Sarah Winman - The Sarah Winman Collection: WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Sarah Winman Collection: WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS

By Sarah Winman

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Available together for the first time, Sarah Winman's first two stunning novels, WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS.

Available together for the first time, Sarah Winman's first two stunning novels, WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS. Discover one of the UK's most eloquent and moving writers through her Sunday Times bestselling, critically acclaimed literary sensations.

'Winman's narrative voice is beautifully true' The Times

If you've never read the phenomenon that is WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT, now is your chance. It's a book about a brother and sister. It's a book about childhood and growing up, friendships and families, triumph and tragedy and everything in between. More than anything, it's a book about love in all its forms.

Then experience the sheer joy of A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS, a book that Rosamund Lupton described as 'a glorious poem of a novel'. This is a story about Marvellous Ways, an eighty-nine-year-old woman who sits by a creek in Cornwall, waiting for a last adventure. It's about Francis Drake, a young soldier who washes up there, reeling from war and broken-hearted. It's about the magic in everyday life and the lure of the sea, and how we carry on when grief comes snapping at our heels.

Two stories. Two journeys. Two reading experiences you'll never forget.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Winman grew up in Essex and now lives in London. She attended the Webber Douglas Academy of Dramatic Art and went on to act in theatre, film and television. She has written three novels, WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT, A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS and TIN MAN.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472253897
  • Publication date: 31 Aug 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Reviews for Sarah's bestselling novels: 'Gloriously offbeat... Winman's narrative voice is beautifully true. A superb debut' — The Times
Beguiling... you can't quite get the voice out of your head — Daily Mail
Captivating... rendered with an appealing frankness, precision and emotional acuity — Observer
Thronging with incident, wonder and outré language... sharply funny, whimsical and innovative — Guardian
Beautiful prose that ebbs and flows — Independent
Winman excels in her sweeping prose and her unwavering theme of love in all its forms — Stylist
A truly enchanting book — Irish Times
Beautifully written — Sun on Sunday, Fabulous Magazine
Tinder Press

The Cat Sanctuary

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Little Bits of Baby

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Gentleman's Relish

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

A lonely prison governor's wife develops a sudden passion for an unexpected hobby; a cookery connoisseur suspects his homophobic father and brothers are attempting to manipulate him and looks for revenge; a grandmother offers hair-raising family tales to her abandoned grandchildren; a spirit in an old casket gruesomely transforms a honeymooning couple. In his second collection of short stories, Patrick Gale creates worlds where the making and breaking of relationships -between mothers and fathers, husbands and wives, lovers and strangers -offer unforgettably dark and moving twists to these utterly unpredictable lives.

Tinder Press

Rough Music

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Perfectly Good Man

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

The Whole Day Through

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Sweet Obscurity

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Friendly Fire

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

'An intense tale of love, life, intellectualism and passion. Inspirational' Daily ExpressSophie, an orphan in love with learning, is sure she will thrive in Tatham's, an esteemed boarding school, having survived years of institutional living. But she soon finds herself lost among its cliques and rituals. Befriending two teenage boys, she experiences the first ache of futile love, then a brilliant teacher's inappropriate attention to one of the trio threatens to destroy them all. Sophie swiftly realizes that there are tougher lessons to absorb outside the schoolroom - of class, sex, families and the emotional disaster they can bring to even the most privileged lives.

Tinder Press

Tree Surgery for Beginners

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

The Facts of Life

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

'Absorbing . . . deftly characterised, deeply involving and relevant' The TimesGerman composer Edward Pepper escapes to England just before the war begins in earnest. Struck with TB, he is recuperating in hospital when he meets Sally, a young doctor who has battled her way through medical school, despite the opposition of her parents. They fall in love and marry, settling in the fenlands of East Anglia. Years later, Edward watches as his grandchildren trip up against life and death, and realises that patterns can repeat themselves, bringing both pain and unexpected discovery.

Tinder Press

Facing the Tank

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Kansas in August

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

'Modern, excellent and sympathetic' Stephen FryMusical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilary's professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness. In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

Tinder Press

Ease

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

The Aerodynamics of Pork

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 COSTA NOVEL AWARDThe beautiful and heartbreaking new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT.'Her best novel to date' Observer'An exquisitely crafted tale of love and loss' Guardian'A marvel' Sunday Express'Astoundingly beautiful' Matt HaigIt begins with a painting won in a raffle: fifteen sunflowers, hung on the wall by a woman who believes that men and boys are capable of beautiful things. And then there are two boys, Ellis and Michael,who are inseparable. And the boys become men,and then Annie walks into their lives,and it changes nothing and everything.Tin Man sees Sarah Winman follow the acclaimed success of When God Was A Rabbit and A Year Of Marvellous Ways with a love letter to human kindness and friendship, loss and living.

Tinder Press

A Year of Marvellous Ways

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman

*A Richard & Judy Bookclub Pick Spring 2016*A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS is the unforgettable and completely captivating new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.Marvellous Ways is eighty-nine years old and has lived alone in a remote Cornish creek for nearly all her life. Lately she's taken to spending her days sitting on a mooring stone by the river with a telescope. She's waiting for something - she's not sure what, but she'll know it when she sees it. Drake is a young soldier left reeling by the Second World War. When his promise to fulfil a dying man's last wish sees him wash up in Marvellous' creek, broken in body and spirit, the old woman comes to his aid. A Year of Marvellous Ways is a glorious, life-affirming story about the magic in everyday life and the pull of the sea, the healing powers of storytelling and sloe gin, love and death and how we carry on when grief comes snapping at our heels.

Headline

Treachery at Lancaster Gate (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 31)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Cardington Crescent (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 8)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Silence in Hanover Close (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 9)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A secret so shocking it will lead to murder including, quite possibly, Pitt's own... In Anne Perry's ninth crime novel featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, an unsolved murder will take the acclaimed Victorian policeman into the gravest danger. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.'Descriptions of London's Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating' - St. Petersburg Times When Thomas Pitt is required to reopen a murder case in Hanover Close, he doesn't know how perilous it will become. Three years earlier Robert York, who worked for the Foreign Office, was murdered. Pitt believes a mysterious woman may hold the key to his death, and his suspicion deepens when one of the York household's maids dies suddenly - soon after talking to him. Then Pitt himself is arrested for the murder of the woman he'd been seeking. Only Charlotte and her sister Emily can stand between Pitt and the gallows. Charlotte and Emily find a way to delve deep into the confidences of the York family and their household, but with Pitt in prison and a murderer among the inhabitants of Hanover Close, they are playing a deadly game... What readers are saying about Silence in Hanover Close: 'Excellent read... you will struggle to put it down''Another excellent book in the Thomas Pitt series; easy to read and well researched into the social life of Victorian era''Five stars'

Headline

Bethlehem Road (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 10)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Westminster is struck by a deadly killer... In Anne Perry's tenth Victorian mystery featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, a murderer strikes at Members of Parliament crossing Westminster Bridge. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart. '[Anne] Perry once again demonstrates her true and lively passion... Her finely drawn characters couldn't be more comfortable within the customs and sensibility of their historical period' - New York Times Book Review In the few minutes it takes to cross Westminster Bridge, Sir Lockwood Hamilton has his throat slit and is tied to a lamppost with his evening scarf. The killer vanishes without being seen. Inspector Thomas Pitt thinks the motive might have been personal... or political. When a second Member of Parliament is murdered in the same way, politics seems certain to be the reason. Soon the suspect list includes anarchists and suffragettes. Public outrage mounts and fear grips London and Parliament after a third lamppost murder. Deep in his own investigation, Pitt must rely on his wife, Charlotte, and Great-aunt Vespasia to explore the drawing rooms of the upper class for clues to the mystery. With burning social issues swirling around them, the three of them must solve the case before another MP falls victim to the Westminster cutthroat. What readers are saying about Bethlehem Road: 'These are a great set of books. Pitt is a really likeable hero''I could not put it down. One of her best works''Gripping read'