Lyn Andrews - Across a Summer Sea - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755379217
    • Publication date:27 May 2010
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755398744
    • Publication date:05 Nov 2012

Across a Summer Sea

A warm-hearted, dramatic and nostalgic saga

By Lyn Andrews

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Across a Summer Sea is a touching saga from Lyn Andrews that details the lengths a young mother will go to in order to protect her family.

For the sake of her children, a young mother endures a violent marriage - but there is hope of better things to come...

Lyn Andrews writes a moving saga in Across a Summer Sea, a tale of a mother's devotion and taking chances. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.

Mary McGann's marriage has always been difficult, thanks to her husband Frank's drunken, jealous nature. Only because the little money he earns in the docks keeps food in the mouths of their children is Mary prepared to put up with him.

When Frank throws them all out on the street, Mary flees to her family in Dublin. There she meets Richard O'Neill, a handsome and gentle man. Despite the attraction between them, Mary's not looking for love, and when she hears that Frank needs her, she returns to Liverpool, foreseeing a future of yet more hardship.

But there are surprises in store. Though tragedy and danger are looming, a brighter horizon lies beyond - if Mary's prepared to be strong and take the chances that come her way . . .

What readers are saying about Across a Summer Sea:

'[Lyn Andrews] is most definitely my favourite author - I have never read anything which has been less than brilliant'

'What a truly enlightening story from heartbreak to untold hardships to finally find true love - beautiful'

'Five stars'

Biographical Notes

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472253507
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller' — Woman's Weekly
A vivid portrayal of life — Best
A compelling read — Woman's Own
Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning — Daily Express
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool — Northern Echo