Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

I Hate Other People's Kids

By Adrianne Frost
Authors:
Adrianne Frost
Oh, the blasmphemy! You're not supposed to hate children! They're adorable ... aren't they? Well, it's said that children are the greatest gift of all. But that doesn't mean you want to be seated next to one on a plane, does it? For the first time, Adrianne Frost lifts the lid on one of our last taboos, and reveals that not all kids are likeable. In fact some are positively crying out to be hated. In this hilarious handbook she guides you through all you need to know about hating Other People's Kids through history, categorising subspecies of brat and turning the tables on tearaways without appearing childish yourself. Learn to navigate kids in public places, and discover all the things parents like to think are cute about their kids, but are not. And what will you have learned when you come to the end of Frost's rant? That there's a lot more to hate than you first thought.
  • More

I Predict a Riot

By Bateman
Authors:
Bateman
I want a riot of my own... Die-hard copper Superintendent James 'Marsh' Mallow, of the Belfast CID, is nearing the end of his career, but he's not handing in his badge until he's nailed notorious politician and racketeer Pink Harrison. A dismembered body has turned up and Mallow is convinced he's got his man. Problem is, take Pink Harrison down, and the trouble of the full-scale rioting kind is likely to flare up. Then there's Walter, the civil servant who's infatuated with Margaret, the carrot-cake induced coma victim, 'Steve' in 'Office 12' and Redmond, terrorist and occasional birdwatcher, whose only way out of jail is to get himself killed and trust in reincarnation...
  • More

The It Girl

Jenny has left her Manhattan school to attend Waverly Academy, an elite boarding school where glamorous rich kids don't let the rules get in the way of an excellent time. Jenny sets off to Waverly with big plans of reinventing herself. She'll be a goddess - she's a sophisticated city girl, after all! - and will find a boy who can properly worship her. But that's going to be a little tricky since her self-absorbed new roommates, Callie Vernon and Brett Messerschmidt, aren't exactly there to help - unless there's something in it for them. But if getting caught with boys and going up against the Disciplinary Committee is what it takes, Jenny's ready - she'll do all that and more to become The It Girl.
  • More

In The Dark Streets Shining

By Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
When Rose Brown's husband is killed at Dunkirk in 1940, she feels as though she's lost a part of herself. Rose can't imagine the future without Ray, but she's certain he would have wanted her to start again. She decides to volunteer as a postwoman in West London, and when she courageously rescues a young boy from a bombed-out house and takes him home, she finds a new sense of purpose. Traumatised from losing his mother in the ruins, seven-year-old Alfie is also rebellious and withdrawn. However, he touches the hearts of Rose's family, and with kindness, patience and love, they eventually win his trust. But then a handsome stranger, Johnny Beech, turns up on the doorstep, looking for his son, and everything changes...
  • More

Immoral (Jonathan Stride Book 1)

By Brian Freeman
Authors:
Brian Freeman
In a moral world... murder is the ultimate crime...Brian Freeman, author of The Night Bird and The Voice Inside, weaves obsession, sex and revenge into a story that will grip you with vivid characters and shocking plot twists from the first page to the last. The bestselling Immoral is sure to enthral fans of Michael Connelly and Karin Slaughter. 'Breaktakingly real... page-turning psychological suspense' Jeffery DeaverIn Duluth, Minnesota, a young woman, Rachel Stoner, has gone missing. Cop Jonathan Stride, a sharply focused detective despite the stresses of his troubled personal life, is quick to suspect her stepfather of murder. And yet, he has his doubts. Even for a man accustomed to power, the accused seems remarkably convinced he'll go free. Could he be telling the truth? While Stride endeavours to make sense of the conflicting pieces of evidence, a young woman's body lies half-buried deep in the woods. But if it's not the body of Rachel, where is the missing girl? Is she dead, or is the terrible, unexpected fate that awaits Graeme Stoner one he does not deserve? In this dark, involving mystery, nothing is as it seems, and readers will be gripped to the very last page as the shocking truth gradually emerges.What readers are saying about Immoral:'Fast-paced and plenty of action - he had me guessing up to the final pages. A first rate thriller''If you like crime fiction, especially the novels that really twist your mind in knots while you try to figure out what's going on, then you need to buy Immoral''The facets of the book are beautifully drawn into vivid creations as the story progresses and the drama of the investigation is only emphasised by the brilliantly timed flashbacks. I wanted to re-read it straight away!'
  • More

I'll Be Your Sweetheart

By Joan Jonker
Authors:
Joan Jonker
Not a day goes by without Molly Bennett and Nellie McDonough counting their blessings. But when an elderly neighbour, Flora Parker, is robbed of her most treasured possession, and left without a penny to her name, the two friends jump at the chance of setting their detecting skills in motion. Meanwhile, Molly's youngest daughter, Ruthie, and her best friend, Bella, are making plans for their joint sixteenth birthday party. Ruthie is determined to look glamorous, a real knock out, to catch the eye of a certain boy for whom she's got more than a soft spot.
  • More

In Love and Friendship

By Benita Brown
Authors:
Benita Brown
Newcastle, 1890. A school outing to Cullercoats Bay almost ends in tragedy when two girls are cut off by the incoming tide. But from the panic and confusion something wonderful emerges - a lifelong friendship between three girls; Ruth, Lucy and Esther. Each is a world apart from the other two, but together they form a strong and unbreakable bond that will see them through the years ahead, when the happy, carefree days of childhood are nothing but a distant memory...
  • More

Inside Track

By John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Inside Track is another jaw-dropping racing thriller from ex-jockey and TV broadcaster John Francome, with all the drama and colour of the racing world. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown.'There are some genuinely exhilarating descriptions of races that capture the tension and excitement, and could be written only with a jockey's insight' - Daily Mail Pippa Hutchinson is an aspiring young trainer, certain that given the right horses she is as good as anyone in the business. Until, that is, an owner removes two horses to another yard, and one shows dramatic improvement. She enlists the help of her brother, Jamie, once a star flat jockey, now trying to revive his racing career over fences after a harrowing term in prison. But former wild boy Jamie has his own demons to deal with, like the new challenge of jumps riding, the hostility of those who can never forgive him for a young lad's death - and the black wall within him that separates him from his past.What readers are saying about Inside Track:'The best book he [John Francome] has written so far''An outstanding, compelling book from start to finish''Well written, well-paced and the way he portrays the differing characters is astounding'
  • More

In for a Penny

By Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
Since the death of her husband May Jeffries has struggled to provide for her only child, Jenny. Even now that Jenny's working in a Leicester china shop, things are not easy. Jenny thinks that part of the problem could be the good-for-nothing men that her mother can't seem to resist, and she's delighted when May finally sees the true colours of her latest flame and throws him out. But when he turns up at the china shop and loses Jenny her job it seems their troubles are far from over. And when a sudden thunderstorm forces her to take shelter in a furniture warehouse on the way home things seem worse than ever. But good fortune comes when you least expect it...
  • More

Island

By Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King.When eight people are shipwrecked on a deserted island they take solace in the fact that at least they have fresh water, food and firewood. Now all they have to do is sit tight until they're rescued. There's just one problem - they're not alone. In the jungle behind the beach, there's a maniac on the loose and he's plotting to kill them all, one by one...
  • More