Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

Written on Glass

By Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Can anything break the ties that bind? Two families are torn apart by love, secrets and betrayal in the aftermath of the Second World War in Judith Lennox's spellbinding novel Written on Glass. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Lucinda Riley.It is 1946 and the old families of the Temperleys and the Chancellors have been neighbours on the South Coast of England for many years. Now the younger generation has been touched by the Second World War. Reserved, principled and cool-headed Marius Temperley has left the army and is struggling to fit into civilian life. His twenty-one year old sister, Julia, is quick-tempered, proud and passionate and, since her father's recent death, has been running the family business, fiercely independent in her ambitions. Handsome, but emotionally distant Jack Chancellor has been demobbed and has another problem to face. Both he and his younger, more naive and impetuous brother Will, are in love with Julia. Jack doesn't want to lose her, but his sweet, slightly gawky cousin, Topaz, lets slip that their imperious Aunt Carrie has a plan for him: if he leaves Julia, he will inherit Sixfields, the beautiful family farm. As the years go by, the family secrets come out, and it seems that the ties that bind can change relationships for ever... What readers are saying about Written on Glass: 'Beautifully written, poignant and haunting... a book that I have never forgotten''I couldn't put this book down, and I look forward to reading more from this wonderful author''One of the best books I have ever read'
  • More

The Winter House

By Judith Lennox
Authors:
Judith Lennox
Three women must find their way through a world changed by war... Set against a backdrop of London, Paris and the unchanging English countryside, The Winter House by Judith Lennox is a novel of rare warmth and beauty. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore.'A novel of passion and intrigue, this is an enjoyable read populated by believable characters' - Candis For three girls growing up in the Fens in the tumultuous years between the First and Second World Wars, the Winter House was a special place of refuge and friendship. Winter or summer, they would meet at the old wooden house by the waterside to confide all the secrets and heartaches of childhood and adolescence. There was Robin, idealistic and clever, destined for Cambridge; Maia, the most beautiful and ambitious of the three, looking for a rich husband; and quiet Helen, living under the seemingly benevolent tyranny of her widower father, the local vicar. Adulthood separates the three girls, and Robin, abandoning ideas of university, goes to London to work amongst the poor, meeting there her first great love, the handsome but brittle Francis. Maia's ideal marriage to a wealthy man ends in tragedy and Helen, meanwhile, kept in near-imprisonment by her obsessively protective father, has her very sanity threatened. Amid political and social upheaval, these three women must find their way in a world changed for ever. What readers are saying about The Winter House: 'She writes so beautifully and nostalgically... Judith Lennox is truly a great writer''[Judith Lennox's] characters are marvellously drawn, and their lives draw the reader totally into the story''Couldn't put it down'
  • More

The Wicked We Have Done

By Sarah Harian
Authors:
Sarah Harian
With elements of horror, thriller and romance THE WICKED WE HAVE DONE is perfect for readers who enjoyed Suzanne Collins and are looking for the next big thing...Once a sinner, always a sinner... Twenty-two-year-old Evalyn Ibarra had taken the normality of her life for granted, until the moment everything changed. Now, convicted of a horrifying crime, she will be one of the first to experience a new kind of punishment. In the darkness of the Compass Room - an experimental prison - the morality of convicts will be tested, and they will be punished according to their performance. In order to stay alive, Evalyn must relive the events of the fateful day that has brought her here. Consumed by her own struggle, she never expects to make friends amongst her fellow inmates, let alone fall in love. But in this new and terrifying world, such allegiances are dangerous - because no one will escape unharmed.
  • More

The Winds of Folly

By Seth Hunter
Authors:
Seth Hunter
1796: Nathan Peake, captain of the frigate Unicorn is sent with a small squadron into the Adriatic to help bring Venice into an Italian alliance against the French. He establishes a British naval presence, harrying the French corsairs that swarm out of Ancona in Italy. While Nathan confronts the politics of 'intrigue, poison and the stiletto' in Venice, his mission is further complicated by the arrival of Napoleon Bonaparte's aide de camp, Junot. Recognising Nathan as the 'American' who saved Bonaparte's life in Paris, Junot invites him to army headquarters where he unwillingly joins the French in a victorious battle against the Austrians. Meanwhile, in Venice, French troops move into the city and a new revolutionary government takes power. Nathan learns that Bonaparte is negotiating a peace deal with the Austrians - Britain's only remaining ally. Worse, the Spanish are about to ally with the French. Nathan returns to the Unicorn and rejoins Nelson for the decisive Battle of St Vincent against the entire Spanish fleet.
  • More

The Waxman Murders (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 15)

By Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
In 1300, an English privateer named 'The Waxman' was trapped and overrun by two powerful war cogs flying the streamers of the powerful Hanseatic League of North Germany. The ship was carrying a casket containing the 'Carta Mysteriosa', a collection of valuable and detailed maps and sea charts. The rulers of Europe, not to mention their merchant princes, would wade through a sea of blood to obtain them.Three years later Wilhelm Von Paulents, a representative of the Hanseatic League, comes to England. Rumours have it that he owns the sea charts and Sir Hugh Corbett is sent to negotiate with Von Paulents. But the German visitors fall ill of some mysterious ailment and then, on the morning of the fourth Sunday in Advent, Corbett is summoned to a scene of bloody mayhem and murder: Von Paulents, his wife, son and clerk have been barbarously assassinated. The 'Carta Mysteriosa' have not been stolen. So why were the murders committed and by whom? Corbett investigates and, once again, he enters the world of shadows to confront the Seed of Cain.
  • More
  • Whispers of the Dead

    By Peter Tremayne
    Authors:
    Peter Tremayne
    WHISPERS OF THE DEAD is a sumptuously rich feast of fifteeen short mystery tales, featuring the brilliant and beguiling Sister Fidelma, the seventh-century sleuth of the Celtic Church.This collection contains an astonishing range of crimes and misdemeanours and seamlessly blends historical detail, character and story into mysteries that will confound and surprise.
    • More

    When the Eagle Hunts

    By Simon Scarrow
    Authors:
    Simon Scarrow
    Simon Scarrow's brilliant adventure novels about the Roman army appear with stunning new covers.After a series of bloody battles, Camulodunum (modern-day Colchester) has fallen to the invading Roman army. The Emperor has returned to Rome, leaving the fearless Centurion Macro and his young Optio, Cato, to rest and regroup, along with the rest of the Second Legion. As their leader General Plautius plans the next phase of their campaign, word arrives that the ship carrying his family to join him was wrecked in a storm off the south coast. His wife and children have fallen into the hands of a dark sect of Druids, who now demand the return of those of their brotherhood taken prisoner by the Romans. Unless their demands are met within one month, Plautius's family will be burned alive. Will Cato and Macro discover where the Druids are hiding their hostages? And can they find some way to rescue them before time runs out?
    • More

    When the Pedlar Called

    By Harry Bowling
    Authors:
    Harry Bowling
    • More

    Willow Girls

    By Pamela Evans
    Authors:
    Pamela Evans
    Tilly and her daughter Nina have managed the Willow pub throughout the war. But when the war is over they find themselves faced with new problems, not least of which is Baz Paxton, whose ambitions extend beyond the pub. Nina falls for his charms, but there's heartbreak ahead when she discovers she is pregnant with Baz's child...
    • More

    Whistledown Woman

    By Josephine Cox
    Authors:
    Josephine Cox
    On a moonlit night in 1898, Kathleen Wyman lies in labour at Bessington Hall, her husband Edward sure that she has been unfaithful to him. In his blind jealous rage he later gives away the baby to gypsy Rona Parrish, summoned to help with the delivery. Kathleen, frenzied with grief, is soon after locked away in an asylum.Rejected by her father, the little girl begins her new life with only a valuable brooch pinned to her shawl as a clue to her true origins. Named after Rona's own mother, the lovely raven-haired Starlena grows up in ignorance of her true parentage and vast inheritance, believing her birthplace to be the beautiful Whistledown Valley. And Rona, always afraid, stays watchful over the years for any sign that someone might track Starlena down - someone who wishes her harm...
    • More
    1