Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

Dead Souls

By Elsebeth Egholm
Authors:
Elsebeth Egholm
For fans of Jussi Adler-Olsen and Camilla Lackberg comes Danish crime sensation Elsebeth Egholm.On All Hallows' Eve, ex-convict Peter Boutrup is visiting his best friend's grave when her estranged mother appears. Her son, Magnus, has disappeared, and she begs Peter to look for him.The next day a young nun is pulled out of the moat at the convent in Djursland. She has been garrotted and Peter, who works there as a carpenter, was the last person to see her alive. Meanwhile, diver Kir Røjel finds an old box resting on the seabed. Inside are human bones. They are sixty years old, but the victim had also been garrotted.While Peter is looking for Magnus, Detective Mark Bille Hansen is assigned to the case. He is determined to link the bones in the box with the girl in the moat - but the hunt for the truth leads both he and Peter down a path so dark, they fear they may never return.
  • More

The Dead Pass

By Bateman
Authors:
Bateman
Hired to find the missing son of retired political activist Moira Doherty, Dan Starkey knows his new case is going to be challenging. Billy 'the Bear' Doherty isn't an easy man to find - a criminal with a nasty drug habit, his mum is convinced he's been murdered.But when Moira herself is killed, her body found floating in the waters under Londonderry's Peace Bridge, Dan finds himself in the middle of a deadly game of cat and mouse. Already in unfamiliar territory, Starkey is quickly embroiled in the city's porn and drug fuelled underworld, where a new generation of gangster terrorist is intent on creating mayhem their predecessors could only dream of ...
  • More

Dorchester Terrace

By Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
1896. Newly promoted to Head of Special Branch, Thomas Pitt is forced to face the danger his new position brings when he uncovers the work of a traitor in his department. Not knowing who to trust, he must unmask the conspirator, whist simultaneously protecting a suspected target, Austrian state visitor Duke Alois.Meanwhile, Victor Narraway is investigating the mysterious death of Serafina Monserrat. Once the holder of many sensitive, political secrets, Serafina had suffered from dementia in her later years and Narraway is unsure whether what he has uncovered in his search for answers is the confused ramblings of an old woman, or a catastrophic plot which could trigger a war the likes of which the world has never seen before.As the two investigations come ever closer it is clear that bluff and double-bluff are at play. When Pitt finally comes face to face with the suspected traitor will he, knowing the fate of the world is at stake, find the strength to stop the man by any means necessary?
  • More

Dr. Yes

By Bateman
Authors:
Bateman
The hilarious new Mystery Man crime caper from the master of menace and mirthYou don't say no to Dr. Yes, the charismatic plastic surgeon on the fast track to fame and fortune. But when the wife of obscure and paranoid crime writer Augustine Wogan disappears shortly after entering his exclusive clinic, the Small Bookseller with No Name is persuaded to investigate. As fatherhood approaches, our intrepid hero is interested only in a quick buck and the chance to exploit a neglected writer, but he soon finds himself up to his neck in murder, make-up and madness - and face to face with the most gruesome serial killer since the last one.
  • More

Daughters of Rome

By Kate Quinn
Authors:
Kate Quinn
This sweeping, powerful epic tells the story of one of the bloodiest years in Rome's history through the eyes of two remarkable women fighting for survivalA.D. 69. The Roman Empire is up for the taking. The Year of the Four Emperors will change everything - especially the lives of two sisters with a very personal stake in the outcome. Elegant and ambitious, Cornelia embodies the essence of the perfect Roman wife. She lives to one day see her loyal husband as Emperor. Her sister Marcella is more aloof, content to witness history rather than make it. But when a bloody coup turns their world upside down, both women must manoeuvre carefully just to stay alive. As Cornelia tries to pick up the pieces of her shattered dreams, Marcella discovers a hidden talent for influencing the most powerful men in Rome. In the end, though, there can only be one Emperor...and one Empress.
  • More

Daisychain

By Gj Moffat
Authors:
Gj Moffat
Logan Finch has just about everything he ever wanted, including a penthouse apartment and a shot at making partner in one of Scotland's largest law firms. But there's something missing from his life: he still pines for the woman he thought was 'the one' and who left him without a word of explanation over twelve years ago. Alex Cahill is one of Logan's clients, and probably his best friend. The profane, gregarious American owns a successful security business but has a shadowy past and a capacity for violence. Detective Constable Rebecca Irvine, newly promoted to Strathclyde Police's CID, is stuck in a failing marriage. On her first day in the new job she is called to a murder scene in the affluent Southside of Glasgow. The victim is Penny Grant, Logan's former girlfriend. And her eleven-year-old daughter is missing...
  • More

A Deadly Trade

By Michael Stanley
Authors:
Michael Stanley
Set amid the beauty and darkness of modern Botswana, the second in the fantastic crime series featuring the opera-loving wine connoisseur Assistant Superintendant David 'Kubu' Bengu of the Botswana Police ForceGoodluck Tinubu, an ex-Zimbabwean who has taught in Botswana for many years, is viciously murdered at the Jackalberry bush camp, situated on an isolated peninsula in northern Botswana. Peter Sithole, a guest at the camp, is found bludgeoned to death a few hours later. Detective 'Kubu' Bengu is sent from Botswana's capital, Gaborone, to assist the local CID in this puzzling investigation. Meanwhile, another guest at the camp - Ishmael Zondo - leaves the camp suddenly the next morning and disappears without a trace. The Zimbabwe police are unable to trace him. And, as fingerprints are matched, records reveal that Tinubu was killed in the Rhodesian civil war thirty years earlier...
  • More

Double Cross

By James Patterson
Authors:
James Patterson
  • More

Death of a Hollow Man

By Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
Backstage at the Causton Amateur Dramatic Society's production of Amadeus, nerves are fraying. On top of the fractious cast hierarchy imposed by Harold Winstanley, director and would-be impresario, cast member Esslyn Carmichael suspects his wife is having an affair with the leading man. And where better to settle scores than the stage?On opening night, Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby attends, purely as a member of the audience. But when someone turns Esslyn's final grand gesture into a very gruesome coup de theatre, Barnaby suddeny finds himself centre stage...
  • More

Deathspell

By Veronica Stallwood
Authors:
Veronica Stallwood
Hanna Benson is a lucky woman, with her large house on a wooded hill overlooking Oxford, her rich and successful second husband, Malcolm, and their five children. Anyone would envy her. Any outsider.But when Malcolm begins to lay down the law, Hanna's ten-year-old daughter Tess decides to fight back. She wants her family together again: just her, her little sister, her mother and her real father, Gerard. There is no place in her world for Malcom and his three vicious sons. And it seems that Gerard is only too willing to offer Tess her paradise - he provides her with the perfect way to achieve her aims. Murder.
  • More

Death and the Oxford Box

By Veronica Stallwood
Authors:
Veronica Stallwood
Dawn on a cold February morning and a mist hangs over Oxford, shrouding spires and domes. Feisty novelist Kate Ivory enjoys her early morning run with the (mainly) women's jogging group. It gets her away from her word processor and she hears all the local gossip on the hoof. This morning, one of the women complains to Kate that her husband has walked out on her, taking with him the valuable antique enamel mourning-boxes given to her by her grandmother who - horrors - is coming to visit. The group plans to nick the boxes back again. How could they guess that their amateurish raid would provide the cover for a more sinister crime?
  • More

Dangerous Lady

By Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
No one thinks a seventeen-year-old girl can take on the hard men of London's gangland, but it's a mistake to underestimate Maura Ryan: she's tough, clever and beautiful - which makes her one very dangerous lady.Together, she and her brother Michael are unbeatable but notoriety has its price.  The police are determined to put away Maura once and for all - and not everyone in the family think that's such a bad idea.  When it comes to the crunch, Maura has to face the pain of lost love in her past - and the dangerous lady discovers her heart is not make entirely of stone.

Death of a Hollow Man

By Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
  • More
1