Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books
  • The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1)

    By Jen Williams
    Authors:
    Jen Williams
    Jen Williams, acclaimed author of The Copper Cat trilogy, featuring THE COPPER PROMISE, THE IRON GHOST and THE SILVER TIDE, returns with the first in a blistering new trilogy. 'Williams excels at eldritch world-building' - GuardianThe great city of Ebora once glittered with gold. Now its streets are stalked by wolves. Tormalin the Oathless has no taste for sitting around waiting to die while the realm of his storied ancestors falls to pieces - talk about a guilt trip. Better to be amongst the living, where there are taverns full of women and wine.When eccentric explorer, Lady Vincenza 'Vintage' de Grazon, offers him employment, he sees an easy way out. Even when they are joined by a fugitive witch with a tendency to set things on fire, the prospect of facing down monsters and retrieving ancient artefacts is preferable to the abomination he left behind.But not everyone is willing to let the Eboran empire collapse, and the adventurers are quickly drawn into a tangled conspiracy of magic and war. For the Jure'lia are coming, and the Ninth Rain must fall...
    • More

    Nymphs

    By Sari Luhtanen, Miikko Oikkonen
    Authors:
    Sari Luhtanen, Miikko Oikkonen
    Sexy, dark and exciting, NYMPHS is the novel of the smash-hit international TV series. Perfect for fans of THE VAMPIRE DIARIES and THE ORIGINALS. Meet the nymphs: living among us, they're forever young, dangerously seductive - and ever so deadly...A young man is found dead after a college party in a small town. His body bears the marks of a brutal attack, but police are mystified as to the actual cause of death. Afterwards, student Didi Tiensuu is approached by two mysterious women. Beautiful and other-worldly, they have come to warn her she is in danger. And to live, she must for ever leave her old life behind.There are evil forces at work that mere mortals can never comprehend. And Didi is about to discover her past is a lie. The night of reckoning is coming and the choice is hers. Reject her fate. Or accept her destiny and embrace her power...
    • More

    Night of the Damned

    By Stephen Bywater
    Authors:
    Stephen Bywater
    When darkness falls the nightmare begins . . .It is 1935 and a rubber plantation deep in the Amazon jungle is losing its labourers one by one. Company agent Miller arrives to investigate the mounting number of those disappearing as well as the brutal killing of a fellow agent.Sightings of a corpselike girl and a man who bears a striking resemblance to the dead agent soon have Miller on edge. And when night falls, and the humid air fills with the stench of rotting flesh, he becomes convinced he's found the nearest thing to hell.They roam through the darkness, hide in the shadows and shun the daylight. But what are these deathly-looking figures?As the sun sets over the plantation, only a brave man dares to sleep...
    • More

    Nymphs: Darkness Falls (Part 2)

    By Sari Luhtanen, Miikko Oikkonen
    Authors:
    Sari Luhtanen, Miikko Oikkonen
    The SECOND of two exclusive part-serialisations of NYMPHS. Sexy, dark and exciting, NYMPHS is the novel of the smash-hit international TV series. Perfect for fans of THE VAMPIRE DIARIES and THE ORIGINALS. Meet the nymphs: living among us, they're forever young, dangerously seductive - and ever so deadly...A young man is found dead after a college party in a small town. His body bears the marks of a brutal attack, but police are mystified as to the actual cause of death. Afterwards, student Didi Tiensuu is approached by two mysterious women. Beautiful and other-worldly, they have come to warn her she is in danger. And to live, she must for ever leave her old life behind.There are evil forces at work that mere mortals can never comprehend. And Didi is about to discover her past is a lie. The night of reckoning is coming and the choice is hers. Reject her fate. Or accept her destiny and embrace her power...
    • More

    Nymphs: Full Moon Rising (Part 1)

    By Sari Luhtanen, Miikko Oikkonen
    Authors:
    Sari Luhtanen, Miikko Oikkonen
    The FIRST of two exclusive part-serialisations of NYMPHS. Sexy, dark and exciting, NYMPHS is the novel of the smash-hit international TV series. Perfect for fans of THE VAMPIRE DIARIES and THE ORIGINALS. Meet the nymphs: living among us, they're forever young, dangerously seductive - and ever so deadly...A young man is found dead after a college party in a small town. His body bears the marks of a brutal attack, but police are mystified as to the actual cause of death. Afterwards, student Didi Tiensuu is approached by two mysterious women. Beautiful and other-worldly, they have come to warn her she is in danger. And to live, she must for ever leave her old life behind.There are evil forces at work that mere mortals can never comprehend. And Didi is about to discover her past is a lie. The night of reckoning is coming and the choice is hers. Reject her fate. Or accept her destiny and embrace her power...
    • More

    The Next Queen of Heaven

    By Gregory Maguire
    Authors:
    Gregory Maguire
    Strange events are occurring in the small town of Thebes, USA.Knocked out by a falling statue of the Virgin Mary, Mrs Leontina Scales wakes up not quite the woman she was before. What on earth are her sons and her foul-mouthed daughter Tabitha supposed to do with a mad mother who speaks in tongues?Meanwhile, choir director Jeremy Carr needs a rehearsal venue for his gay singing group. Could the Sisters of the Sorrowful Mysteries be his salvation? As the year draws to a close, the Radical Radiants battle the Catholics, a Christmas pageant goes horribly awry, and a child is born...Frantic, funny and farcical, The Next Queen of Heaven is a modern masterpiece from the incredible imagination of Gregory Maguire.
    • More

    Never the Bride

    By Paul Magrs
    Authors:
    Paul Magrs
    Brenda has had a long and eventful life, and she has come to Whitby to run a B&B and enjoy some peace and quiet. She and her best friend Effie like nothing better than going out for tea and keeping their eyes open for mysterious goings on in town. And what with satanic beauty salons, roving psychic investigators and the frankly terrifying owner of the Christmas Hotel there's plenty to watch. But the oddest thing in Whitby may well be Brenda herself. With her terrible scars, her strange lack of a surname and the fact that she takes two different shoe sizes, Brenda should know that people as, well, unique as she is just aren't destined for a quiet life.
    • More

    No Sanctuary

    By Richard Laymon
    Authors:
    Richard Laymon
    Rick would do anything for his girlfriend Bert. He'd even spend his vacation in the wilderness, walking the trails around Fern Lake. After what happened last time, it's the one place in the world he'd prefer not to go. But Bert is a woman with a passion for the outdoors - and a passion for other things too. Rick would follow her to hell and back - which is what he's about to do. Gillian is off on vacation too, only her idea of a holiday is a little weird. She likes breaking into people's homes while they are away and living there. Pity that this time she chances on the home of a serial-killer. The kind of guy who likes to take his female victims out into the wilderness for his fun. Rick and Bert are not the only ones heading to Fern Lake...
    • More

    Night in the Lonesome October

    By Richard Laymon
    Authors:
    Richard Laymon
    'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King Ed Logan is 20 years old and a sophomore at Willmington University. He's also been dumped by his girlfriend. Lonesome and broken-hearted, he goes for a late-night walk. He doesn't know where he's headed. He doesn't know what he's going to do when he gets there. And he has absolutely no idea of the strange people he is about to meet. Like Casey, the athletic blonde who roams the streets as if she's on a mission. And then there's Randy, who's definitely on a mission - to make Ed's life hell. And then there's the others. Not exactly people. And very definitely not friendly. If Ed's not careful, he's not going to make it home at all...
    • More

    Night Show

    By Richard Laymon
    Authors:
    Richard Laymon
    'If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat' Stephen King. When he was in high school Tony Johnson locked school beauty Linda Allison in a haunted house for the night. Now he has moved to Hollywood, determined to break into horror movies, and he's forgotten all about her. But Linda is a girl with vengeance in her heart - and she certainly hasn't forgotten him...
    • More
    1