Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

The Jack Lark Library

By Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Available together for the first time, The Jack Lark Library by Paul Fraser Collard is complete Jack Lark backstory. **Includes brand-new, never-before-seen prequel: RASCAL** A must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' Sunday Express on The Last Legionnaire'Enthralling' - The Times on The Lone Warrior'Brilliant' - Bernard Cornwell on The Scarlet ThiefFrom gin palace pot boy to a young Private who wears his red coat with pride, The Jack Lark Library reveals the early years of Jack Lark: Soldier, Leader, Imposter. RASCAL: Jack finds himself witness to the execution of Mistress Manning, murderess in the notorious 'Bermondsey Horror' case.ROGUE: When an unlikely ally draws Jack from the East End alleys into the bright lights of a masked ball, he gets a glimpse of another life...RECRUIT:Forced to leave London, Jack is now a young recruit, determined to make his way as a Redcoat.REDCOAT:Jack relishes the camaraderie of barracks life, but four years of harsh discipline hasn't blunted his desire to be more than just a Redcoat...
  • More

The Judith Lennox Wartime Collection

By Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
The Judith Lennox Wartime Collection is an unforgettable omnibus of three mesmerising novels set during the First and Second World Wars: The Secret Years, The Shadow Child and All My Sisters. A beautiful collection of wartime novels not to be missed by fans of Katherine Webb, Lucinda Riley and Rachel Hore.The Secret Years:During the golden summer of 1914, four young people play in the gardens of Drakesden Abbey. When an ancient Blythe family heirloom disappears an uncontrollable chain of events is set in motion. The passions and enmities of the four friends intensifies in the passing years, and they have to experience tragedy and betrayal before the heirloom makes its reappearance and, with it, a new hope for the future.The Shadow Child:On the eve of the First World War, fourteen-year-old Alix Gregory is holidaying in France with the Lanchbury family. When two-year-old Charlie Lanchbury disappears whilst Alix is looking after him, she is blamed and cannot escape from the resulting fallout. Through her marriage and the birth of her son she finds happiness, yet she is haunted by the loss of her baby cousin. As the years pass and the world descends into the horrors of war once more, the question remains: will Charlie Lanchbury ever be found?All My Sisters:In the tumultuous years before the First World War, four sisters seek to fulfil their ambitions. Pretty Iris dreams of a grand marriage, quiet Marianne meets the love of her life, and passionate Eva longs for independence. Only Clemency, caring for her invalid mother, remains tied to the family home. Years pass and the war changes the lives of all the sisters as they endeavour to discover love at last.
  • More

The Jeweller's Wife

By Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
An epic tale of passion and betrayal, that moves through the turbulence of war to 1960s' London and is sure to appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.1938. As England awaits the outbreak of war, Juliet Winterton journeys from the Mediterranean to the Essex countryside to begin her life as the beautiful young wife of a London jeweller.But beneath her husband's intelligence and ambition, lies a cruel and ruthless man. And when dashing politician Gillis Sinclair comes to stay at Marsh Court, Juliet is drawn to his irresistible charm.So begins a passionate affair that will have consequences far beyond anything Juliet imagines. For Gillis Sinclair is hiding a dark secret and, as the next generation of Wintertons grows up, Juliet fears that they, too, will be tainted by the past...
  • More

Jack Lark: Redcoat (A Jack Lark Short Story)

By Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Redcoat by Paul Fraser Collard recounts the early life of roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley'- who will one day become The Scarlet Thief. This series is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' - Sunday ExpressPrivate Jack Lark wears his red coat with pride. Though life in Queen Victoria's service is tough, he relishes the camaraderie of Aldershot barracks, and four years' harsh discipline hasn't blunted his desire to be more than just a Redcoat. When he learns that Captain Sloames needs a new orderly, Jack is determined to prove his worth both to the officer and to Molly, the laundry girl who has caught his eye. But standing in his way is Colour Sergeant Slater, a cruel and vicious bull of a man who loathes Jack, and is longing for the chance to ruin his ambition...
  • More

Jack Lark: Recruit (A Jack Lark Short Story)

By Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Recruit by Paul Fraser Collard recounts the early life of roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley'- who will one day become The Scarlet Thief. This series is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' - Sunday ExpressForced to leave London, young recruit Jack Lark is determined to make his way as a Redcoat. Despite the daily tirades of Sergeant Slater, a sadistic monster of a man who sees his new trainees as the scum of the earth, Jack holds on to his belief that the Army will give him a better life. His comrades are a rough and ready bunch, and Jack falls in with Charlie Evans, a cheerful young clerk who quickly comes to regret joining up. But once you've taken the Queen's Shilling, there is no way out: deserters always pay the highest price. As Charlie schemes to escape, Jack, always a loyal friend, is forced into an impossible situation where the wrong move could leave him taking the long walk to the gallows...From the author of THE SCARLET THIEF, THE MAHARAJAH'S GENERAL and THE DEVIL'S ASSASSIN, the second e-novella featuring teenage Jack Lark.
  • More

Jack Lark: Rogue (A Jack Lark Short Story)

By Paul Fraser Collard
Authors:
Paul Fraser Collard
Rogue by Paul Fraser Collard recounts the early life of roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley'- who will one day become The Scarlet Thief. This series is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'An appealing and formidable hero' - Sunday ExpressAs pot boy at his mother's infamous London gin palace, Jack Lark is no stranger to trouble. Between dog fights and street scuffles, if he's not being set upon, he's starting a brawl himself. But when an unlikely ally draws him from the dark alleys of the East End into the bright lights of a masked ball, he gets a glimpse of another life. That life, once seen, is impossible to forget.Jack will do anything to outwit, outsmart and escape the cruelty in his own home. He is determined to get out, but what price will he be forced to pay for his freedom?
  • More
1