Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

The Woman Who Left

By Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
A classic novel, turbulent and emotional, from Sunday Times bestselling writer Josephine Cox, 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' Manchester Evening News. The Woman Who Left is perfect for fans of Lesley Pearse and Rosie Goodwin, and is followed by the marvellous bestselling novel Jinnie. Louise and Ben Hunter's loving marriage is marred only by their unfulfilled longing for a child. Living and working with Ben's father, Ronnie, they are quietly contented. But when Ronnie dies, their whole world changes. Ben's lazy brother, Jacob, returns, convinced he stands to inherit Ronnie's small fortune. And he means to have his brother's wife; though just as she did years before, Louise warns him off. Jacob, however, is not so easily dismissed. When he realises Ben will inherit everything, Jacob is beside himself with rage, and commits a terrible deed, one that threatens to destroy everything his brother and Louise hold dear...
  • More

Wartime Girls

By Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Set in Liverpool during the Depression and the Blitz of the Second World War, Anne Baker's dramatic saga brings a close-knit community vividly to life.It is the day of the Grand National, 1933, when Susie Ingram's fiance, Danny, is killed in a tragic accident. In a cruel twist of Fate, Susie discovers she is carrying Danny's child and, shunned by his parents, she turns to her mother for support. Louise Ingram, widowed during the First World War, knows how hard it is to bring up a family alone, but with the help of her eldest daughter, Martha, who lives next door, they manage to survive. When little Rosie is born there is no doubt that she is Danny's daughter, but it is destined to take many more years of heartache before the two families are united again...
  • More

Where Memories Are Made

By Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
Jolly's campers are guaranteed to have a holiday to remember, but that's not always easy to achieve thanks to the array of colourful characters who pour through Jolly's gates. Jackie Sims works in the general office and her ambition is one day to be in charge. But she never wanted her lucky break to come about through such tragic circumstances... While Drina Jolly goes away to help her family come to terms with their grief, she puts her faith in Jackie to keep the business running smoothly and Jackie is determined she will do whatever it takes not to let her down.Despite her resilience and resourcefulness, Jackie can't run the camp on her own and the abrupt, unapproachable temporary camp manager, Harold Rose, seems unwilling to help her. But she has an ally in fun-loving, red-headed receptionist Ginger Williams whose support she will need to help her through the turmoil, chaos and heartbreak that is about to come her way.Following on from The Time of our Lives, Lynda Page's nostalgic saga of fun, frolics and mayhem at a seaside holiday camp is sure to delight anyone who has ever enjoyed an English holiday beside the sea.
  • More

Whispers in the Town

By Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
For West London girls Sal and Ann Storey, 1957 should have been one of the happiest years of their lives. Instead, the sisters' world is turned upside down when two family tragedies strike in quick succession. Left to run the family's sweetshop with their grandmother, Sal discovers she has a flair for business - but it doesn't make up for everything she and Ann have lost. When Sal meets handsome taxi driver Bob Beck and falls deeply in love, it seems that her luck is changing. Bob becomes her one constant as she struggles to keep the business afloat, and as Ann finally uncovers the guilty secret she's been carrying for so long; a secret which could have explosive consequences for the sisters. The last thing Sal needs is for Bob's scheming ex-fiancee Kate to reappear in his life - especially as Kate is preparing to make a stunning revelation; one which could destroy their relationship for good...
  • More

The Woman Who Drew Buildings

By Wendy Robertson
Authors:
Wendy Robertson
A powerful portrayal of the unbreakable bond between a mother and her son.As Adam Matheve walks towards his mother's house, to see her for the first time in two years, he has just one hope - to forge the bond with her for which he's always yearned. Enigmatic Marie Matheve has spent her life indulging her passion for drawing buildings. Now, after a dangerous fall, she lies unconscious, her life slipping away. All Adam can do is wait in desperate hope for her recovery. But as time passes Adam begins to unravel the mystery of his mother's past and discovers how little he really knows about the woman who raised him.
  • More

The Woman Who Drew Buildings

By Wendy Robertson
Authors:
Wendy Robertson
A powerful portrayal of the unbreakable bond between a mother and her son.As Adam Matheve walks towards his mother's house, to see her for the first time in two years, he has just one hope - to forge the bond with her for which he's always yearned. Enigmatic Marie Matheve has spent her life indulging her passion for drawing buildings, often at the cost of her relationship with her son. Now, after a dangerous fall, she lies unconscious, her life slipping away. All Adam can do is wait in desperate hope for her recovery. But as time passes Adam begins to unravel the mystery of his mother's past and discovers how little he really knows about the woman who raised him. For all his life Marie has kept a secret from him, a secret that will change his life for ever...
  • More

When Wishes Come True

By Joan Jonker
Authors:
Joan Jonker
Evelyn Wilkinson married Charles Lister-Sinclair just hours before he left for war, unaware that she would never see him again and that she was already carrying his child. When Amelia is born, Charles's parents refuse to accept that she is their grandchild, so, penniless and afraid, Evelyn moves to the backstreets of Liverpool where she dreams of escaping. Meanwhile, as little Milly grows up she discovers that a world of happiness lies on her doorstep.
  • More

When Daylight Comes

By Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
WHEN TOMORROW DAWNS - a heart-warming and compelling saga by Lyn Andrews. Not to be missed by readers of Dilly Court and Donna Douglas.Jessica Brennan is just nineteen years old when her world falls apart. Losing her father at sea was devastating enough, but the death of her mother is almost too much to bear. The grieving has barely begun when Jess learns the family business is in ruins, and there are further blows to come.Suddenly a young woman who has known only comfort and security finds herself alone and friendless. But Jess is a fighter and in her darkest hour she finds the strength she needs to start again. Tragedy, however, is just around the corner...
  • More

A Wing and a Prayer

By Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Lyn Andrews's engaging saga of Liverpool life in the twentieth century, A WING AND A PRAYER, is the perfect read if you love the novels of Kate Thompson and Katie Flynn.For Mary Callaghan marriage has brought heartaches and disappointment. But with it have come joys, the greatest of which are her daughters, Daisy and Nell. Mary longs for them to have the one thing denied to her - a husband who will offer them kindness, security and love. But when Daisy confesses she's pregnant, the future looks grim, for the father's a rough, pleasure-loving man. As Nell watches her sister sink into bitter poverty, and as the world around her grows more uncertain, with war more likely by the day, risking all for love seems to Nell a foolish game...
  • More

When the Pedlar Called

By Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
  • More

Walking My Baby Back Home

By Joan Jonker
Authors:
Joan Jonker
Ever since Dot Baker lost her husband in the war she's tried to keep his memory alive. But when John Kershaw turns up on her doorstep, she can't blame her kids, Katy and Colin, for wanting another man about the house. John's the boss of a local factory, and a kind and caring man who can't seem to do enough for the Bakers and their friends and neighbours. He defends Mary Campbell when she is attacked by her violent husband; he encourages Colin and Katy in all that they do; and he puts a smile on Dot's face that's been missing since her husband's death. Everyone in the street can see they're meant to be together, but the one person who's blind to John's charm is Dot herself. What's it going to take to make her realise where her happiness lies...?
  • More

Willow Girls

By Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Tilly and her daughter Nina have managed the Willow pub throughout the war. But when the war is over they find themselves faced with new problems, not least of which is Baz Paxton, whose ambitions extend beyond the pub. Nina falls for his charms, but there's heartbreak ahead when she discovers she is pregnant with Baz's child...
  • More

When One Door Closes

By Joan Jonker
Authors:
Joan Jonker
It's May 1941 and Liverpool is taking a hammering from the German bombers. For young Mary Bradshaw and her widowed mother life is full of rationing, blackouts and the wail of the air-raid siren. Despite the gloom, Mary's heart is light as she counts her blessings - she's got her loving mother and Bob, her soldier boyfriend whom she adores and hopes to marry soon. During the worst air raid Liverpool has ever suffered, fate deals Mary the first of many cruel blows it has in store for her. She is devastated as her whole world collapses. But Mary doesn't have to face the knocks alone. Her best friend Eileen has a heart and a sense of humour as big as her eighteen stone body - heaven help anyone who hurts her mate! Harry is the boy from up the road who's loved Mary since they were kids and he'll not desert her now. Soon Mary finds that when one door closes, another one really does open.
  • More

Whistledown Woman

By Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
On a moonlit night in 1898, Kathleen Wyman lies in labour at Bessington Hall, her husband Edward sure that she has been unfaithful to him. In his blind jealous rage he later gives away the baby to gypsy Rona Parrish, summoned to help with the delivery. Kathleen, frenzied with grief, is soon after locked away in an asylum.Rejected by her father, the little girl begins her new life with only a valuable brooch pinned to her shawl as a clue to her true origins. Named after Rona's own mother, the lovely raven-haired Starlena grows up in ignorance of her true parentage and vast inheritance, believing her birthplace to be the beautiful Whistledown Valley. And Rona, always afraid, stays watchful over the years for any sign that someone might track Starlena down - someone who wishes her harm...
  • More
1