Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

The Vision

By Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Mary Bergen is a clairvoyant, able to forsee murders that will happen in the near future, but unable to prevent them from taking place.And now she is up against a power that is stronger than her own, a power that is taking her over, a power that is trying to kill her before she can identify it...
  • More

Vagabonds

By Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
A classic story in the Emma Grady trilogy by Sunday Times bestselling author Josephine Cox.Twenty-two years ago Emma Grady was wrongfully convicted and sentenced to transportation to Australia where she bore and lost her baby daughter - conceived during a passionate affair with Marlow Tanner. It is now 1885, and Emma has returned to Blackburn. Reunited with Marlow, she has a loving family, yet she is still haunted by the past, unable to forget how her uncle Caleb Crowther ignored her desperate plea to save herself and her tragic first-born. Crowther curses his niece's return and also hounds Molly, Emma's estranged daughter. Molly and her children run away and, contending with hunger, exhaustion and the unwelcome attentions of the men who are drawn to Molly's dark beauty, their life at times is almost unbearable. But Molly has inherited Emma's indomitable spirit...
  • More

Valentina on the Edge

By Evie Blake
Authors:
Evie Blake
The ebook edition of this novel is published under the title LOSE YOURSELF (The Desires Unlocked Trilogy Part Two). 2012. Photographer Valentina Rosselli has been invited to participate in a show of erotic photography in London, an opportunity she finds impossible to turn down. Yet London is where her ex-lover Theo Steen now lives. Deep down Valentina knows that Theo is the only man she's ever loved. Is it possible that they could rekindle their passion, or has she lost him forever? 1948. Maria leaves Italy to study contemporary dance in London, where she falls passionately in love for the first time - but when she follows her lover to post-war France, with its hidden underworld of latent desire, she finds that love induces her to behave in ways she never thought possible. As Valentina uncovers Maria's story, and its ties to her own, she begins to question how much one should change for love. Is she brave enough to risk her heart and step over the edge?
  • More
  • Victims (Alex Delaware series, Book 27)

    By Jonathan Kellerman
    Authors:
    Jonathan Kellerman
    The gruesome murders in VICTIMS bear witness to unspeakable evil in this unforgettable psychological thriller from New York Times No. 1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman, author of KILLER and BREAKDOWN. 'With his latest, [Jonathan Kellerman] not only brings his 'A' game but also ratchets it up a notch or three. . . . Victims will keep you up at night' Bookreporter. Recommended for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Harlan Coben.Not since Jack the Ripper has there been such a gruesome crime scene. One look at the victim's apartment turned charnel house is enough for Milo Sturgis to summon his friend psychologist Dr Alex Delaware for insights into the mind behind such carnage. But even Alex Delaware's skills may be stymied when more slayings occur in the same ghastly fashion . . . with no apparent connection between them. The only clue left behind - a blank page bearing a question mark - seems to be both a menacing taunt and a cry for help from a killer baffled by his own lethal urges. This one will haunt Alex's waking life, and his darkest dreams, long after its end.
    • More

    Valentina and the Magic Lantern

    By Guido Crepax
    Authors:
    Guido Crepax
    Created by the famous Italian graphic artist Guido Crepax, Valentina is one of the most iconic, sexy graphic novel heroines of all time. With her distinctive black bob and demure, reserved exterior, Valentina is the very essence of European sophistication. However, below the surface burns a passionate young woman eager to inhabit another world; a world where she can explore her dark attraction to that which most frightens her.In VALENTINA AND THE MAGIC LANTERN, Crepax takes us deep into the heart of her most intensely erotic, fetishistic fantasies - a journey which will heat the blood and set the pulse racing as Valentina is drawn into a labyrinth of elaborate costumes and thrilling liaisons; where physical gratification comes in every shape and size, and absolutely anything goes.
    • More

    Valentina

    By Evie Blake
    Authors:
    Evie Blake
    The ebook edition of this novel is published under the title LIBERATE YOURSELF (The Desires Unlocked Trilogy Part One). Milan, 2012. Photographer Valentina Rosselli is living with her lover of one year, Theo Steen, but refuses to commit to anything more. When she is offered an intriguing photography assignment, to take pictures of those engaged in the darker side of desire, she gets drawn into a shadowy world that reveals a part of her she never knew existed....Venice, 1929. Belle is the alter ego of a well-to-do socialite, trapped in an unhappy marriage and constrained by society. As Belle she plays out her fantasies by leading a secret life as a courtesan - but she will only truly be set free by finding the man who will love her. Though decades separate them, Belle and Valentina's lives are intertwined. Both will experience an awakening of their latent desires, but will they discover the connection between physical passion and true love?
    • More
  • Violets are Blue

    By James Patterson
    Authors:
    James Patterson
    Two joggers have been found dead in San Francisco - bitten and hung by their feet to drain the blood. Further murders in California, and then on the East Coast as well, completely baffle Alex and the FBI. Is this the work of a cult, or role players, or even of modern-day vampires? Desperate to stop the deaths, Alex teams up with Jamilla Hughes, a savvy woman detective, and the FBI's Kyle Craig. But Alex has never been closer to defeat, or in greater danger. He must survive a deadly confrontation - only to learn at last the awful secret of the Mastermind.
    • More

    Venus Envy

    By Louise Bagshawe
    Authors:
    Louise Bagshawe
    At twenty-seven, Alex Wilde feels like her life is going nowhere. She's stuck in a dead-end job and her relationship history is a tale of woe. What's more, she's put on a few pounds lately... Sharing a house with three gorgeous girls doesn't help. Her sister Gail got more than her fair share of the good genes, Keisha is an ice-cool man-magnet and Bronwen is so hip it hurts. With competition like this, is it any wonder Alex feels so inadequate? Alex has two choices: she can retreat to the safety of her duvet and stuff herself with chocolate or she can smarten up her act and face the world head on. Never one to choose the easy option, Alex realises she needs to up her game if she wants to stay in it...
    • More

    Villa Serena

    By Domenica De Rosa
    Authors:
    Domenica De Rosa
    A heartfelt, witty story of one woman's journey from heartbreak to adventure, full of gorgeous Italian flavour. Emily Robertson looks like the woman who has it all: the lovingly restored Tuscan farmhouse, the three beautiful children, the successful, attentive husband. But when her husband dumps her by text message, she has to face up to some stark home truths. How will Emily cope, stranded in the countryside with no man, no money, dodgy phrasebook Italian and a psychotic cleaner? Her eldest girl is out of her depth with the local seducer, her middle daughter is dangerously underweight, and her darling baby is fast becoming a brat. But soon Emily finds herself being drawn into the village of Monte Albano, and discovering a more genuine Italy, darker and more intriguing than she had ever imagined. She and her children are outsiders no more - and if she can get over a slightly embarrasing obsession with her youthful first love, a rogueish stranger might be about to show her the time of her life...
    • More

    Vinegar Hill

    By Manette Ansay
    Authors:
    Manette Ansay
    VINEGAR HILL is a hard-hitting and thought-provoking novel, depicting the powerful conflicts and emotions involved in leaving an abusive relationship. When Ellen Grier's husband loses his job, she has little choice but to agree to his suggestion that they and their children move in with his parents on Vinegar Hill. Their new home is more stifling than she feared - a loveless place where dark secrets lurk behind a facade of false piety, and calculated cruelty is routine. Ellen's spirit is close to crushed: how is she to protect her children from their grandparents' bitterness and disapproval? Will her love for little Amy and Bert give her the strength to find a way for them to escape?
    • More

    The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox

    By Maggie O'Farrell
    Authors:
    Maggie O'Farrell
    THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX is vintage Maggie O'Farrell: a stunning imagining of a life stolen, and reclaimed.Edinburgh in the 1930s. The Lennox family is having trouble with its youngest daughter. Esme is outspoken, unconventional, and repeatedly embarrasses them in polite society. Something will have to be done.Years later, a young woman named Iris Lockhart receives a letter informing her that she has a great-aunt in a psychiatric unit who is about to be released.Iris has never heard of Esme Lennox and the one person who should know more, her grandmother Kitty, seems unable to answer Iris's questions. What could Esme have done to warrant a lifetime in an institution? And how is it possible for a person to be so completely erased from a family's history?
    • More

    Valley of Lagoons

    By Patricia Shaw
    Authors:
    Patricia Shaw
    In 1825 the square-rigger Emma Jane sets sail from England, carrying on board convicts bound for the penal colonies and a handful of paying passengers determined to brave the perilous journey to a new land of opportunity - Australia. The settlers discover that the quickest road to wealth lies in laying claim to vast tracts of cattle-grazing land - though this soon brings them into conflict with fierce Aborigine tribes. Aristocratic Jasin Heselwood, forced to flee England to avoid gambling debts, will stop at nothing to join the elite ranks of cattle kings. Double-crossing friend and foe alike, he starts a feud with the Irish squatter Pace MacNamara that has tragic consequences for both their families. But it is the women who are the true pioneers: Jasin's spoilt wife, Georgina, who refuses to be crushed by his ruthlessness or by his infidelities; and the convict girl Dolour, who is to be his Nemesis...
    • More

    The Voice of the Night

    By Dean Koontz
    Authors:
    Dean Koontz
    The voice of the night can transform childhood fantasy into terrifying reality. If you listen to the voice, you may never see the dawn again... Colin Jacobs is a shy, awkward, bookish fourteen-year-old. His only real companions are those from the science fiction stories he loves. But his life changes when Roy Borden, the most popular kid in town, becomes his 'blood brother'.There's only one problem. Roy has a secret - a secret so terrible that Colin can hardly imagine it. By the time he comes to face the truth, it's almost too late. His own life is in danger - and no one will believe him ...
    • More
    1