Lyn Andrews - Love and a Promise - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755379262
    • Publication date:27 May 2010
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755398812
    • Publication date:05 Nov 2012

Love and a Promise

A heartrending saga of family, duty and a terrible choice

By Lyn Andrews

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

In Love and a Promise, Lyn Andrews writes a heart-breaking saga of a young woman having to make a terrible choice between love and duty.

A promise to the woman who saved her life holds Maddy back from following her heart...

Lyn Andrews writes an unforgettable family saga in Love and a Promise, set in both Dublin and Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Katie Flynn.

'A page-turning and beautifully written novel. The loves and tragedies of the Kiernan siblings will keep you hooked until the very end' - Irish World

Maddy Kiernan knows her situation is desperate. With her parents dead, her brother Thomas is left as guardian to Maddy and her sister Carmel. But Thomas has plans that don't include his sisters and his reckless ambition could put all their futures at risk. Sharp-witted and strong-willed, Maddy knows she must assume responsibility for the fragile young Carmel.

When Thomas deserts Ireland for Liverpool, Maddy realises she has little option but to follow. Within days the girls are destitute, their precious savings gone. Even when Maddy finds a position with an elderly widow, Thomas's aspirations threaten their security. And then Maddy is faced with a terrible choice - between love and a promise...

What readers are saying about Love and a Promise:

'[This book] was excellent from cover to cover. I found myself staying up late at night just to finish it - you just cannot put it down! It has real life drama, romance and a wonderful ending'

'Once I start a Lyn Andrews book, I cannot stop reading it. I feel as if I have been transported back in time'

'Love and a Promise is a great and gripping story, I just had to continue until I'd finished the book. It is a great story of rags to riches and the heartbreak in between - just a lovely story'

Biographical Notes

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472253514
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline
Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller' — Woman's Weekly
A vivid portrayal of life — Best
A compelling read — Woman's Own
Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning — Daily Express