with building an epic monument to their perfect love - the Taj Mahal. His overwhelming grief isolates him from his sons and he does not see the rivalries, indeed hatreds, building between them. When he falls ill, civil war breaks out - ruthless, murderous and uncontrollable - and the foundations of the empire itself begin to shake.

Headline

The Great Deception

Joy Chambers
Authors:
Joy Chambers
Headline Review

The Time of Terror

Seth Hunter
Authors:
Seth Hunter
Tinder Press

The Pillow Book of the Flower Samurai

Barbara Lazar
Authors:
Barbara Lazar

I am Kozaisho: Fifth daughter, Woman-For-Play, teller of stories, lover, wife and Flower Samurai. In the rich, dazzling, brutal world of twelfth century Japan, one young girl begins her epic journey, from the warmth of family to the Village of Outcasts. Marked out by an auspicious omen, she is trained in the ancient warrior arts of the samurai. But it is through the power of storytelling that she learns to fight her fate, twisting her life onto a path even she could not have imagined...

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Tainted Throne

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline Review

The Secret Life of William Shakespeare

Jude Morgan
Authors:
Jude Morgan
Headline Review

An Accomplished Woman

Jude Morgan
Authors:
Jude Morgan
Headline Review

The Gods of Gotham

Lyndsay Faye
Authors:
Lyndsay Faye
Headline Review

The King's Touch

Jude Morgan
Authors:
Jude Morgan

Restored to the British throne in 1660 after years of exile, Charles II began a reign famous for dramatic events (the Plague, the Great Fire, the Dutch Wars), the flowering of science and the arts, and for notorious sexual liaisons. With a bevy of mistresses and flamboyantly addicted to high living, the Merry Monarch successfully presided over 'Merry Olde England' in an age of intrigue and religious dissent. When his tolerance extended to acknowledging his illegitimate son at court, James's life changed out of all recognition. This is the story of a remarkable man, and the spectacular upheavals and reverses of the time, told through the eyes of his illegitimate son, James, Duke of Monmouth.

Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Demand is one of the few economic terms almost everyone knows. Demand drives supply. When demand rises, growth happens - jobs are created, the economy flourishes and society thrives. So goes the theory.It sounds simple, yet almost no one really understands demand, including the business owners, company leaders and policy makers who try to stimulate and satisfy it. Aimed at a business and general non-fiction readership, DEMAND is a book which searches for clues as to where demand really comes from, and why, and how we might control it.

Headline

Storm Bay

Patricia Shaw
Authors:
Patricia Shaw

Prisoners of the Crown are being played by the state... Patricia Shaw's Storm Bay is a gripping saga of shocking revelations and conspiracy behind the transportation of British convicts to Tasmania. The perfect read for fans of Tamara McKinley and Coleen McCullough.'A well-researched, compelling story' - Launceston Examiner Portsmouth, 1832. Once the pride of the British East India fleet, the Veritas has fallen on hard times. She is now a transport ship, her cargo prisoners of the Crown, her destination the penal settlement of Van Diemen's Land, now known as Tasmania, the southernmost State of Australia. Pastor Bob Cookson tries to offer solace to the convicts on board, but is shocked to discover that most of them have committed only trivial offences. He suspects a conspiracy to empty British prisons, but finds a more sinister motive at work...What readers are saying about Storm Bay:'This book is up to Patricia Shaw's high standard''Excellently researched - the plot was so intriguing and so interwoven I couldn't put it down''A well written story that keeps you turning the pages'

Headline

A Christmas Odyssey (Christmas Novella 8)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A festive story of hope and redemption emerging from the depths of Victorian society.1864, and on a bitter December night in Victorian London, one man longs for a Christmas miracle. The city is preparing for the holidays yet James Wentworth is unable to focus on anything other than the disappearance of his wayward son, Lucien. In desperation, he turns to his old friend Sir Henry Rathbone for help.Rathbone finds assistance in the shape of reformed criminal Squeaky Robinson and the enigmatic Doctor Crow and as the group's investigations take them deeper into the seedy underbelly of the capital they uncover a squalid world of illicit pleasures and a trail that leads them closer to the man they seek. But as they get nearer to their quarry, tales also begin emerge of Lucien's violent tendencies, his consuming obsession with a dangerous young woman and the disturbing Shadow Man. Can they bring Lucien home alive and if so, will it be a grave mistake for all concerned?

Headline Review

Girl in Hyacinth Blue

Susan Vreeland
Authors:
Susan Vreeland
Headline

Drowning Ruth (Oprah's Book Club)

Christina Schwarz
Authors:
Christina Schwarz

No. 1 New York Times bestseller: 'Powerful... Suspenseful... chilling' New York Times Christina Schwarz's bestselling novel DROWNING RUTH is a powerful and shocking psychological drama, not to be missed by readers of Hannah Kent or Sarah Perry. At the close of World War One, Amanda Starkey leaves the city and travels to her family's farm to recover from a broken heart. Instead, she is caught up in a tragedy that will take her sister's life and leave Amanda to raise her niece Ruth. What happened that terrible night when Mattie died? Why does Ruth say she can remember drowning? When the truth is revealed, it is shocking, dramatic, and unforgettable. '[A] gripping psychological thriller' Francine Prose, US Weekly'A mesmerizing first novel about horrifying family secrets' Anita Shreve'Riveting... A very suspenseful tale, one that will keep readers up shivering in [the] night' USA Today