Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

Qwilleran's Short and Tall Tales

By Lilian Jackson Braun
Authors:
Lilian Jackson Braun
When Jim Qwilleran retired to Moose County (400 miles north of everywhere), he intended to write a book -- a novel of crime and investigation with a metropolitan setting. He never finished the first page! Instead, he listened to the folktales of local people and recorded a collection of Moose County legends. Qwilleran's informants swore they were true -- even though some had a supernatural twist that left one wondering. . .
  • More
  • Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

    By Sarah Hilary
    Authors:
    Sarah Hilary
    A gripping, chilling and twisty novel from Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year, returns with a new DI Marnie Rome novel, QUIETER THAN KILLING. For fans of Val McDermid, Alex Marwood and Claire Mackintosh'Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan' Alex Marwood 'Tremendous' Ian RankinIt's winter, the nights are dark and freezing, and a series of assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out onto streets of London. When Marnie's family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have only been committed by someone who knows her. Someone out there is playing games. It is time for both Marnie and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing.
    • More

    The Quickie

    By James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
    Authors:
    James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
    When Lauren Stillwell sees her husband with another woman, her perfect world is destroyed. His betrayal turns her into a woman lusting for revenge.It was supposed to be a way to even the score. But Lauren's one night stand takes a shocking turn, and she witnesses an unbelievable crime. She's left torn between uncovering the truth and her fear that the truth may be unbearable. But either choice could cost her everything - even her life.
    • More

    The Queen's Promise

    By Lyn Andrews, Gordon Griffin
    Authors:
    Lyn Andrews
    Read by:
    Gordon Griffin
    From bestselling author Lyn Andrews comes a compelling historical epic set at the endlessly fascinating Tudor court about the most infamous woman of the age - Anne Boleyn - and the man who loved her before she became queen.From the moment Henry Percy, future Earl of Northumberland, glimpses the beautiful Anne Boleyn he is captivated and quickly proposes marriage Anne has been taught to use her charms to her advantage and to secure her family's position of power at court. She sees that Henry Percy's affection is sincere and agrees to marry him.But a match of the heart has no place in a world where marriage is a political manoeuvre. Torn apart, the lovers are exiled to separate ends of the kingdom. For Henry a lifetime of duty awaits, while he remains true to the only woman he will ever love. But he is not the only man to be bewitched by Anne. And when King Henry VIII determines to make her his queen, the course of history is changed for ever...(P)2012 Headline Digital
    • More

    The Queen of the Night (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 3)

    By Paul Doherty
    Authors:
    Paul Doherty
    The slightest mistake could cost her life...In the summer of 314AD, dark figures lurking in the twilight of Roman society are on the prowl, and Rome is shocked by a series of gruesome murders in Paul Doherty's third novel featuring imperial secret agent Claudia. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor.'The master of historical whodunit' - BooklistRome: August 314AD, and as the sun's insidious heat beats down, murderous forces lurk in the underbelly of the city. The normally cosseted world of Rome's rich and powerful is rocked by a series of violent abductions, as children of the elite are kidnapped and held for ransom. Meanwhile, veteran soldiers, men who served Constantine along the Great Wall in northern Britain are being barbarously murdered; the indignities inflicted on their corpses reminiscent of the gruesome practices of the Picts whom they fought so many years ago.The Empress Helena summons her secret agent, Claudia, in a bid to resolve these macabre occurrences. But Claudia has problems of her own. The perfectly preserved corpse of a young Christian woman has been disinterred in her uncle's garden and it falls to her to investigate this mystery too. Now she must track her way through a murky tangle of politics, religion and murderous violence, ever aware that the slightest mistake could cost her life.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'A good example of historical fact and fiction mixed together, the past comes to life in front of your eyes''Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read''The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'
    • More

    The Quality of Mercy

    By Faye Kellerman
    Authors:
    Faye Kellerman
    1593: Elizabethan London seethes with political and religious intrigue, while across the sea thousands perish in the flames of the Spanish Inquisition. On the surface Roderigo, the Queen's physician, is a loyal subject of the Crown but secretly he and his family are Jewish conversos, hiding their illegal religion. Rebecca, Roderigo's daughter, is torn between her duty - which includes a loveless marriage to a converso - and her fascination with the heady world of Elizabethan London. Slipping out of her household one night, disguised as a man, Rebecca stumbles into a swordfight with someone equally romantic and heedless: Will Shakespeare, an ambitious young dramatist who, like Rebecca, has secrets to conceal and mysteries to unravel. Together, they embark on an adventure that plunges them into the sinks and stews of Elizabethan England - and into the course of history itself...
    • More

    Quake

    By Richard Laymon
    Authors:
    Richard Laymon
    As an earthquake hits, who will be the first to rescue her? Breathtaking suspense and vivid moments of terror abound in Quake, the gripping novel by much-loved horror writer Richard Laymon. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Clive Barker. Twenty minutes before the quake hit, Stanley was ogling Sheila through his living-room window. Now he may be able to do more than just ogle... Sheila's trapped in her ruined house and her husband and daughter are stranded on the other side of the city. The power's down, the emergency services can't cope and the lawless are combing the ruins. Sheila's fate depends on who can get to her first... What readers are saying about Quake: 'Wow, what can I say! This book is brilliant, I couldn't put it down!... This is the most compelling book I have ever read!' 'For sheer entertainment the novel deserves nothing short of ten out of ten''As always, Richard Laymon writes a cracking story. Nothing fancy, just gritty and fun'
    • More
    1