Patrick Gale - Notes from an Exhibition - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472255372
    • Publication date:05 Jan 2018

Notes from an Exhibition

By Patrick Gale

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A moving, intuitive novel of artistic compulsion, marriage, and the secrets left behind. 'This book is complete perfection' Stephen Fry

A bestselling 'Cornish' novel, NOTES FROM AN EXHIBITION is a moving, intuitive novel of artistic compulsion, marriage, and the secrets left behind. It was a Richard & Judy bestseller.

'Poised and pitch-perfect throughout' Mail on Sunday

Celebrated artist Rachel Kelly dies alone in her Penzance studio, after decades of struggling with the creative highs and devastating lows that have coloured her life. Her family gathers, each of them searching for answers. They reflect on lives shaped by the enigmatic Rachel - as artist, wife and mother - and on the ambiguous legacies she leaves them, of talent, torment and transcendent love.

Biographical Notes

Patrick Gale was born on the Isle of Wight. He spent his infancy at Wandsworth Prison, which his father governed, then grew up in Winchester before going to Oxford University. He now lives on a farm near Land's End. One of this country's best-loved novelists, his most recent works are A Perfectly Good Man, the Richard and Judy bestseller Notes From An Exhibition, and the Costa-shortlisted A Place Called Winter. His original BBC television drama, Man In An Orange Shirt, was shown to great acclaim in 2017 as part of the BBC's Queer Britannia series, leading viewers around the world to discover his novels.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472255389
  • Publication date: 19 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
This book is complete perfection — Stephen Fry
Poised and pitch-perfect throughout — Mail on Sunday
Dense, thought-provoking, sensitive, satisfying, humorous, humane - a real treat — Daily Telegraph
As rich and inventive as we would expect from this brilliant author — Independent
An uplifting, immensely empathetic novel, and Gale's prose, as ever is as clear and bright as the Cornish light — Guardian
Headline Review

Untitled

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans

1919: Sir Edward Horner, the most celebrated artist of his day, destroys his world-famous painting, The Little Birds, shortly before his death. But why?The new novel by Sunday Times bestseller Harriet Evans is the unputdownable tale of a family torn apart and the house they lived in. Harriet writes the most delicious, epic stories from the heart since Maeve Binchy and Kate Morton.Millions around the world once queued up to see the painting that captured a perfect moment: Horner's two children, John and Eliza, playing in the garden of their magical, mysterious Nightingale House, the family home he and his wife created deep in the heart of the English countryside.But such moments cannot last for ever.Almost a century later, Horner's great-granddaughter Juliet inherits Nightingale House, now weighed down with unspoken secrets. Why would Ned Horner destroy The Little Birds - the thing he loved best? And can art historian Juliet untangle the web of passion and tragedy in his life and her own to discover the answer? Praise for Harriet Evans's novels:'She reels you in and then you're hooked, right to the last page' Patricia Scanlan'Atmospheric and altogether wonderful' Lesley Pearse'The immense feeling of place, the slow, irresistible sense of being drawn deep into the family and its story, and the strange hovering of menace somewhere in the idyll. Wonderful' Penny Vincenzi'Her characters are finely drawn . . . The result is that rare and lovely thing, an all-engaging and all-consuming drama' Daily Mail'Wonderful, engrossing . . . A triumph' Sophie Kinsella

Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a compassionate, compelling new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality. 'It's delicious, it's dear, it's heart-breaking and very funny' Rachel Joyce'An incredibly beautiful story told with compassion. Nothing is wasted. Each sentence is beautifully crafted' Joanna Cannon1970s Weston-Super-Mare and ten-year-old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life transformed by his mother's quixotic decision to sign him up for cello lessons. Music-making brings release for a boy who is discovering he is an emotional volcano. He laps up lessons from his young teacher, not noticing how her brand of glamour is casting a damaging spell over his frustrated and controlling mother.When he is enrolled in holiday courses in the Scottish borders, lessons in love, rejection and humility are added to daily practice.Drawing in part on his own boyhood, Patrick Gale's new novel explores a collision between childish hero worship and extremely messy adult love lives.

Headline Review

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

Gill Thompson
Authors:
Gill Thompson
Tinder Press

Last Ones Left Alive

Sarah Davis-Goff
Authors:
Sarah Davis-Goff

Tinder Press

Goulash

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling

Headline Review

The List That Changed My Life

Olivia Beirne
Authors:
Olivia Beirne

Sometimes all you need is a little push...Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Katie Marsh and Marian Keyes, Olivia Beirne's The List That Changed My Life takes its readers on an hilarious and heart-warming journey of a lifetime, showing us what it means to really be alive.Georgia loves wine, reality TV and sitting on the sofa after work. She does not love heights, looking at her bank account, going on dates, or activities that involve a sports bra. And she will never, ever take a risk.That is, until her braver, bolder, big sister finds out that she won't be able to tick off the things she wanted to do before turning thirty, and turns to Georgia to help her finish her list.With the birthday just months away, Georgia suddenly has a deadline to learn to grab life with both hands. Could she be brave enough to take the leap, for her sister? And how might her own life change if she did?

Tinder Press

Three Decades of Stories

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

THREE DECADES OF STORIES is a unique collection of Patrick Gale's two volumes of dark, moving, often witty and eccentric stories, GENTLEMAN'S RELISH and DANGEROUS PLEASURES. It also includes the acclaimed long story, CAESAR'S WIFE. Ranging from a lonely prisoner governor's wife, to a housewife desperate for a makeover; a father's trip to his former school to a long-term mistress offered an unexpected marriage, this is a volume that highlights Patrick Gale's skill of digging beneath the surface of relationships and exposing the often brutal mechanisms that drive them.

Tinder Press

The Cat Sanctuary

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Little Bits of Baby

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's LITTLE BITS OF BABY is a charming, witty novel of love, possibility and life in crisis - 'Richly comic, affectionate and perceptive' Mail on SundayEight years ago, Robin fled from his family, friends, and entire life, to suffer a complete breakdown in an island monastery. Now he's reconnecting with those he left behind: his mother and father, with their own small secrets, and Jake and Candida, both of whom were impossibly close to Robin when he disappeared. But while the people he abandoned have missed him, Robin finds that everything has changed. He alone can decide what he will do in this new world of resentment, possibility and triumphant love.

Headline Home

Written in the Stars

Debbie Frank
Authors:
Debbie Frank
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent, C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series and The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse. 'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER1316. On the wilds of Dartmoor stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, home to the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People journey from afar in search of healing at the holy well that lies beneath its chapel.But the locals believe Dartmoor was theirs long before Christianity came to the land. And not all who visit seek miracles. When three strangers reach the moor, fear begins to stir as the well's waters run with blood.What witchcraft have the young woman, the Knight of St John and the blind child brought with them?The Sisters will need to fight for everything they hold dear as the ghosts of the Old World gather in their midst.

Wildfire

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Rhys Thomas
Authors:
Rhys Thomas
Headline

Serpentine

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton
Tinder Press

Friendly Fire

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

The Facts of Life

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Wildfire

Lying To You

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds

'THIS DIZZYING NOVEL KEEPS YOU ON YOUR TOES' - THE SUNYou think you know the truth about that night, but what if your husband is LYING TO YOU?When Jess Tidy was Mark Winter's student, she made a shocking accusation. Mark maintained his innocence, but the damage was done.Karen Winter stood by her husband through everything, determined to protect her family.Now, ten years later, Jess is back. And the truth about that night is finally going to come out . . .A gripping drama with dark twists and turns, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and the BBC series Doctor Foster.MORE PRAISE FOR LYING TO YOU:'Gripping and twisty' Laura Marshall, Friend Request'Compulsively readable and beautifully told' Kate Hamer, The Girl in the Red Coat'Psychological and domestic drama at its very best' Woman's Weekly

Headline Review

The Hideaway

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

THE NO. 1 BESTSELLER'The perfect book to take on your summer hols' Heat **** The breathtaking new novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of THE MISSING WIFE and WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes. What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan's world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves - and with no way of getting the answers she needs. Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and orange groves - along with Pep, the local winemaker's handsome son - begin to soothe her broken heart. But just when she begins to feel whole again, another bombshell drops. Juno might have run away from her secrets, but the past isn't finished with her...'The sultry Spanish location is wonderfully escapist ... a captivating, sun-soaked read' Daily Express'If you're seeking an escape of your own, this sunny, evocative story is the perfect place to hide away' S Magazine'A feel-good story told by a funny and down-to-earth heroine' Woman'A hugely enjoyable romance, written with pace and heart. It will make you long to jump on a plane yourself' Sunday Mirror'A beautiful backdrop to the story of a woman finding acceptance and new beginnings' Woman & Home'Perfect for those lazy, hazy days' Sun'Pure escapism' Candis'You'll race through this warm, heart-felt read' Best'Page-turner' Bella

Headline

Conqueror (Leopards of Normandy 3)

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill
Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements