Anne Baker - A Lucky Sixpence - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472251572
    • Publication date:18 Oct 2018
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472251589
    • Publication date:18 Apr 2019

A Lucky Sixpence

By Anne Baker

  • Hardback
  • £20.99

With the war looming, will their luck run out? A LUCKY SIXPENCE is a dramatic and heart-warming Liverpool saga by Anne Baker, not to be missed by fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

A poignant and dramatic saga set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.

Praise for Anne Baker's Merseyside sagas: 'A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition' Liverpool Echo

It's 1937 and for sisters Lizzie and Milly Travis there's nothing quite like the thrill of the funfair at New Brighton. Amid the bright lights and whirling rides, Lizzie wins a lucky sixpence on a stall - as well as the heart of a handsome stallholder.

Ben McCluskey isn't the type of man Lizzie's respectable parents had in mind for her, nevertheless the young couple embark on a whirlwind romance. Lizzie's mother worries that history will repeat itself when Ben introduces her daughter to a world she never knew existed. And, as war looms, Milly realises that her sister's luck can't last for ever...

Biographical Notes

Anne Baker trained as a nurse at Birkenhead General Hospital, but after her marriage went to live first in Libya and then in Nigeria. She eventually returned to her native Birkenhead where she worked as a Health Visitor for over ten years before taking up writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472251565
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline
Praise for Anne Baker's previous novels: 'Baker's understanding and compassion for very human dilemmas makes her one of romantic fiction's most popular authors' — Lancashire Evening Post
A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition — Liverpool Echo
Truly compelling...rich in language and descriptive prose — Newcastle Upon Tyne Evening Chronicle
A heartwarming saga — Woman's Weekly
With characters who are strong, warm and sincere, this is a joy to read — Coventry Evening Telegraph
Praise for Anne Baker's previous novels: 'Baker's understanding and compassion for very human dilemmas makes her one of romantic fiction's most popular authors'
A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition
Truly compelling...rich in language and descriptive prose
A heartwarming saga
With characters who are strong, warm and sincere, this is a joy to read