Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

The Fatal Flame

By Lyndsay Faye
Authors:
Lyndsay Faye
'Spectacular' Gillian Flynn. THE FATAL FLAME is the stunning third novel in Lyndsay Faye's Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson's The Devil in the Marshalsea. A scarred barman turned copper star, the birth of the NYPD, gangs, murder, brothels and bedlam in the dark underworld of nineteenth-century New York. Timothy Wilde - copper star, tough with a warm heart, learning his craft as a detective.Valentine Wilde - Timothy's gregarious, glamorous, depraved rogue of a brother.Mercy Underhill - The intelligent, creative but unstable love of Timothy's life.Silky Marsh - The beautiful brothel owner whose scheming knows no bounds.Against the gritty backdrop of the notorious Five Points in 1848, Timothy Wilde is drawn yet again into a disturbing mystery, leading him to the heart of the Bowery girls, the original 'factory girls' in downtown Manhattan. Someone is starting fires on the streets of New York and Timothy has to unravel a knot of revenge, murder and blackmail if he's to find out who is behind it all and stop them before the whole city goes up in flames...
  • More
  • The Forbidden Tomb (The Hunters 2)

    By Chris Kuzneski
    Authors:
    Chris Kuzneski
    THE HUNTERSIf you seek, they will find...The treasure:For over two thousand years, the legendary tomb of Alexander the Great - and the riches concealed within - has evaded discovery. Now, after centuries of searching, an ancient map has come to light that could hold the key to finding the fabled vault. Only one team has the skill and the expertise to solve the mystery once and for all.The mission:It's up to The Hunters - an elite group assembled to track down the world's greatest treasures - to find the tomb. But on arriving in Alexandria, it quickly becomes clear that hostile forces are on their trail. And when one of the team is captured in cisterns deep below the city, what began as a treasure hunt becomes a deadly rescue mission. For there are some who will use any means possible to destroy The Hunters' efforts, and now there is more at stake than they ever could have imagined.High-octane action. Brilliant characters. Classic Kuzneski.
    • More

    The Fortune Hunter

    By Daisy Goodwin
    Authors:
    Daisy Goodwin
    In 1875, Sisi, the Empress of Austria is the woman that every man desires and every woman envies. Beautiful, athletic and intelligent, Sisi has everything - except happiness. Bored with the stultifying etiquette of the Hapsburg Court and her dutiful but unexciting husband, Franz Joseph, Sisi comes to England to hunt. She comes looking for excitement and she finds it in the dashing form of Captain Bay Middleton, the only man in Europe who can outride her. Ten years younger than her and engaged to the rich and devoted Charlotte, Bay has everything to lose by falling for a woman who can never be his. But Bay and the Empress are as reckless as each other, and their mutual attraction is a force that cannot be denied. Full of passion and drama, THE FORTUNE HUNTER tells the true story of a nineteenth century Queen of Hearts and a cavalry captain, and the struggle between love and duty.
    • More
  • The Fields of Death (Wellington and Napoleon 4)

    By Simon Scarrow
    Authors:
    Simon Scarrow
    The fourth and final novel in bestselling author Simon Scarrow's Wellington and Napoleon quartet focusing on two giants of European history, Wellington and Napoleon.It is 1810, and both Viscount Wellington and Emperor Napoleon have made great names for themselves as outstanding military commanders. Wellington expands his achievements in Spain but knows his most challenging test will be to face Napoleon's mighty army. But when Wellington invades France in 1814 he gains a swift victory. He indulges in a spell of self-congratulation at Vienna - until news comes of Napoleon's triumphant return. Napoleon, ambitious as ever, embarks on a Russian campaign which ends in disaster and is then defeated at Leipzig in the biggest battle ever fought in Europe. With Napoleon's power waning at long last, Wellington must seize the opportunity to crush the tyrant once and for all - and so the two giants face each other for the final time, at Waterloo...
    • More
  • Fire and Sword (Wellington and Napoleon 3)

    By Simon Scarrow
    Authors:
    Simon Scarrow
    The bestselling third book in Simon Scarrow's Wellington and Napoleon quartet focusing on two giants of European history, Wellington and Napoleon.In the early years of the nineteenth century, Arthur Wellesley (elevated to Viscount Wellington in the course of the novel) and Napoleon Bonaparte are well established as men of military genius. Wellesley has returned from India, where his skill and bravery made a remarkable impression on his superiors. He faces trials and tribulations on the political scene before becoming embroiled militarily in Copenhagen, then Portugal and finally Spain. Napoleon, established as Emperor, is cementing his control on Europe, intending finally to crush his hated foe across the Channel: Great Britain. The time is fast approaching when Wellington and Napoleon will come face to face in confrontation - and only one man can emerge victorious...
    • More

    A Fashionable Address

    By Pamela Evans
    Authors:
    Pamela Evans
    The Potters of Kensington take for granted all the comforts of their position. Cyril Potter is a secret gambler whose debts have become so crippling that he can see no way out, and he commits suicide. Left to clear the debts, his family are forced to sell everything the own. As daughter Kate labours in a hat-making factory to support the family, she catches the eye of the wealthy factory owner. But tragedy strikes the family once more when unmarried Kate is left pregnant...
    • More
    1