Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books
  • Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

    By Sarah Hilary
    Authors:
    Sarah Hilary
    Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year, returns with a new DI Marnie Rome novel, QUIETER THAN KILLING. For fans of Val McDermid, Alex Marwood and Claire Mackintosh'Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan' Alex Marwood 'Tremendous' Ian RankinIt's winter, the nights are dark and freezing, and a series of seemingly random assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out onto streets of London. When Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have only been committed by someone who knows her. Then a child goes missing, yet no-one has reported it. Suddenly, events seem connected, and it's personal. Someone out there is playing games. It is time for both Marnie and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing. Keeping quiet can be a means of survival, but the effects can be as terrible as killing.
    • More

    The Queen's Promise

    By Lyn Andrews
    Authors:
    Lyn Andrews
    THE QUEEN'S PROMISE by Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews sheds new light on the compelling story of Anne Boleyn and her first love, Henry Percy. Readers who enjoy the novels of Philippa Gregory, Jean Plaidy and Elizabeth Chadwick should be sure to read THE QUEEN'S PROMISE. Alluring Anne Boleyn knows she is required to use her charm to her advantage - and secure the status of her family at the Tudor court. She easily captivates the noblemen, most notably Henry Percy, future Earl of Northumberland and, hopeful of her father's approval, Anne agrees to a secret betrothal. Controlling Cardinal Wolsey, though, will not countenance an alliance which could threaten his position. Exiled to the north, Henry is forced into a marriage of duty, whilst Anne's fortunes reverse when she bewitches the King himself. Unwilling to be simply his mistress, Anne will settle for nothing but the throne. But great power brings even greater enemies, and Anne's past actions - and long-kept secrets - might prove to be her undoing...
    • More

    The Quickie

    By James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
    Authors:
    James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
    When Lauren Stillwell sees her husband with another woman, her perfect world is destroyed. His betrayal turns her into a woman lusting for revenge.It was supposed to be a way to even the score. But Lauren's one night stand takes a shocking turn, and she witnesses an unbelievable crime. She's left torn between uncovering the truth and her fear that the truth may be unbearable. But either choice could cost her everything - even her life.
    • More

    The Queen of the Night (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 3)

    By Paul Doherty
    Authors:
    Paul Doherty
    Rome: August 314 AD, and as the sun's insidious heat beats down, murderous forces lurk in the underbelly of the city. The normally cosseted world of Rome's rich and powerful is rocked by a series of violent abductions, as children of the elite are kidnapped and held for ransom. Meanwhile, veteran soldiers, men who served Constantine along the Great Wall in northern Britain are being barbarously murdered; the indignities inflicted on their corpses reminiscent of the gruesome practices of the Picts whom they fought so many years ago. The Empress Helena summons her secret agent, Claudia, in a bid to resolve these macabre occurrences. But Claudia has problems of her own. The perfectly preserved corpse of a young Christian woman has been disinterred in her uncle's garden and it falls to her to investigate this mystery too. Now she must track her way through a murky tangle of politics, religion and murderous violence, ever aware that the slightest mistake could cost her life.
    • More

    Qwilleran's Short and Tall Tales

    By Lilian Jackson Braun
    Authors:
    Lilian Jackson Braun
    When Jim Qwilleran retired to Moose County (400 miles north of everywhere), he intended to write a book -- a novel of crime and investigation with a metropolitan setting. He never finished the first page! Instead, he listened to the folktales of local people and recorded a collection of Moose County legends. Qwilleran's informants swore they were true -- even though some had a supernatural twist that left one wondering. . .
    • More

    The Quality of Mercy

    By Faye Kellerman
    Authors:
    Faye Kellerman
    1593: Elizabethan London seethes with political and religious intrigue, while across the sea thousands perish in the flames of the Spanish Inquisition. On the surface Roderigo, the Queen's physician, is a loyal subject of the Crown but secretly he and his family are Jewish conversos, hiding their illegal religion. Rebecca, Roderigo's daughter, is torn between her duty - which includes a loveless marriage to a converso - and her fascination with the heady world of Elizabethan London. Slipping out of her household one night, disguised as a man, Rebecca stumbles into a swordfight with someone equally romantic and heedless: Will Shakespeare, an ambitious young dramatist who, like Rebecca, has secrets to conceal and mysteries to unravel. Together, they embark on an adventure that plunges them into the sinks and stews of Elizabethan England - and into the course of history itself...
    • More
    1