Patrick Gale - Little Bits of Baby - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472255631
    • Publication date:13 Dec 2018

Little Bits of Baby

By Patrick Gale

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A charming, witty novel of love, possibility and life in crisis - 'Richly comic, affectionate and perceptive' Mail on Sunday

Patrick Gale's LITTLE BITS OF BABY is a charming, witty novel of love, possibility and life in crisis - 'Richly comic, affectionate and perceptive' Mail on Sunday

Eight years ago, Robin fled from his family, friends, and entire life, to suffer a complete breakdown in an island monastery. Now he's reconnecting with those he left behind: his mother and father, with their own small secrets, and Jake and Candida, both of whom were impossibly close to Robin when he disappeared. But while the people he abandoned have missed him, Robin finds that everything has changed. He alone can decide what he will do in this new world of resentment, possibility and triumphant love.

Biographical Notes

Patrick Gale was born on the Isle of Wight. He spent his infancy at Wandsworth Prison, which his father governed, then grew up in Winchester before going to Oxford University. He now lives on a farm near Land's End. One of this country's best-loved novelists, his most recent works are A Perfectly Good Man, the Richard and Judy bestseller Notes From An Exhibition, and the Costa-shortlisted A Place Called Winter. His original BBC television drama, Man In An Orange Shirt, was shown to great acclaim in 2017 as part of the BBC's Queer Britannia series, leading viewers around the world to discover his novels.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472255648
  • Publication date: 13 Dec 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Richly comic, affectionate and perceptive — Mail on Sunday
[Gale] shows the diversity of passionate behavior, sometimes hilarious, sometimes threatening, but always skillfully contained within a comedy of contemporary manners — The Times
Comic, touching, astringent and immensely accomplished. A real treat — Gay Times
Tinder Press

Three Decades of Stories

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

The Cat Sanctuary

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

An entertaining, warm and quirky novel of families, secrets and the truth of love - 'A powerful and moving novel' Independent on Sunday'Engrossing . . . Gale is a charmingly idiosyncratic writer who could not write a cliché if he tried' Daily TelegraphJudith shares her life with her partner Joanna on the lonely wilds of Bodmin Moor, far from the memories and trauma of her childhood. But when Judith's sister, Deborah, is tragically widowed, the women agree to meet. And what is intended to be a harmonious reunion turns into an entanglement of resentment, jealousy and desire, as aspects of the past force themselves into an uneasy present, with some surprising results.

Tinder Press

Facing the Tank

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Ease

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

The Aerodynamics of Pork

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Kansas in August

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's KANSAS IN AUGUST is a witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment for readers of Armistead Maupin and Edmund White 'Modern, excellent and sympathetic' Stephen FryMusical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilary's professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness. In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Sweet Obscurity

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Bittersweet and startling, A SWEET OBSCURITY is a novel of childhood, love and the consequences of how lives are lived. 'Intriguing and impressive. A memorable study of a child forced cruelly, even tragically, to grow up too soon' Sunday TimesSince her mother's death, nine year old Dido has been living with her eccentric aunt, acting as peacekeeper between Eliza, her estranged husband Giles and his girlfriend. They are each cruelly burdened in different ways. Chance draws them down to Cornwall, where a country idyll offers to lighten their urban cares. Eliza falls in love with local farmer, Pearce, an event that causes the four adults to re-assess their lives, with some painful and unforeseen consequences for adults and child alike.

Tinder Press

Friendly Fire

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Insightful and full of understanding and warmth, Patrick Gale's FRIENDLY FIRE is a richly compelling story of adolescence, sexuality and the lessons we carry forever. 'An intense tale of love, life, intellectualism and passion. Inspirational' Daily Express'Utterly compelling from first to last' Stephen FrySophie, an orphan in love with learning, is sure she will thrive in Tatham's, an esteemed boarding school, having survived years of institutional living. But she soon finds herself lost among its cliques and rituals. Befriending two teenage boys, she experiences the first ache of futile love, then a brilliant teacher's inappropriate attention to one of the trio threatens to destroy them all. Sophie swiftly realizes that there are tougher lessons to absorb outside the schoolroom - of class, sex, families and the emotional disaster they can bring to even the most privileged lives.

Tinder Press

Tree Surgery for Beginners

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER, TREE SURGERY FOR BEGINNERS is a funny, elegant and eclectic novel of love, lies and the secrets we live with 'A very funny, often sad, erudite eclectic novel writ with style. Terrific' Time Out'Excellent' The TimesWhen Lawrence Frost wakes up one morning to discover his wife and child have gone missing, there is gruesome evidence to suggest he may be the main suspect in a murder investigation. Confused, threatened with the loss of everything he loves, Lawrence is sent to the Caribbean on a kill-or-cure cruise. On board and ashore he will discover love, deceit, the truth about his missing family, and the blessings that come with surrendering to destiny.

Tinder Press

The Facts of Life

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's THE FACTS OF LIFE is a mesmerising, epic yet intimate novel of love, music and the life events that stay with us forever - perfect for any reader of Armistead Maupin, or E M Forster'Absorbing . . . deftly characterised, deeply involving and relevant' The TimesGerman composer Edward Pepper escapes to England just before the war begins in earnest. Struck with TB, he is recuperating in hospital when he meets Sally, a young doctor who has battled her way through medical school, despite the opposition of her parents. They fall in love and marry, settling in the fenlands of East Anglia. Years later, Edward watches as his grandchildren trip up against life and death, and realises that patterns can repeat themselves, bringing both pain and unexpected discovery.

Tinder Press

Notes from an Exhibition

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Rough Music

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Perfectly Good Man

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Devastatingly moving and full of psychological insight, A PERFECTLY GOOD MAN is a warm, humane Cornish novel from the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER'A convincing, moving account of man's struggle with faith, marriage and morality' Sunday TimesOn a clear, crisp summer's day in Cornwall, a young man carefully prepares to take his own life, and asks family friend, John Barnaby, to pray with him. Barnaby - priest, husband and father - has always tried to do good, though life hasn't always been rosy. Lenny's request poses problems, not just for Barnaby, but for his wife and family, and the wider community, as the secrets of the past push themselves forcefully into the present for all to see.

Tinder Press

Gentleman's Relish

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Dark, moving and eccentric, GENTLEMAN'S RELISH is Patrick Gale's second collection of subversive and exhilarating short stories'The short story form suits Gale's ability to zoom in on the smallest nuances of a relationship'Kate Saunders, The TimesA lonely prison governor's wife develops a sudden passion for an unexpected hobby; a cookery connoisseur suspects his homophobic father and brothers are attempting to manipulate him and looks for revenge; a grandmother offers hair-raising family tales to her abandoned grandchildren; a sex demon in an old casket gruesomely transforms a honeymooning couple. In his second collection of short stories, Patrick Gale creates worlds where the making and breaking of relationships -between mothers and fathers, husbands and wives, lovers and strangers -offer unforgettably dark and moving twists to these utterly unpredictable lives.

Tinder Press

Dangerous Pleasures

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Gentle, witty and sometimes disturbing, DANGEROUS PLEASURES is Patrick Gale's first collection of much loved short stories'Nattily subversive, sexually ambiguous, intelligent and disturbing. The prose sizzles with acidic observation' Sunday TimesA funeral party ends in an unexpected manner; parents are faced with difficult decisions about their daughter; a housewife transforms her personality with a simple touch-up; a father's trip to his former school brings back memories of love he thought buried forever. From gothic thrills and twisted comedy to moving family vignettes, Dangerous Pleasures offers a memorable collection of Patrick Gale's brilliant short stories of marriage, sex and mortality.

Tinder Press

The Whole Day Through

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Place Called Winter

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Place Called Winter

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Al Sarrantonio

Al Sarantonio is an expert editor in this field and he has edited collections of horror writing with top auithors of the genre including Stephen King.