Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

The Last Victim

By Kevin O'Brien
Authors:
Kevin O'Brien
A chilling read from king of the Seattle serial killer thriller and New York Times bestseller, Kevin O'Brien. Perfect for fans of Chris Carter, Karin Slaughter and Mary Burton.Working with her twin brother on his senatorial campaign has been a welcome distraction from her messy divorce for Bridget Corrigan. But everything changes when Bridget is reminded of a secret, guarded since high school, which could destroy everything. Somehow, someone knows. And they have been targeting members of their high school group one by one, following them, photographing them and immortalizing them on canvas. As each member of the old clique suffers a terrible 'accident', Bridget feels danger edging closer. But uncovering the serial killer means revealing a dark truth from all those years ago. Bridget must find someone to trust. Because turning to the wrong person could be the last mistake she ever makes...
  • More

Left For Dead

By Kevin O'Brien
Authors:
Kevin O'Brien
A chilling read from king of the Seattle serial killer thriller and New York Times bestseller, Kevin O'Brien. Perfect for fans of Chris Carter, Karin Slaughter and Mary Burton.When Claire Shaw wakes up in a Seattle hospital, she can remember nothing of what happened to her. All she knows is she's lucky to be alive - the single surviving victim of a vicious serial killer. But next time, she may not be so lucky...Back on an isolated island resort, Claire returns to a life she barely recognises. To a town that is hiding something sinister in its dark woods, remote cabins and chilling smiles. Bit by bit, Claire's memory takes a terrifying shape, she realises her fears are far closer to home than she had thought.
  • More
  • Lion Plays Rough (Leo Maxwell 2)

    By Lachlan Smith
    Authors:
    Lachlan Smith
    Leo Maxwell is a criminal defense attorney on the lookout for the big case that will make his reputation. When a mysterious woman hires him to defend her brother on a murder charge he thinks he may have found it. But things are not what they seem - he's been set up to become the number one enemy of both a vicious gangland boss and the police.Hounded by threats from all sides, he finds himself with a price on his head and framed for murder.Leo's a marked man unless he can somehow turn the tables. But as the bodies pile up and Leo closes in on the truth, he discovers that it is far more sinister than he imagined and forces him question everything that he holds dear...
    • More

    The Last Quarter (A James Bishop short story)

    By Jason Dean
    Authors:
    Jason Dean
    Includes an exclusive extract from the upcoming THE HUNTER'S OATH.An exclusive James Bishop digital short story from Jason Dean, author of THE WRONG MAN and BACKTRACK. Like Reacher? You'll love Bishop.Twenty years ago ex-Marine Eric Stepanovich saved a man's life. Now it's time to recall the favour.Struggling for traction in the recession, Stepanovich and his poker buddies hit on the idea of raiding a drug-den and taking a stash of unmarked cash from the drug dealers inside. After all, why should the criminals get richer if those who operate within the law can't? The raid goes to plan but two months later, two of the four men are dead.Fortunately Stepanovich saved the right man - James Bishop. Bishop operates on both sides of the law and is convinced there's a link between the money and the deaths, despite a lack of evidence and Stepanovich's refusal to believe he's in danger.Will Bishop discover the truth in time to keep his friend alive or is Stepanovich about to pay the highest price of all?
    • More

    Lucky Dog

    By Mark Barrowcliffe
    Authors:
    Mark Barrowcliffe
    'You'd think that when you see someone hit the floor right in front of you that you'd remember some telling, cinematic detail. The arc of the cigarette through the air, for instance, or the expression on the man's face. All I remember, though, is the curly-tailed dog looking up at me with the sort of expression that says, "Well, that just about puts the tin lid on it."' After his mother's funeral, Dave Barker's life takes an unexpected turn. A total stranger drops dead in his office, for starters. A good deed leads him into the company of powerful men who want to be Dave's friend. His girlfriend can't get enough of him. So what exactly is Dave's problem? And then there's the dog...
    • More

    The Loner

    By Quintin Jardine
    Authors:
    Quintin Jardine
    A brilliant new stand-alone crime thriller from Scotland's Crime MasterXavier (Xavi) Aislado is a gentle giant, half Spanish, half Scot, brought up in Edinburgh by his grandmother, Paloma Puig, a ferocious old lady whose grim brand of care sees him into his teens, until his father moves back to Spain, leaving him to grow up fast. His emergence into manhood is colourful, and eventful. After a short career as a professional footballer, he turns to journalism, and has a bloody introduction to the trade, as his first assignment ends in violent death. Inevitably, remorselessly, as his autobiography unfolds, Xavi's life and his love become entwined with his work, and he is immersed in tragedy, loss and betrayal, going halfway round the world in search of a truth that may destroy him. Quintin Jardine's evocation of Xavi's fated world is an unforgettable story of a man riding a one-way train to oblivion. Will he escape, before it hits the buffers, full-speed?
    • More

    The Loner

    By Quintin Jardine
    Authors:
    Quintin Jardine
    A brilliant new stand-alone crime thriller from Scotland's Crime MasterXavier (Xavi) Aislado is a gentle giant, half Spanish, half Scot, brought up in Edinburgh by his grandmother, Paloma Puig, a ferocious old lady whose grim brand of care sees him into his teens, until his father moves back to Spain, leaving him to grow up fast. His emergence into manhood is colourful, and eventful. After a short career as a professional footballer, he turns to journalism, and has a bloody introduction to the trade, as his first assignment ends in violent death. Inevitably, remorselessly, as his autobiography unfolds, Xavi's life and his love become entwined with his work, and he is immersed in tragedy, loss and betrayal, going halfway round the world in search of a truth that may destroy him.Quintin Jardine's evocation of Xavi's fated world, of the towering being that is Grandma Paloma, and of his love, the beautiful, wilful and hypnotic Grace Starshine, is an unforgettable story of a man riding a one-way train to oblivion. Will he escape, before it hits the buffers, full-speed?
    • More

    The Levels

    By Sean Cregan
    Authors:
    Sean Cregan
    An explosive debut novel - THE LEVELS is a dark, urban gothic thriller guaranteed to appeal fans of Child and Kernick.On the outskirts of Newport, on the US East Coast, lies an abandoned housing project: the Levels. Inhabited by Newport's homeless population, the Levels are run by the all-powerful Sorrow.As THE LEVELS opens, ex-CIA agent Nate Turner, who is in the Levels to find out who has just tried to kill him, meets a 14-year-old girl Ghost. Ghost is a Fury, one of Sorrow's trained, teenage assassins looking for a way back to her normal life.Also in the Levels is Kate, a suspended cop, who has been told that she has only days to live after being attacked, and infected, by the Beast, a serial killer working the streets. The Beast is out for revenge on Kate's new employer, who he believes created the infection that's killing him, an infection that has also been released into the Levels.Now Ghost is trying to escape Sorrow, Kate is looking for the Beast and Turner is looking for answers. One thing's for sure, some people aren't going to survive the fallout...
    • More

    The Lake House

    By James Patterson
    Authors:
    James Patterson
    Frannie O'Neill's life turned upside down when she and FBI maverick Kit Brennan rescued six incredible winged children from the school that created them. Now the young flock wants to go back to the couple, and Frannie and Kit are suing for custody. But when the case involves the most extraordinary creatures ever to land on this earth, someone will ensure there is no happy ending. Only Max, the most remarkable of the children, knows that another, terrifying biological experiment is taking place in the labs of a brilliant but evil surgeon, Dr Ethan Kane. But to complete his experiment he needs the ultimate prize - Max herself. And as the children dream of returning to the happy safety of the lake house, where for a few precious months they flew free, Kane moves ever closer...
    • More

    The Lost World

    By Arthur Conan Doyle
    Authors:
    Arthur Conan Doyle
    High above the Amazon rainforest lies the hidden dangers of a lost world...Ed Malone, a reporter for the London Journal, is convinced by the larger-than-life Professor Challenger to join him on a scientific expedition to explore a hidden plateau in the depths of the Amazon, which remains frozen in a time when dinosaurs still roamed the earth. Seemingly impossible to penetrate, this lost world holds great danger for the expedition team, as they become embroiled in a war between a tribe of Indians and brutal ape-men, and surrounded by terrifying prehistoric creatures ...
    • More

    Lethal Intent

    By Quintin Jardine
    Authors:
    Quintin Jardine
    'If we are right about this, the stakes are higher than anything I've ever faced.' Gangsters have infiltrated Edinburgh. MI5 are on their case and, unknown to Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner, have set up a drug-dealing sting to flush the them out. The resulting mayhem throws everyone into confusion until they realise the gangsters are preparing a hit on one of the Royal family. Meanwhile two policemen mourn the loss of a son and a daughter in mysterious circumstances, and another witnesses his son being abducted. Is someone trying to wreak revenge on the police force? Are the crimes linked? Quintin Jardine keeps you guessing until the end in this tautly plotted and powerful novel.
    • More

    Long Lost

    By David Morrell
    Authors:
    David Morrell
    Brad Denning's brother Petey is long lost.Frozen in time as a skinny nine-year-old bicycling away from his uncaring older brother, Petey haunts Brad's consciousness. To this day, within his prosperous life, Brad knows with certainty that he was responsible for the boy's disappearance. He knows how much his mother and father suffered and that nothing can ever bring Petey back - until a stranger walks into Brad's life.Suddently Brad is confronted by a man who claims to be his brother and whose tale is one of wandering, pain, and survival. As Brad gradually puts aside his suspicions, Petey makes himself at home in Brad's life. Then everything is shattered. Petey again disappears. Only this time, he's taken Brad's wife and child with him.
    • More
    1