Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books & e-books from Headline Publishing
Our books

The Last Palace

By Norman Eisen
Authors:
Norman Eisen
For any reader of Edmund de Waal's THE HARE WITH THE AMBER EYES or Erik Larson's IN THE GARDENS OF BEASTS, Norman L Eisen's THE LAST PALACE tells the story of the tumultuous past 100 years in Europe as seen from the most beautiful house in Prague, the Petschek Villa.The Petschek Villa was Norman L Eisen's home during his tenure as US ambassador. In his remarkable book, he details the colourful lives of five of the palace's residents: - the optimistic Jewish financial baron who built the Petschek Villa after World War I as a statement of his faith in Europe, and who died of a broken heart after Europe brutally rejected him, his house, and his hopes - the cultured, complex German general who occupied the palace during World War II, ultimately saving the house and Prague itself from destruction - the American ambassador and Holocaust hero who became obsessed with the property after the war, acquiring it for the US, though neglecting to fight the Communist takeover of Czechoslovakia in the process- his successor 40 years later, an iconic former child star who used her showbiz wiles, with the house as her stage, to help the Velvet Revolution succeed in restoring Czechoslovak democracy- and the author, Norman L Eisen, the son of a Czech Auschwitz survivor, who moved into the palace once seized by the Nazis and found himself battling the lingering ghosts of European intolerance The Last Palace weaves a tapestry that is as vast and as intricate as any that hang in the palace itself. It is also an exploration of the wider themes in international history that have triggered three global wars (two hot and one cold), and threatens the peace of our world today.
  • More

Live Well to 101

By Dawn Harper
Authors:
Dawn Harper
In Live Well to 101, Dr Dawn Harper, from Channel 4's Embarrassing Bodies, urges you to start investing in your health now to improve your chances of enjoying your latter years to the full. This book is for anyone who enjoyed and learnt from The Longevity Book by Cameron Diaz or The Optimum Nutrition Bible by Patrick Holford. We are living longer than ever before. So it's more important than ever that we take good care of our bodies and our health - and enjoy those extra years by keeping fit and well for as long as possible. Leading media medic Dr Dawn Harper has gathered together scientific research, her eight years' experience on Channel 4's Embarrassing Bodies and over twenty-one years as a GP for the NHS and on Harley Street to give the latest advice on the diet, exercise habits and lifestyle changes which have been clinically proven to improve longevity and quality of life.* If longevity is pre-programmed in your genes, is there anything you can do to change it?* Do people who have more sex live longer?* Does where you live make a difference?* What really makes up a healthy diet?* Is it worth paying for private healthcare or expensive medical scans?* What secrets can we learn from people who are living well to an older age?* Will getting a dog or cat add years to your life?In this fascinating, life-changing book, Dr Dawn gives you a variety of simple tips to help give yourself the best chance to live a long and happy life. There are steps that we can all take, starting now, no matter what age we are each are.
  • More

Lagom

By Lola A Åkerström
Authors:
Lola A Åkerström
Perfect for fans of The Little Book of Hygge and Norwegian Wood, find the balance in life that is just right for you. Let Lola A. Åkerström, Editor-in-chief of Slow Travel Stockholm, be your companion to all things lagom.As the Swedish proverb goes, 'Lagom är bäst' (The right amount is best). Lagom sums up the Swedish psyche and is the reason why Sweden is one of the happiest countries in the world with a healthy work-life balance and high standards of living.Lagom is a way of living that promotes harmony. It celebrates fairness, moderation and being satisfied with and taking proper care of what you've got, including your well-being, relationships, and possessions. It's not about having too little or too much but about fully inviting contentment into our lives through making optimal decisions. Who better than Lola A. Åkerström to be your lagom guide? Sweden-based Lola is an award-winning writer, photographer , and editor-in-chief of Slow Travel Stockholm and she offers us a unique vantage point when it comes to adopting elements of a lagom lifestyle.Full of insights and beautiful photographs, taken by Lola herself, this authentic book will help you make small, simple changes to your every day life - whether that's your diet, lifestyle, money, work or your home - so you can have a more balanced way of living filled with contentment.
  • More

Life's Too Short

By Grace Saunders
Authors:
Grace Saunders
Bills, boyfriends, Bikram yoga... nobody said life was easy. But you can make it a whole lot less stressful with this ingenious guide to modern life. In LIFE'S TOO SHORT, Grace Saunders shares her shortcuts to success at work, at home and at play, along with terrific tips from those in the know. Whether you're a single lady, a committed career woman or a mega-busy mum, this book should be your bible.Need a quick fix for...How to plan a wedding without becoming BridezillaHow to find jeans that don't give you a massive muffin-topHow to move house without having a nervous breakdownHow to ease that agonising shoe spending guilt?Sit back and relax. LIFE'S TOO SHORT is just what you've been looking for.
  • More

Long Lost Family

By Humphrey Price
Authors:
Humphrey Price
Hosted by Davina McCall and Nicky Campbell, Long Lost Family has been an enormous ratings success for ITV1 during the Spring of 2011, winning huge audiences of between 4.5 and 5 million during its 6-part run in April and May 2011. The programme was instantly re-commissioned, and Series 2 is due to be broadcast in April 2012. The show helps relatives - some of whom have been searching in vain for many years - to find the family members they are desperately seeking. It explores the background and context of each family's estrangement and reveals the detective work and complex and emotional process of finding each lost relative before they are reunited. It is tear-jerking stuff. This brilliant new book takes the very best emotional stories from the show and expands on them to tell these wonderfully warm and poignant tales in all their heartstring-tugging glory. It also contains a section of hints and tips for how to go about starting a search for a long lost family member. The perfect gift for Mother's Day.
  • More

Let Me Finish

By Udo Grashoff
Authors:
Udo Grashoff
Suicide has been part of human life since the dawn of time, but has never been so widely and openly discussed as it is today. With the ongoing debate about the rights of the terminally ill to end their own lives, the phenomenon of Internet sites dedicated to advice on how to end your life, and the craze for mass suicides among the Japanese, suicide is rarely out of the news in the 21st century.Udo Grashoff has discovered 45 suicide notes that help us to better understand why despairing people commit the ultimate taboo. In this fascinating collection those reasons are remarkably universal, from unrequited love, to loss of a spouse, to simple frustration with a domestic situation. Despite the universality of its subject matter, this book is unique.
  • More
1