Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

Jinnie

By Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
No.1 bestselling writer Josephine Cox is 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' (Manchester Evening News). Jinnie is a compelling story of love and belonging, perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Rosie Goodwin.Ten years ago, Louise Hunter's life was torn apart by tragedy. Her husband, Ben, killed himself; her brother-in-law, Jacob, was murdered; and her sister, Susan, abandoned her new-born daughter, revealing the baby is Ben's child. Louise remains haunted by guilt over the one night she spent with Ben's friend Eric, and refuses to return Eric's love. But after adopting Jinnie, she finds new happiness - until Susan decides she wants Jinnie back.Meanwhile, Adam and Hannah, whose mother was killed with Jacob, are on the run. What Adam witnessed on that dreadful night has put them all in danger, but their beloved grandmother knows that one day they must return to the place where it all began . . .
  • More

Just Look at Me Now

By Nell Dixon
Authors:
Nell Dixon
Tia's top beauty tip: apply heavy make-up carefully to prevent any cracks from showing... Life is fabulous for Tia Carpenter. She has it all, money, looks, a great job as the beauty expert at stylish Platinum magazine and, at last, the attention of her unrequited high school love, Josh Banks. But Tia has a secret - back at school she was Barbara Baker, overweight, crooked teeth, frizzy hair and no fashion sense. Cosmetic dentistry, losing seven stones in weight and a complete makeover later, Tia has successfully erased her past life as Big Barb, tub of lard, until the day Juliet Gold, the bane of her teenage existence, arrives to work at the magazine. Juliet always got everything she ever wanted, and now she wants both Tia's job and Josh. Tia will have to use every makeover trick she's ever learned to stop Juliet from uncovering her past and stealing her man.
  • More

Just Say Yes

By Phillipa Ashley
Authors:
Phillipa Ashley
Lucy Gibson needs to get away. When her good-looking, popular boyfriend Nick Laurentis, winner of reality TV show Hot Shots, proposes to her on air she's stunned - into silence. Every girl loves a romantic gesture, but she's just not ready for that kind of commitment. With the press hounding her as the one who callously broke Nick's heart, Lucy escapes her London flat to seek refuge in an isolated Cornwall cottage. But little does she realise that life down there will be far from uncomplicated...
  • More

The Jagged Window

By Wendy Robertson
Authors:
Wendy Robertson
Edward Maichin is the golden boy of the Chapels. But at home, Edward's hidden darkness runs riot: his Irish Catholic mother, has no control over him since his father, Ellis, fled to America; his two brothers, Rhys and Caspar, live in fear of him. Only Theo, his imaginative younger sister, dares defy him. A suspicious death halts Edward's rise, forcing the family out of the valley, to the mines of the North-East, where Theo's talent for writing begins to match her brother's skills in social climbing. But when Theo takes a position as companion to a strange old woman, she discovers a family even more complex and vulnerable than her own...
  • More

Just By Chance

By Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
In a run-down cottage, deep in woodland on the outskirts of Leicestershire, sixteen-year-old Tilda Penny lives in fear of her drunken father's violent attacks.. Born with a withered arm, Tilda is branded an outcast in the community and her only comfort is drawn from her friendship with seven-year-old Eustace Sprocket. Suffering from his aunt's intolerable abuse, he too is no stranger to rejection. Entering her cottage one evening, Tilda stumbles apon a young man about to steal her life savings. But instead of throwing Ben McCraven out into the cold night air, she takes pity on him and offers him shelter for the night. Tilda's one simple act of kindness is to have far-reaching consequences...
  • More

Josie

By Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
For Josie Rawlings, caring for her cantankerous old grandmother and running her vegetable stall in Leicester's market square is hard work. But then things get a whole lot worse when Josie's inheritance is stolen and her granddmother's death brings eviction from the only home she's ever known.Determined to rise above these bitter blows, Josie struggles to support herself, and, desperate for affection, stumbles into an ill-fated love affair. But there are those around who do recognise Josie's worth, and, although she is unaware of it, one man in particular is keeping a close eye on her progress...
  • More

Jessica's Girl

By Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Despite a deathbed warning from her beloved mother, Phoebe Mulligan has no choice but to throw herself on the mercy of her uncle, Edward. Wrenched from all she holds dear, the tragic young girl is delivered to Blackburn town, where she must live in a household terrorised by the cold, forbidding presence of her mother's brother. Phoebe cannot understand why she is treated so harshly by Edward Dickens. She is not to know the guilty secret that lies in his past, a secret that casts a sinister shadow over his feelings for his lovely niece . . .
  • More
1