Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books
  • Coming Home (Alex Benedict - Book 7)

    By Jack McDevitt
    Authors:
    Jack McDevitt
    The triumphant new novel from SF author Jack McDevitt brings together interstellar travel, an 8,000-year-old mystery, and a dramatic mission to rescue 3,000 spaceship passengers unaware of their perilous situation. 'The logical heir to Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke' Stephen KingIt's 1435 on Alex Benedict's world Rimway, eleven years since 3000 passengers boarded the Capella. The interstellar cruise ship is trapped in a transdimensional space warp, frozen in time. Just a few days have passed on board, and its inhabitants are oblivious to having lost the lives they knew. There is hope for a high-profile rescue attempt, but if it fails they may all die.As the Capella effort becomes increasingly difficult, Alex comes across a rare artifact dating back to the original NASA interstellar ships. The discovery arouses suspicions and Alex and his pilot Chase can uncover the truth only by returning to the museum-like planet Earth. As Chase is pulled into the Capella rescue mission, the entire human race watches and waits.
    • More
  • Cauldron (Academy - Book 6)

    By Jack McDevitt
    Authors:
    Jack McDevitt
    'A writer who is a storyteller first and a science fiction writer second. In his ability to absolutely rivet the reader, it seems to me that he is the logical heir to Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke' Stephen KingThe year is 2255. The Academy that trained the starfarers is long gone and veteran pilot Priscilla 'Hutch' Hutchins spends her retirement supporting fund-raising efforts for The Prometheus Foundation, a privately funded organization devoted to deep space exploration. But when a young physicist unveils an efficient star drive capable of reaching the core of the galaxy, Hutch finds herself back in the deepest reaches of space, and on the verge of discovering the origins of the deadly Omega clouds that continue to haunt her.
    • More
  • Centurion (Eagles of the Empire 8)

    By Simon Scarrow
    Authors:
    Simon Scarrow
    IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!CENTURION, a no. 1 bestseller, is the unputdownable eighth novel in Simon Scarrow's Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'A new book in Simon Scarrow's series about the Roman army is always a joy' The TimesAD 46. Roman army officers Cato and Macro have survived many dangerous missions together. They look out for one another. They're faithful to their Emperor. And from their men they demand bravery and ruthless efficiency.With the news that Rome's old enemy, Parthia, is poised to unleash its might against the border kingdom of Palmyra, Cato and Macro must embark on a desperate quest to protect the Empire. Outnumbered and deep in treacherous territory, they will have to endure a pitched battle that will test their courage and loyalty as never before...
    • More

    The Crediton Killings

    By Michael Jecks
    Authors:
    Michael Jecks
    The Devonshire town of Crediton is awaiting an important guest, the Bishop of Exeter. But a band of mercenary soldiers is already in residence, and though mercenaries are a common sight in the fourteenth century, these men are bent on havoc. They terrify travellers, show no respect to anyone and there's a rumour a local girl has been seduced by their leader. The bishop's visit could be ruined...Simon Puttock, bailiff of Lydford, and Baldwin Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, reluctantly attend the bishop's welcome dinner and are relieved when a disturbance interrupts the meal. They are less pleased, though, when they discover there's been a robbery amongst the mercenaries. And then a young girl is discovered murdered, hidden in a chest. The Crediton killings have begun...
    • More

    Chase

    By Dean Koontz
    Authors:
    Dean Koontz
    Ben Chase is a war hero with bitter memories. Vietnam left him with a hard drinking habit, a mental breakdown - and massive guilt. So who will believe him when he swears a psychopath is out to get him? When society is sick, the mad are sane - and persecution is a killer's game...
    • More
    1