Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

In the Dark

By Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King Nothing much happens in Donnerville. Then librarian Jane Kerry receives an envelope containing a fifty-dollar bill and a note from 'MOG' (Master of Games) instructing her to 'Look homeward, angel'. Jane pulls Thomas Wolfe's novel of that title off the shelf and finds a second envelope with more money and another clue...This 'game' soon pushes Jane into crazy and immoral actions, but when she ties to quit, 'MOG' has other ideas.
  • More

Icebound

By Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
  • More

Island

By Richard Laymon
Authors:
Richard Laymon
'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King.When eight people are shipwrecked on a deserted island they take solace in the fact that at least they have fresh water, food and firewood. Now all they have to do is sit tight until they're rescued. There's just one problem - they're not alone. In the jungle behind the beach, there's a maniac on the loose and he's plotting to kill them all, one by one...
  • More

Intensity

By Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Edgler Vess is a sociopath intent on murder. He lives for one purpose only: to satisfy all appetites as they arise, seeking ever more outrageous experience. To live with intensity. When he attacks her friend, Laura, Chyna Shepherd is saved by the instincts developed during a dark and turbulent childhood. Not knowing Laura is already dead, Chyna follows, hoping to save her friend, as Vess carries her body to his motor home - a dungeon and morgue on wheels. The killer, unaware of her presence, drives away. But Chyna is now trapped in his dangerous orbit. Her sole aim is to get out alive, but when she learns the identity of the killer's next intended victim, she knows she must act to save that precious life - and take risks beyond any that she ever imagined she could endure.
  • More

It Could Happen to You

By Isla Dewar
Authors:
Isla Dewar
Rowan has always cherished an ambition to travel. She didn't just leave the small Scottish town where she grew up; she fled from it as fast as she could. Now she's become expert at metropolitan living; she could walk by a million faces and not notice any of them. And her dream is almost within her grasp.When Rowan does start packing her bags, she has to find room for one very unexpected item. And she's headed not for exotic distant shores but back to Scotland. There, she feels at first like nothing more than a source of good gossip. But as she discovers that no one is quite who she thought they were, Rowan begins to see that home could be where she'll find what she was looking for after all...
  • More

The Invisible Worm

By Jennifer Johnston
Authors:
Jennifer Johnston
It starts with a funeral. The great and the good have assembled: the President has sent a representative, and dignitaries are there in force. And Laura remembers those two terrible events. But was the tragedy out at sea an accident? Was the experience in the summerhouse cause rather than effect? With wonderful delicacy and economy, Jennifer Johnston has stripped bare the lives of a family overwhelmed by more than one of the deadly sins. The Invisible Worm contains greater power and passion than most novels three times its length.
  • More

In for a Penny

By Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
Since the death of her husband May Jeffries has struggled to provide for her only child, Jenny. Even now that Jenny's working in a Leicester china shop, things are not easy. Jenny thinks that part of the problem could be the good-for-nothing men that her mother can't seem to resist, and she's delighted when May finally sees the true colours of her latest flame and throws him out. But when he turns up at the china shop and loses Jenny her job it seems their troubles are far from over. And when a sudden thunderstorm forces her to take shelter in a furniture warehouse on the way home things seem worse than ever. But good fortune comes when you least expect it...
  • More

It Must've Been Something I Ate

By Jeffrey Steingarten
Authors:
Jeffrey Steingarten
Jeffrey Steingarten's first book, THE MAN WHO ATE EVERYTHING, was an instant classic. Nigella Lawson said, 'I have yet to meet anyone who hasn't adored this book once they've read it.' Now he has done it again. In this stunning collection of provocative, witty and erudite food essays, Jeffrey Steingarten continues his quest for the perfect meal. He chews over the supreme hors d'oeuvres recipe, embarks on an epic hunt for bluefish tuna, and, in 'The Man Who Cooked for his Dog', responds to baleful looks from his golden retriever by cooking him dishes of braised short ribs. As ever, it's a gloriously diverse menu from the man who has dedicated his life to searching out the ultimate in food experiences - at considerable expense to his waistline - for your reading pleasure. Read it and eat!
  • More

Inside Track

By John Francome
Authors:
John Francome
Inside Track is another jaw-dropping racing thriller from ex-jockey and TV broadcaster John Francome, with all the drama and colour of the racing world. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown.'There are some genuinely exhilarating descriptions of races that capture the tension and excitement, and could be written only with a jockey's insight' - Daily Mail Pippa Hutchinson is an aspiring young trainer, certain that given the right horses she is as good as anyone in the business. Until, that is, an owner removes two horses to another yard, and one shows dramatic improvement. She enlists the help of her brother, Jamie, once a star flat jockey, now trying to revive his racing career over fences after a harrowing term in prison. But former wild boy Jamie has his own demons to deal with, like the new challenge of jumps riding, the hostility of those who can never forgive him for a young lad's death - and the black wall within him that separates him from his past.What readers are saying about Inside Track:'The best book he [John Francome] has written so far''An outstanding, compelling book from start to finish''Well written, well-paced and the way he portrays the differing characters is astounding'
  • More

In Love and Friendship

By Benita Brown
Authors:
Benita Brown
Newcastle, 1890. A school outing to Cullercoats Bay almost ends in tragedy when two girls are cut off by the incoming tide. But from the panic and confusion something wonderful emerges - a lifelong friendship between three girls; Ruth, Lucy and Esther. Each is a world apart from the other two, but together they form a strong and unbreakable bond that will see them through the years ahead, when the happy, carefree days of childhood are nothing but a distant memory...
  • More

The Italian Quarter

By Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa
The Di Napolis may have been raised in England, but their souls are Italian... Charismatic, irascible and defiantly Italian, Cesare presides over his large family much like his Roman namesake. But when a journalist begins asking questions about his allegiances during the war, Sophie realises how little she really knows her adored grandfather. She embarks with him on a journey of discovery through turn of the century Naples, 1920s Clerkenwell and the war years, in the course which she learns something else: whom it is that she really loves.
  • More

I'll Be Your Sweetheart

By Joan Jonker
Authors:
Joan Jonker
Not a day goes by without Molly Bennett and Nellie McDonough counting their blessings. But when an elderly neighbour, Flora Parker, is robbed of her most treasured possession, and left without a penny to her name, the two friends jump at the chance of setting their detecting skills in motion. Meanwhile, Molly's youngest daughter, Ruthie, and her best friend, Bella, are making plans for their joint sixteenth birthday party. Ruthie is determined to look glamorous, a real knock out, to catch the eye of a certain boy for whom she's got more than a soft spot.
  • More

It's Different for Girls

By Jo Brand
Authors:
Jo Brand
A wonderfully funny and poignant novel about growing up in the seventies, teenage angst, growing pains and first love.Rachel and Susan do not like to be beside the seaside. Hastings is so uncool. Plunging headfirst into the choppy waters of adolescence, they are determined to survive their teens by sticking together. It's a rollercoaster ride of nutty parents, randy language students, stoned hippies, all-night parties on the pier, and an amusement arcade of emotional neediness.
  • More