Patrick Gale - Ease - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Ease

By Patrick Gale

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'A huge treat' Daily Mail

'Patrick Gale is among the great, unsung English novelists. Think Austen, Hardy, Murdoch. Remarkable' Independent

Domina Tey is a playwright, celebrated by friends, her husband, and the public alike, yet she fears losing her vital edge. Her solution: to leave her beautiful home in Bristol and seek adventure in a squalid West London bedsit, where she will live under an assumed name with only her typewriter for companionship. Once installed, however, she can't resist meddling in the business of others, forgetting that blurring fact with fiction can be a dangerous game.

Biographical Notes

Patrick Gale was born on the Isle of Wight. He spent his infancy at Wandsworth Prison, which his father governed, then grew up in Winchester before going to Oxford University. He now lives on a farm near Land's End. One of this country's best-loved novelists, his most recent works are A Perfectly Good Man, the Richard and Judy bestseller Notes from An Exhibition, and the bestselling A Place Called Winter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472255570
  • Publication date: 05 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Patrick Gale is among the great, unsung English novelists. Think Austen, Hardy, Murdoch. Remarkable — Independent
Gale is a master at getting under the skins of his characters and revealing the undercurrents that drive apparently ordinary lives — Mail on Sunday
Captivating. A novel that pleads to be read at a single sitting — Publishers Weekly
A quick-thinking book by an author who has something to say — Guardian
A huge treat — Daily Mail
Tinder Press

The Cat Sanctuary

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

'Engrossing . . . Gale is a charmingly idiosyncratic writer who could not write a cliché if he tried' Daily TelegraphJudith shares her life with her partner Joanna on the lonely wilds of Bodmin Moor, far from the memories and trauma of her childhood. But when Judith's sister, Deborah, is tragically widowed, the women agree to meet. And what is intended to be a harmonious reunion turns into an entanglement of resentment, jealousy and desire, as aspects of the past force themselves into an uneasy present, with some surprising results.

Tinder Press

Little Bits of Baby

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent or C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series.'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMERThe year is 1316 and high on the wilds of Dartmoor, hidden by the mist, stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, owned by the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People travel from far and wide in search of healing at the ancient holy well that lies beneath the chapel. But the locals believe the well was theirs long before Christianity arrived and there are those who would do anything to reclaim their sacred spring... As plagues of frogs cascade from the well and the water turns to blood, is there witchcraft afoot? Or is the Old World fighting back at last?

Wildfire

Today

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap

What if the last day you will always remember is today? Emma and Jonathan meet for the first time today, the morning of their twenty-third birthdays. She's gawky and wears hideous orange-and-green socks. He's cute, whimsical and recites obscure poetry. They fall in love. There's a small problem. What happens today, both good and bad, will stay with them for the rest of their lives. From tomorrow onwards, all new memories will be regularly erased by sleep. Today's the last day they will always remember. It gets worse. Emma's housemate Liz has gone missing and her boyfriend, aspiring detective Hans Richardson, has just one day to solve her case... but he doesn't know it.TODAY is a story of seized - and missed - opportunities. It's a tale of love, hope and regret. Can Hans find Liz? Can Emma and Jonathan seize the day, make the right memories to last them a lifetime? Can they work out what love is all about... before it's too late?Felicia Yap brings you the hotly anticipated prequel to YESTERDAY, the high-concept thriller sensation of 2017.'Yap is a phenomenon' - Guardian'A thrilling new voice' - Red'The one that everyone is talking about... Enthralling' - Woman & Home'A blockbuster-worthy twist... YESTERDAY stands out from the crowd' - Stylist'The intrigue of GONE GIRL and the drama of BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP - iNews

Wildfire

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Rhys Thomas
Authors:
Rhys Thomas
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline Review

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Tinder Press

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne
Authors:
Guy Gunaratne
Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book. Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' BestTony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core. They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy. But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in. My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later. This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

Headline

The Leopards of Normandy: Conqueror

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill
Headline

The Silenced

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones

Stephen Lloyd Jones - acclaimed author of THE STRING DIARIES and THE DISCIPLE - returns with a brand-new supernatural thriller. THE SILENCED will thrill and delight fans of Stephen King, Sarah Lotz and Lauren Beukes.'Original, richly imagined and powerfully told' Guardian on The String Diaries'So gripping you'll want to read late into the night; so terrifying you shouldn't' Simon Mayo on The String Diaries Mallory Grace just killed a man. To survive the next hour, she'll have to kill again. To survive the night, she'll need a miracle. Obadiah Macintosh doesn't seem like a miracle. He is a recluse who works alone at an animal sanctuary, and he has a secret. When the dogs in his care alert him to intruders hidden by the darkness, he knows they are coming for him.Mallory and Obadiah were strangers, brought together for one purpose. To give new light to a terrifying world.But now they are on the run, and evil intends to find them.THE SILENCED is fast-paced, dark and electrifying - the war between good and evil is brewing . . .

Tinder Press

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

Hannah Tinti
Authors:
Hannah Tinti
Headline Review

Letters to My Daughters

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline Review

This Could Change Everything: Beat the January blues with the feel-good new romance from the bestselling author

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

If only Essie hadn't written that letter - the one that went viral...THIS COULD CHANGE EVERYTHING is the feel-good new novel from Jill Mansell, the bestselling author of MEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY. Not to be missed by fans of Katie Fforde and Lucy Diamond. On the one hand, if Essie hadn't written that letter - the one that only her best friend was meant to see - then she'd still be living like an actual proper grown-up, tucked up with Paul in his picture-perfect cottage, maybe even planning their wedding...On the other hand (if her true feelings hadn't accidentally taken the internet by storm, that is) she wouldn't have moved into the attic flat on the square. She would never have met Conor. Or got to know Lucas...And she wouldn't have found herself falling in love with someone she really, really shouldn't fall in love with... 'One of my favourite writers' Katie Fforde'Reading Jill is always such a joy!' Veronica Henry

Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth

'Sensational' Clare Mackintosh, No 1 bestselling author of I Let You Go.'The definition of a page-turner' Sun'Truly scary' Marian KeyesMOTHER. WIFE. POLITICIAN. LIAR.THEN: How far did she go to conceal the truth?Politician Linda Moscow sacrificed everything to protect her son: her beliefs, her career, her marriage. All she wanted was to keep him safe.NOW: What will she risk to expose the lies?When the voices she silenced come back to haunt her, Linda is faced with another impossible choice. Only this time, it's her life on the line . . .An Act of Silence is about the abuse of power, the devastating effects of keeping the truth buried, and the lengths a mother will go to save her child.'Fiendishly impressive structure; taut, evocative prose; gripping plot' Sarah Vaughan, author of Anatomy of a Scandal'Brilliant, taut psychological thriller. Sensitive, muscular and it could be true. Unputdownable' Julia Crouch, author of Her Husband's Lover'Colette McBeth is beloved of writers like Paula Hawkins, and with this twisty, clever novel, she's guaranteed to win more fans' Red

Tinder Press

Notes from an Exhibition

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

'A fabulous tale with refreshingly inspiring heroines' ***** HeatSheila O'Flanagan is the bestselling author of THE MISSING WIFE, and her new bestseller WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT will enchant readers who love the novels of Marian Keyes and Lisa Jewell. ThenWhen Lola Fitzpatrick catches the eye of Philip Warren, she's new to Dublin and loving it. He's used to getting what he wants...and she can't resist him. Until one night he forces her to make an impossible choice.If she'd known then what she knows now, everything might have been different.NowLola's daughter Bey has inherited her mother's impulsive streak and it takes her down dangerous paths.Then one night she too finds herself in front of a man she loves, with impossible choices of her own to make.For both women, what happened that night changes everything. For better. For worse. For ever.

Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is: The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel