Anne Baker - A Lucky Sixpence - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472251565
    • Publication date:18 Oct 2018

A Lucky Sixpence

By Anne Baker

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

With the war looming, will their luck run out? A LUCKY SIXPENCE is a dramatic and heart-warming Liverpool saga by Anne Baker, not to be missed by fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

A LUCKY SIXPENCE by Anne Baker is a poignant and dramatic saga set in Liverpool, sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews.

Praise for Anne Baker's Merseyside sagas: 'A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition' Liverpool Echo

Biographical Notes

Anne Baker trained as a nurse at Birkenhead General Hospital, but after her marriage went to live first in Libya and then in Nigeria. She eventually returned to her native Birkenhead where she worked as a Health Visitor for over ten years before taking up writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472251572
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Praise for Anne Baker's previous novels: 'Baker's understanding and compassion for very human dilemmas makes her one of romantic fiction's most popular authors' — Lancashire Evening Post
A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition — Liverpool Echo
Truly compelling...rich in language and descriptive prose — Newcastle Upon Tyne Evening Chronicle
A heartwarming saga — Woman's Weekly
With characters who are strong, warm and sincere, this is a joy to read — Coventry Evening Telegraph
Headline

Belle of the Back Streets

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young
Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline Review

Hidden Lives

Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox

HIDDEN LIVES is the latest mesmerising tale of drama and intrigue from Judith Lennox, sure to appeal to readers of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. Praise for Judith Lennox: 'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel' Daily MailA surprise inheritance reveals the hidden lives of two sisters, torn apart by tragedy...Following her grandmother's death, Rose Martineau inherits The Egg, an extraordinary house nestling in the Sussex countryside. She discovers that the mysterious house originally belonged to her grandmother's younger sister, Sadie, who Rose never knew existed. In her search to uncover why the sisters grew apart, Rose is drawn back into the glamorous and decadent world of the 1930s. Meanwhile, Rose's own life as a dutiful wife and mother is turned upside down by a sordid scandal that threatens to destroy her marriage. It is only once she has unravelled the secrets of Sadie's past that she is able to look to her own future...An epic tale of secrets, scandal, jealousy and passion spanning the twentieth century.

Headline

The Widow's Promise: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 4

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Tinder Press

Letters From The Suitcase

Cal Finnigan, Rosheen Finnigan
Authors:
Cal Finnigan, Rosheen Finnigan
Headline

The Gilded Cage

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Tomorrow the World

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STREET, Helen Carey's fifth Lavender Road novel, is an irresistible, romantic and heart-warming saga of south London's women during the Second World War. Not to be missed by readers of Kate Thompson, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry.It's 1944. London's citizens are weary of air raids and rationing. But there are rumours of an invasion of France. Is the tide of war turning?Young widow Louise Rutherford longs to find a new husband and when a handsome American officer arrives to recruit volunteers for a secret project, she senses an opportunity. Her efforts are hampered, though, by her determination to help a ten-year-old war orphan, George Nelson.On both sides of the street there are challenges to face. Jen Carter's relationship with Henry Keller is threatened when an old flame reappears in her life. Her mother Joyce's decision to take romance slowly threatens to become a dangerous mistake when the V1 rockets start hitting London.In this atmospheric novel, Helen Carey brings to vivid life the spirit of the war years with all their heartache, joy and drama.

Headline

A View Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

A Rose Among Thorns

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

Will she ever find the happiness she deserves? In A Rose Among Thorns, Rosie Goodwin weaves a captivating historical saga of a troubled family and the power of love and friendship. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Cathy Sharp.Despite losing her mother at a young age, Sassy has grown up surrounded by love: although poor, she is happy. So Sassy is devastated when her father marries wealthy widow Elizabeth Bonner. Social climber Elizabeth despairs of a step-daughter who is more at ease with servants than those above stairs, and is jealous of Sassy's growing beauty which threatens to outshine her own daughter.Unwelcome and out of place in this unfamiliar world, Sassy often escapes to her old home on Tuttle Hill and the company of her childhood friends, brothers Thomas and Jack Mallabone. But the trio's bond is threatened by the consequences of her blind adoration for wayward Thomas, much to the dismay of Jack, who has long worshipped Sassy in secret...What readers are saying about A Rose Among Thorns:'With skillful application of the craft at which she excels, Rosie has produced yet another certain winner. An absorbing tale depicting with great accuracy the nostalgia of bygone times, it evokes warmth, laughter and tears linked by a storyline that defies you to put it down... A wonderful story from a supremely gifted writer''A natural born storyteller... the trouble I have is the stories are never long enough. This novel had me captivated from start to finish'

Headline

Liverpool Gems

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline Review

The Letter

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes
Headline

Wartime Girls

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

Let It Shine

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Looking Back

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

From the moment she learns of the stranger's visit, Molly Tattersall is filled with a sense of fear.Then her mother disappears, leaving behind a letter asking Molly to take care of her five brothers and sisters. Molly's wayward father rejects his responsibilities, leaving Molly to choose between the young man she has given her heart to, and the family she adores. It is the cruellest decision of her life, with long-reaching and heartbreaking consequences. Only one thing is certain: Molly's life will never be the same again.

Headline

Rainbow Days

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

More than Riches

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

When Rosie's parents were involved in a train accident, her mother was killed and her father left crippled, unable to earn a living and relying on Rosie to keep the wolf from the door.With her mother gone and her sweetheart Adam away in the army, Rosie is lonely. She eagerly awaits the letters from him, but they never come. As she grows more disillusioned, Adam's best friend Doug goes out of his way to be charming and attentive. Alone and confused, Rosie blossoms under his evil influence. Soon she is carrying Doug's baby and her father has thrown her out of the house. Realising she has no choice, she agrees to marry Doug.As if she isn't in enough trouble, Rosie's whole world falls apart when a warm and wonderful letter arrives from Adam . . . telling her he's on his way home.

Headline

Angels Cry Sometimes

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

The marriage of Marcia and Curt Ratheter seemed idyllically happy. As much in love as on their wedding day, nothing could mar their joy. But one fateful day in 1931 brought Marcia's world tumbling about her ears and left her and her two daughters bereft.Barty Bendall had always loved her, he said; and the girls needed a father. Marcia moved to Blackburn with him, where she tried to forget the past. Barty, though, sank into bad ways, tyrannizing the family. In particular he would vent his aggression on Polly, Curt and Marcia's first-born, blonde as an angel but afflicted since birth with an ominous shadow over her health.Even in troubled times, lovely raven-haired Marcia was a fighter. But the news that Curt Ratheter had reappeared would render her the helpless prey of wildly conflicting emotions.