Patrick Gale - Three Decades of Stories - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Three Decades of Stories

By Patrick Gale

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Together for the first time, the collected short stories of Patrick Gale including DANGEROUS PLEASURES and GENTLEMAN'S RELISH

THREE DECADES OF STORIES is a unique collection of Patrick Gale's two volumes of dark, moving, often witty and eccentric stories, GENTLEMAN'S RELISH and DANGEROUS PLEASURES. It also includes the acclaimed long story, CAESAR'S WIFE.

Ranging from a lonely prisoner governor's wife, to a housewife desperate for a makeover; a father's trip to his former school to a long-term mistress offered an unexpected marriage, this is a volume that highlights Patrick Gale's skill of digging beneath the surface of relationships and exposing the often brutal mechanisms that drive them.

Biographical Notes

Patrick Gale was born on the Isle of Wight. He spent his infancy at Wandsworth Prison, which his father governed, then grew up in Winchester before going to Oxford University. He now lives on a farm near Land's End. One of this country's best-loved novelists, his most recent works are A Perfectly Good Man, the Richard and Judy bestseller Notes From An Exhibition, and the Costa-shortlisted A Place Called Winter. His original BBC television drama, Man In An Orange Shirt, was shown to great acclaim in 2017 as part of the BBC's Queer Britannia series, leading viewers around the world to discover his novels.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472258083
  • Publication date: 13 Dec 2018
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Headline Review

Untitled

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline Review

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

Gill Thompson
Authors:
Gill Thompson

A riveting story of one woman's quest to find her son, and a little boy's fight for survival. Inspired by real events, this magnificently moving novel shows the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.An injured woman is found wandering in London after an air raid. She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.As a little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return. But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?Under the Perth sun a lonely wife longs for a baby. When the English boy comes to live with her and her husband, she sees in him the son she was never able to have. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the child who has become her life?

Tinder Press

Last Ones Left Alive

Sarah Davis-Goff
Authors:
Sarah Davis-Goff
Tinder Press

Goulash

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling

Headline Review

The List That Changed My Life

Olivia Beirne
Authors:
Olivia Beirne
Tinder Press

The Cat Sanctuary

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

An entertaining, warm and quirky novel of families, secrets and the truth of love - 'A powerful and moving novel' Independent on Sunday'Engrossing . . . Gale is a charmingly idiosyncratic writer who could not write a cliché if he tried' Daily TelegraphJudith shares her life with her partner Joanna on the lonely wilds of Bodmin Moor, far from the memories and trauma of her childhood. But when Judith's sister, Deborah, is tragically widowed, the women agree to meet. And what is intended to be a harmonious reunion turns into an entanglement of resentment, jealousy and desire, as aspects of the past force themselves into an uneasy present, with some surprising results.

Tinder Press

Little Bits of Baby

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's LITTLE BITS OF BABY is a charming, witty novel of love, possibility and life in crisis - 'Richly comic, affectionate and perceptive' Mail on SundayEight years ago, Robin fled from his family, friends, and entire life, to suffer a complete breakdown in an island monastery. Now he's reconnecting with those he left behind: his mother and father, with their own small secrets, and Jake and Candida, both of whom were impossibly close to Robin when he disappeared. But while the people he abandoned have missed him, Robin finds that everything has changed. He alone can decide what he will do in this new world of resentment, possibility and triumphant love.

Headline Review

The Moment We Meet

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

A QUESTION OF TRUST is vintage Penny Vincenzi: rich with characters, life-changing decisions, love, desire and conflict. 'There are few things better in life than ... the latest novel by Penny Vincenzi' Daily Express1950s London. Tom Knelston is charismatic, working class and driven by ambition, ideals and passion. He is a man to watch. His wife Alice shares his vision. It seems they are the perfect match.Then out of the blue, Tom meets beautiful and unhappily married Diana Southcott, a fashion model. An exciting but dangerous affair is inevitable and potentially damaging to their careers. And when a child becomes ill, Tom is forced to make decisions about his principles, his reputation, his marriage, and most of all, his love for his child.

Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent, C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series and The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse. 'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER1316. On the wilds of Dartmoor stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, home to the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People journey from afar in search of healing at the holy well that lies beneath its chapel.But the locals believe Dartmoor was theirs long before Christianity came to the land. And not all who visit seek miracles. When three strangers reach the moor, fear begins to stir as the well's waters run with blood.What witchcraft have the young woman, the Knight of St John and the blind child brought with them?The Sisters will need to fight for everything they hold dear as the ghosts of the Old World gather in their midst.

Wildfire

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Rhys Thomas
Authors:
Rhys Thomas
Headline

Serpentine

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton
Tinder Press

Friendly Fire

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Insightful and full of understanding and warmth, Patrick Gale's FRIENDLY FIRE is a richly compelling story of adolescence, sexuality and the lessons we carry forever. 'An intense tale of love, life, intellectualism and passion. Inspirational' Daily Express'Utterly compelling from first to last' Stephen FrySophie, an orphan in love with learning, is sure she will thrive in Tatham's, an esteemed boarding school, having survived years of institutional living. But she soon finds herself lost among its cliques and rituals. Befriending two teenage boys, she experiences the first ache of futile love, then a brilliant teacher's inappropriate attention to one of the trio threatens to destroy them all. Sophie swiftly realizes that there are tougher lessons to absorb outside the schoolroom - of class, sex, families and the emotional disaster they can bring to even the most privileged lives.

Tinder Press

The Facts of Life

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Wildfire

Lying To You

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin

'Immersive and impressive' The Sunday Times'Benjamin writes with verve and charm' GuardianThe NEW YORK TIMES Top Ten BestsellerIt's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.Such prophecies could be dismissed as trickery and nonsense, yet the Golds bury theirs deep. Over the years that follow they attempt to ignore, embrace, cheat and defy the 'knowledge' given to them that day - but it will shape the course of their lives forever.'Such is her dazzling sureness of touch that you wonder if here is a writer who is truly capable of anything' Daily Mail

Headline Review

The Hideaway

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

Conqueror (Leopards of Normandy 3)

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill

From the co-author of the No.1 bestselling Wilbur Smith novel, War Cry The Leopards of Normandy trilogy concludes as Duke William prepares to take England, and his rivals, by storm. This real-life game of thrones lead to the defining the moment of English history: Hastings, 1066, and is a must-read for fans of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Ken Follett. 'An exciting mix of medieval betrayal, violence and sex' Wilbur Smith It began with a promise. It will end at Hastings.William of Normandy, sworn heir to the English throne, is no longer the boy Duke but a loyal and proven warrior. Few dare challenge him, but England is an irresistible prize.The handsome, ambitious Harold Godwinson and the Viking Hardrada are both determined to stake a claim. William faces his greatest ever battle: deny his own destiny or conquer the land he was born to rule.History will be written in the blood of those who fall.What readers are saying about THE LEOPARDS OF NORMANDY:'One of the best historical novels I have read. Well written, compelling, action-packed, good characters. This is seriously worth reading!''An exciting and well-told story, backed up by first class research, an extreme attention to detailand strong characterisation which also fits with the historical record. I thoroughly enjoyed it from cover to cover'

Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements

**Longlisted for the HWA Gold Crown**An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of The Witchfinder's Sister and The Silent Companions, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'Spine-tingling... the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time' Barbara Erskine 'A wonderful, macabre evocation of a lost way of life' The Times 'Like something from Emily Bronte's nightmares' Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London Maybe you've heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there's something up here, something evil.Mercy Booth isn't afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father's study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching.When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can't see it yet. What readers are saying about The Coffin Path: 'A fantastic eerie ghost story to settle down with on a winters night''Compelling and chilling, the slow build-up of tension had me completely on edge''I couldn't put it down. I felt I was there on the moors, being watched by the unseen'