We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Search Results for: gordon

Showing 7-12 of 21 results

Mistakes We Make

Mistakes We Make

Sometimes you have to dig deep to discover what you really need.

Marketing events manager Molly Keir doesn’t realise how much she still cares for her ex until she meets him with another woman. Her answer is to seize the chance of a glittering job in London – even though this will mean leaving behind her aging father and pregnant best friend Lexie Gordon.

Adam Blair is in the wrong job. Pressured by his father to join the family law firm, the stress of work helped break his marriage. Now Molly is moving to London, and he knows he needs to move on – but events soon overtake his best intentions.

A year ago, Caitlyn Murray quit her well-paid job to avoid becoming a whistleblower. Now she is stuck at home with her overworked mother and four needy step-siblings. Tempted by the offer of a good wage, she returns to her old firm – where her nightmare comes back to haunt her.

Molly and Adam seem to have gone too far to recover the love they once had, and when Caitlyn finds the courage to speak out, she brings all their worlds tumbling down.
How to Be a Grown-Up

How to Be a Grown-Up

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Caitlin Moran, a comforting, witty, supportive handbook for real twenty-something women who want to discover how they can reach the end of the ‘fun’ decade knowing exactly who they are.

Have you ever felt lost, anxious, panicky about adulthood?

Have you ever spent a hungover Sunday crying into a bowl of cereal?

Have you ever scrolled through Instagram and felt nothing but green-eyed jealousy and evil thoughts?

Award-winning journalist, Grazia agony aunt and real-life big sister to five smart, stylish, stunning twenty-something young women, Daisy Buchanan has been there, done that and got the vajazzle.

In How to be a Grown-Up, she dispenses all the emotional and practical advice you need to negotiate a difficult decade. Covering everything from how to become more successful and confident at work, how to feel pride in yourself without needing validation from others, how to turn rivals into mentors, and how to *really* enjoy spending time on your own, this is a warm, kind, funny voice in the dark saying “Honestly don’t worry, you’re doing your best and you’re amazing!”
The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Dolly Alderton, The Sisterhood is an honest and hilarious book which celebrates the ways in which women connect with each other.

‘My five sisters are the only women I would ever kill for. And they are the only women I have ever wanted to kill.’

Imagine living between the pages of Pride And Prejudice, in the Bennett household. Now, imagine how the Bennett girls as they’d be in the 21st century – looking like the Kardashian sisters, but behaving like the Simpsons. This is the house Daisy Buchanan grew up in,

Daisy’s memoir The Sisterhood explores what it’s like to live as a modern woman by examining some examples close to home – her adored and infuriating sisters. There’s Beth, the rebellious contrarian; Grace, the overachiever with a dark sense of humour; Livvy, the tough girl who secretly cries during adverts; Maddy, essentially Descartes with a beehive; and Dotty, the joker obsessed with RuPaul’s Drag Race and bears.

In this tender, funny and unflinchingly honest account Daisy examines her relationship with her sisters and what it’s made up of – friendship, insecurity jokes, jealousy and above all, love – while celebrating the ways in which women connect with each other and finding the ways in which we’re all sisters under the skin.
Vegetarian Indian Cooking: Prashad

Vegetarian Indian Cooking: Prashad

Previously published as PRASHAD COOKBOOK: INDIAN VEGETARIAN COOKING. Now with an updated cover.

100 delicious vegetarian Indian recipes from Gordon Ramsay’s Best Restaurant runner-up Prashad.

The Patels and Prashad, their small Indian restaurant in Bradford, were the surprise stars of Ramsay’s Best Restaurant TV show in autumn 2010. Everyone who saw them fell in love with this inspirational family dedicated to serving delicious, original vegetarian food.

At the heart of the family is Kaushy, who learned to cook as a child growing up on her grandmother’s farm in northern India. On moving to northern England in the 1960s, she brought her passion for fabulous flavours with her and has been perfecting and creating dishes ever since. Never happier than when feeding people, Kaushy took her son Bobby at his word when he suggested that she should share her cooking with the world – a launderette was converted first in to a deli and then a restaurant, and Prashad was born.

Now Kaushy shares her cooking secrets – you’ll find more than 100 recipes, from simple snacks to sumptuous family dinners, to help you recreate the authentic Prashad experience at home. Whether it’s cinnamon-spice chickpea curry, green banana satay, spicy sweetcorn or chaat – the king of street-side India – there’s plenty here for everyone to savour and share.
The Last Kiss Goodbye

The Last Kiss Goodbye

Everyone remembers their first kiss. But what about the last?

The Last Kiss Goodbye is a spellbinding tale of love, loss and long-buried secrets from the author of the bestselling The Pool House, Tasmina Perry. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’ The Last Letter from Your Lover.

‘Romance, adventure, mystery… (a) beautifully written and engaging tale’ – Heat

1961. Journalist Rosamund Bailey is ready to change the world. When she meets explorer and man-about-town Dominic Blake, she realises she has found the love of her life. Just as happiness is in their grasp, the worst happens, and their future is snatched away.

2014. Deep in the vaults of a museum, archivist Abby Gordon stumbles upon a breathtaking find. A faded photograph of a man saying goodbye to the woman he loves. Looking for a way to escape her own heartache, Abby becomes obsessed with the story, little realising that behind the image frozen in time lies a secret altogether more extraordinary.

What readers are saying about The Last Kiss Goodbye:

‘I loved this story, so much. It was engaging and beautiful, and I couldn’t put it down

‘A novel full of mystery, intrigue and suspense on one hand, and romance, passion, despair and hope on the other’

‘Sometimes a book will come along and completely sweep you away; it will suck you up into its world and there is no turning back. Tasmina Perry’s The Last Kiss Goodbye was such a book’
The Miner's Lass

The Miner's Lass

‘Real sagas with female characters right at the heart’ Jane Garvey, Woman’s Hour
‘In the world of historical saga writers, there’s a brand new voice’ My Weekly

If you love Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin, you’ll LOVE Glenda Young’s ‘amazing novels!’ (ITV’s This Morning presenter Sharon Marshall)

‘A super saga with a sparky heroine’ People’s Friend

What readers are saying about Glenda’s heartwrenching sagas:

‘Better than a Catherine Cookson’ 5* reader review

‘Definitely an author not to be missed when it comes to family sagas’ The Book Magnet

‘Superb historical fiction that bring the era alive. Her books are unbeatable and unputdownable’ Ginger Book Geek

‘The perfectly imperfect, human nature of Glenda Young’s characters are what keeps her readership hooked’ Clyde’s Corner

‘Gritty, compelling and full of heart . . . an exceptional saga’ Bookish Jottings


………………………………………………………………………………

‘You’re a Dinsdale lass, Ruby. Nothing and no one keeps us lot down.’

A life of poverty in a cramped pit cottage is all that seventeen-year-old Ruby Dinsdale has known. Even with her father and younger brother working at the coal mine, money is tight. Her mother Mary is skilled at stretching what little they have, but the small contribution Ruby makes from her job at the local pub makes all the difference. So when Ruby is sacked, and Mary becomes pregnant again, the family’s challenges are greater than ever.

When charming miner Gordon begins to court Ruby it seems as though happiness is on the horizon, until she uncovers a deeper betrayal than she could ever have imagined.

But although the Dinsdales are materially poor, they are rich in love, friendship and determination – all qualities that they will draw on to get them through whatever lies ahead.

………………………………………………………………………………

Look out for all of Glenda’s compelling sagas – Belle of the Back Streets, The Tuppenny Child, Pearl of Pit Lane, The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon, The Paper Mill Girl and The Miner’s Lass – out now!

Plus, Glenda has launched a brand-new cosy-crime mystery series – don’t miss Murder at the Seaview Hotel – out now!

Praise for Glenda Young:

‘Well researched and well written and I found myself caring about her characters’ Rosie Goodwin

‘Will resonate with saga readers everywhere…a wonderful, uplifting story’ Nancy Revell

‘All the ingredients for a perfect saga’ Emma Hornby

‘Glenda has an exceptionally keen eye for domestic detail which brings this local community to vivid, colourful life’ Jenny Holmes

‘I found it extremely well written, and having always loved sagas, one of the best I’ve read’ Margaret Kaine

Filter by +