Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

New Beginnings: A Selection Of Short Stories

By Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Adele Parks, the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE STATE WE'RE IN and WHATEVER IT TAKES, draws together some of her most popular short stories in a collection that will delight existing and new fans alike, and appeal to readers of Lisa Jewell and Jojo Moyes.When your love life throws you a curve ball, sometimes you just have to pick yourself up and start over. Adele Parks, with her trademark, up-front, tell-it-as-it-is style, gets right to the heart of the dilemmas real women - and men - face in their lives.NEW BEGINNINGS is the third of four deliciously insightful e-short story collections about the changing face of love - and what happens after 'happily ever after'. ***Includes a preview of Adele's emotionally powerful and dramatic new contemporary novel.***
  • More

Nantucket Sisters

By Nancy Thayer
Authors:
Nancy Thayer
The irresistible summer read from the New York Times bestseller.When Maggie and Emily first meet as young girls on a Nantucket beach they immediately become friends, spending many happy summers together. Now in their twenties, Emily has almost finished her studies, while Maggie is pursuing her dream of being a writer. When the charismatic Cameron Chadwick bursts onto the scene, their lives are upended in ways they never could have imagined. As Maggie and Emily fall under the spell of the charming newcomer, their friendship soon feels a long way from the idyllic, care-free days of their childhood.Life-altering decisions must be made. And at the heart of it all, both women must struggle to face the choices they make, the secrets they keep, and the futures they dream of. Can their friendship survive the tests that lie ahead?
  • More

North of Boston

By Elisabeth Elo
Authors:
Elisabeth Elo
Pirio Kasparov finds herself abandoned in the North Atlantic when the fishing boat she's on is rammed by a freighter. She somehow survives for nearly four hours in the freezing water before being rescued, but Pirio's friend, Ned, is not so lucky. He disappears without a trace. Pirio can't shake the suspicion that the boat's sinking was no accident, and begins to unravel a lethal plot that takes her to Northern Canada and the ice-cold waters of Baffin Bay. To survive, she must overcome a deadly betrayal from someone in her past, and, most importantly, learn to trust her own instincts above all else.Elisabeth Elo's mesmerising novel introduces a gutsy heroine with a rare ability to withstand the extreme, and follows a dark and treacherous quest that brings to light some horrifying truths.
  • More

Nine Inches

By ' Bateman
Authors:
' Bateman
Dan Starkey, the ducking and diving hapless investigator, takes centre stage again in this brilliant new novel by the master of comic crime.Radio shock-jock and self-styled people's champion Jack Caramac is used to courting controversy - but when his four-year-old son is kidnapped for just one hour, and then sent back with a warning note, he knows he may have finally gone too far. Jack has no choice but to turn to Dan Starkey for help. Recently chucked by his long-suffering wife Patricia, Dan has finally given up on journalism and is now providing a boutique, bespoke service for important people with difficult problems. Dan resolves to catch whoever kidnapped Jack's son - and very soon finds himself in the middle of a violent feud between rival drug gangs, pursued by jealous husbands, unscrupulous property developers and vicious killers as the case spirals ever more out of his control...
  • More

No Law in the Land (Knights Templar Mysteries 27)

By Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
The new riveting novel from the West Country's medieval crime master Michael Jecks.King Edward II is furious when he learns that his wife Queen Isabella has defied him and remains in France with their son. As the unfortunate messengers of this unhappy news, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and his friend, bailiff Simon Puttock, are instantly dismissed from court. Returning to their homes in Devon, the pair are shocked to find that outlaws now hold sway in the land and the chaos escalates as the bodies of two clerics are found among a party of travellers...
  • More

No Angel

By Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Celia Lytton, strong-willed, tough and courageous, moves through life making difficult and often dangerous decisions - with the most far-reaching consequences for everyone...For her husband, Oliver, head of the great family publishing house of Lyttons; for Sylvia Miller, whose life of relentless poverty is transformed by Celia's intrusion; for Oliver's daunting elder sister, who is not all she appears to be; and for Sebastian Brooke, with whom Celia makes the most dangerous decision of all.
  • More

Nice Girls Do

By Sarah Duncan
Authors:
Sarah Duncan
Anna can cope with gardens, especially the historic ones it's her job to research, but when it comes to love and relationships she has lost her way, following the collapse of her short-lived marriage. Then she meets Oliver, destined to inherit a magical eighteenth-century house and garden from his ageing grandmother, and a man who, unlike her, is more interested in the future than the past. But is Oliver's interest in Anna entirely straightforward, or does he have a secret agenda? Will, the gardener, claims he has, but then Will has secrets of his own, and a past as mysterious as the garden he looks after. As Anna gradually deciphers the secret history of the garden, she realises that only by learning to read the messages will she find a way through the wilderness to the hidden heart at the centre, and discover where her own future happiness lies.
  • More

Nightscape

By David Morrell
Authors:
David Morrell
In each of the stories in this collection there is a theme: obsession and determination. A character gets an idea in his head, a hook on his emotions, a need that has to be fulfilled, and he does everything possible to carry through, no matter how difficult. Written with the haunting emotional intensity and lightning pace that has made David Morrell the master of high-action suspense writing, this collection of stories will leave you dazzled.
  • More

Nine Mil

By Robert Ryan
Authors:
Robert Ryan
For gamblers and fun-seekers, Atlantic City is a place to chase your dreams. But for taxi driver Ed Behr, it's where his personal nightmare is all too real. He is haunted by violent flashbacks to his time in prison and sustained only by his obsession with finding Honey, the girl who promised him everything. Then he recognises one of the old gang from the days before the bad things happened that got them all sent down. Except for Billy Moon, that is, who went on to bigger and better things while they were left to rot. And now Ed has a plan that's going to reunite the gang, make enough dough, and sort out Billy Moon once and for all. Maybe even get Honey back too. That's if he doesn't get them all killed first...
  • More

Night Crossing

By Robert Ryan
Authors:
Robert Ryan
In 1938, Ulrike Walter, a beautiful young German musician, is engaged to be married to Erich Hinkel, a member of the Hitler Youth. But when she meets Inspector Cameron Ross, a Scotland Yard policeman, whose father is a colonel in British Intelligence, her life will be changed for ever. When war is declared, Ulrike flees Germany for the safety of England but is instead cruelly imprisoned as an enemy alien. Her only hope of rescue is Cameron, who, despite his better judgement, is falling in love with her. Then Erich is captured by the British and incarcerated in a prisoner of war camp in England. He faces interrogation by Cameron Ross, the one man who stands between him and Ulrike, the woman who means more to Erich than life itself...
  • More
1