Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books
  • A Killing Moon (DI Damen Brook 5)

    By Steven Dunne
    Authors:
    Steven Dunne
    For the young woman kidnapped on her way home from the pub, the nightmare is about to begin...Weeks after Caitlin Kinnear goes missing, the police are unable to break her case. Worse they are not even certain harm has come to her. But determined to pursue all leads, DI Damen Brook and his team begin to trawl through the murky world of cheap migrant labour. Convinced that the answers lie hidden within its depths, Brook soon begins to realise Caitlin is in terrible danger.When the body of another young girl turns up it becomes clear that Caitlin's abduction might not be an isolated incident and the race is on to save her. But with time running out, can Brook put the pieces together and find Caitlin before it's too late?
    • More

    Killing Spree

    By Kevin O'Brien
    Authors:
    Kevin O'Brien
    A chilling read from king of the Seattle serial killer thriller and New York Times bestseller, Kevin O'Brien. Perfect for fans of Chris Carter, Karin Slaughter and Mary Burton.Years ago, the Seattle police force was baffled by the infamous Schoolgirl Murders. The killer staged scenes, dressing his female victims in school-girl uniforms and saddle shoes. Until the murderer was caught and locked away, no woman in Seattle felt safe.Across the country, a vicious killing spree is taking place. The first victim is attacked in a taxi. The next found strangled in a changing room. A hitchhiker is abandoned by the side of the road, his identity brutally stolen. Only Seattle writer Gillian McBride connects the killings to the forgotten case of the Schoolgirl Murders, making the terrifying link between past and present, and to a twisted serial killer who shows no signs of stopping...
    • More

    Killing Critics

    By Carol O'Connell
    Authors:
    Carol O'Connell
    Mallory Book 3: from New York Times bestseller Carol O'Connell, master of knife-edge suspense and intricate plotting.Detective Kathy Mallory. New York's darkest. You only underestimate her once.A deadly familiar crime.An artist is murdered, in a stylish, surprising and deadly act of performance art. The murder almost goes unnoticed, but it reminds NYPD detective Kathy Mallory of an older, more brutal crime investigated years before by Mallory's now dead adoptive father.A maverick cop with attitude.As soon as Mallory starts to work on the new crime, old ghosts rise up, and the word comes down from on high to close her down, to shut her out of the case.What if her father had been right? What if the butcher was still out there?But for Mallory, rules exist only to be shattered ...
    • More
  • Kingdom of Darkness (Wilde/Chase 10)

    By Andy McDermott
    Authors:
    Andy McDermott
    Full of his trademark action, thrills and humour, this is Andy McDermott's most exciting novel to date and marks the 10th novel featuring his brilliant series leads, Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase.1943 - Occupied GreeceThe SS unit's mission was simple: round up Jews for the concentration camps. But beneath an isolated farmhouse, they find a far greater bounty - a hidden shrine to Alexander the Great and an urn filled with water possessing mysterious qualities. The Nazis take the treasure in the name of Hitler and disappear...Present Day - Los AngelesArchaeologist Nina Wilde and her husband Eddie Chase are sought out by a young man, desperate to warn her about a planned raid on Alexander's newly-discovered tomb in Egypt. But before he can explain more, he is assassinated by a wanted Nazi war criminal - who has barely aged in seventy years.As Nina and Eddie search for answers, they discover that the most evil regime in history is threatening to rise again. But the Nazis seek more than power. They are also hunting for the greatest prize of all - immortality...
    • More
  • A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins, Book 1)

    By Julia Keller
    Authors:
    Julia Keller
    Pulitzer-prize winner, Julia Keller's first crime novel - the first in a series featuring prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins - set in the beautiful crime-ridden town of Acker's Gap. Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, visitors see only its stunning natural beauty. But for those living there it's a different story. The mountain roads harbour secret places, perfect for making the prescription drugs that tempt its desperately poor. Bell Elkins left a broken teenager, savaged by a past she couldn't forget. But, as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, Bell is back and determined to help clean up the only home she has ever known.As winter sets in and her daughter is witness to a shocking triple murder, Bell finds her family in danger. Can she uncover the truth before her world is destroyed again?
    • More
  • The Killing Hour (FBI Profiler 4)

    By Lisa Gardner
    Authors:
    Lisa Gardner
    THE KILLING HOUR, the fourth book in Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller Lisa Gardner's FBI Profiler series was proclaimed 'a truly satisfying thriller in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen' by Publishers Weekly. WOULD YOU BE SMART ENOUGH, WOULD YOU BE FAST ENOUGH TO SURVIVE?For three years, Atlanta was held in the grip of terror. It happened four times - when the temperature in Atlanta soared to a scorching hundred degrees in the shade and tempers were frayed, two girls would go out to a bar never to seen alive again. The body of the first girl would hold the key to the survival of the second but, with the clock ticking, the killing hour always came round too quickly. Only when the final missing girl was found alive did the killing stop.Now, years later, the heat is rising on yet another scorching summer. And when trainee FBI agent Kimberly Quincy stumbles across the body of a young girl, furnished with clues to find a second, it appears that the killer is back and ready to play... Will Kimberley be able to find the girls before the madness starts all over again?
    • More

    Kill For Me (The Philadelphia/Atlanta Series Book 3)

    By Karen Rose
    Authors:
    Karen Rose
    Held in a bunker by sadistic kidnappers, who can save these girls? KILL FOR ME is the brilliant thriller by bestselling Karen Rose, part of the Philadelphia/Atlanta series, and the finale to the trilogy she began with DIE FOR ME and SCREAM FOR ME.Kiss the girls and make them die...For years District Attorney Susannah Vartanian has refused to allow anyone close to her. Her life changed overnight when as a teenager she was brutally raped by a vicious gang of youths.Detective Luke Papadopoulus is fast approaching burn-out. As a detective working on sex-crimes against children, he will do anything to find those responsible for such atrocities. Monica Cassidy is terrified. Kidnapped and held in a bunker with eleven other girls, she barely escaped with her life when her kidnappers panicked and fled, killing five of the girls as they left. Now Monica is the only one who can identify the ring's members. Will Luke and Susannah be able to keep her safe and crack the ring before the remaining girls disappear forever?
    • More

    The Killings at Badger's Drift

    By Caroline Graham
    Authors:
    Caroline Graham
    Badger's Drift - a tranquil English village, home to Miss Emily Simpson, a kindly, well-liked spinster. But when poor Miss Simpson takes a gentle stroll in the woods near her home one day and sees something among the trees that she was never meant to see, her peaceful existence is brought to an abrupt end. To most, Miss Simpson's death looks natural enough, but her old friend Miss Lucy Bellringer is unconvinced and calls on Chief Inspector Barnaby for help. Sure enough, as he investigates, a previously unseen seamy side to Badger's Drift is revealed - one where old rivalries, old loves and new scandals are rife. And then there's a second, horrifically gruesome killing...
    • More
  • Keeping Bad Company

    By Ann Granger
    Authors:
    Ann Granger
    Buying a coffee for down-and-out 'Alkie' Albie at Marylebone Station is Fran Varady's good deed for the day. But when the grateful Albie takes her into his confidence, Fran suddently finds herself launched on her second investigation. For Albie, though obviously fond of a drink and none too familiar with soup and water, is absolutely clear about one thing - he claims to be the only witness to the violent abduction of a young girl.Although the police scornfully dismiss Albie's story as alcoholic hallucinations, Fran is determined to follow it up. And her suspicions seem to be spot on when she is warned off by her old sparring partner, Sergeant Parry, and then approached by a boyhood friend of her late father's, distraught over the kidnapping of his daughter. But this is only the beginning of Fran's investigation - days later, Alkie Albie is found dead ...
    • More
    1