We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Search Results for: gordon

Showing 7-12 of 21 results

The Miner's Lass

The Miner's Lass

‘Real sagas with female characters right at the heart’ Jane Garvey, Woman’s Hour
‘In the world of historical saga writers, there’s a brand new voice’ My Weekly

If you love Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin, you’ll LOVE Glenda Young’s ‘amazing novels!’ (ITV’s This Morning presenter Sharon Marshall)

‘A super saga with a sparky heroine’ People’s Friend

What readers are saying about Glenda’s heartwrenching sagas:

‘Better than a Catherine Cookson’ 5* reader review

‘Definitely an author not to be missed when it comes to family sagas’ The Book Magnet

‘Superb historical fiction that bring the era alive. Her books are unbeatable and unputdownable’ Ginger Book Geek

‘The perfectly imperfect, human nature of Glenda Young’s characters are what keeps her readership hooked’ Clyde’s Corner

‘Gritty, compelling and full of heart . . . an exceptional saga’ Bookish Jottings


………………………………………………………………………………

‘You’re a Dinsdale lass, Ruby. Nothing and no one keeps us lot down.’

A life of poverty in a cramped pit cottage is all that seventeen-year-old Ruby Dinsdale has known. Even with her father and younger brother working at the coal mine, money is tight. Her mother Mary is skilled at stretching what little they have, but the small contribution Ruby makes from her job at the local pub makes all the difference. So when Ruby is sacked, and Mary becomes pregnant again, the family’s challenges are greater than ever.

When charming miner Gordon begins to court Ruby it seems as though happiness is on the horizon, until she uncovers a deeper betrayal than she could ever have imagined.

But although the Dinsdales are materially poor, they are rich in love, friendship and determination – all qualities that they will draw on to get them through whatever lies ahead.

………………………………………………………………………………

Look out for all of Glenda’s compelling sagas – Belle of the Back Streets, The Tuppenny Child, Pearl of Pit Lane, The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon, The Paper Mill Girl and The Miner’s Lass – out now!

Plus, Glenda has launched a brand-new cosy-crime mystery series – don’t miss Murder at the Seaview Hotel – out now!

Praise for Glenda Young:

‘Well researched and well written and I found myself caring about her characters’ Rosie Goodwin

‘Will resonate with saga readers everywhere…a wonderful, uplifting story’ Nancy Revell

‘All the ingredients for a perfect saga’ Emma Hornby

‘Glenda has an exceptionally keen eye for domestic detail which brings this local community to vivid, colourful life’ Jenny Holmes

‘I found it extremely well written, and having always loved sagas, one of the best I’ve read’ Margaret Kaine

The Paradise Trail

The Paradise Trail

Calcutta 1971. A city in black-out as India declares war on Pakistan. Even so, the backpackers who end up in the flea-pit Lux Hotel are determined to have a good time. That is, until two mysterious deaths amongst them change their lives forever. Thrown together in the city are – Anand, the jazz-loving insomniac hotelier; Gordon, one of the hotel’s dope-smoking guests; the philandering journalist Hugh, covering his first war; Britt, a Californian photographer with a jealous boyfriend; and the enigmatic Freddie Braintree, who interprets life through the lyrics of Bob Dylan and the Incredible String Band. Is it possible that one of them is behind the deaths? And why will it take more than three decades and three continents to find out?
The Revenge of Lady Muck

The Revenge of Lady Muck

Escape to the country with this fabulously funny tale of Lords, Ladies and lessons in love…Can you find a prince without kissing a few frogs? Sensible schoolteacher Sarah Gordon used to think so. But now she’s so over her ex-fiancé, childhood sweetheart Ian, she wishes she’d never been under him. Besides, she’s too busy for love. Until tasty toff, Good Evening Ireland presenter Rupert Glass shows up at the Farmers’ Club barbecue and all of a sudden Sarah’s struggling to keep her cool. And when her sister’s wedding to a local farmer unexpectedly throws them together again, it looks like romance could really blossom. But Sarah’s about to discover it takes more than a four-leaf clover to be lucky in love…
The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Dolly Alderton, The Sisterhood is an honest and hilarious book which celebrates the ways in which women connect with each other.

‘My five sisters are the only women I would ever kill for. And they are the only women I have ever wanted to kill.’

Imagine living between the pages of Pride And Prejudice, in the Bennett household. Now, imagine how the Bennett girls as they’d be in the 21st century – looking like the Kardashian sisters, but behaving like the Simpsons. This is the house Daisy Buchanan grew up in,

Daisy’s memoir The Sisterhood explores what it’s like to live as a modern woman by examining some examples close to home – her adored and infuriating sisters. There’s Beth, the rebellious contrarian; Grace, the overachiever with a dark sense of humour; Livvy, the tough girl who secretly cries during adverts; Maddy, essentially Descartes with a beehive; and Dotty, the joker obsessed with RuPaul’s Drag Race and bears.

In this tender, funny and unflinchingly honest account Daisy examines her relationship with her sisters and what it’s made up of – friendship, insecurity jokes, jealousy and above all, love – while celebrating the ways in which women connect with each other and finding the ways in which we’re all sisters under the skin.
The Wrong Knickers - A Decade of Chaos

The Wrong Knickers - A Decade of Chaos

Bryony Gordon survived her adolescence by dreaming about the life she’d have in her twenties: the perfect job; the lovely flat; the amazing boyfriend. The reality was something of a shock. Her Telegraph column was a diary of her daily screw-ups; she lived in a series of squalid shoe boxes; and her most meaningful relationship of the entire decade was with a Marlboro Light.

Here in the Sunday Times bestselling THE WRONG KNICKERS Bryony busts open the glamorized myth of what it means to be a young (perpetually) single girl about London town, and shares the horrible and hilarious truth. The truth about picking up a colleague at the STI clinic; sinking into debt to fund a varied diet of wine, crisps and vodka; and how it feels when your dream man turns out to be a one night stand who hands you someone else’s knickers in the morning.

Bryony’s wonderfully ridiculous and ultimately redemptive story is essential reading for everyone whose ‘best years’ weren’t quite what they were expecting…
Vegetarian Indian Cooking: Prashad

Vegetarian Indian Cooking: Prashad

Previously published as PRASHAD COOKBOOK: INDIAN VEGETARIAN COOKING. Now with an updated cover.

100 delicious vegetarian Indian recipes from Gordon Ramsay’s Best Restaurant runner-up Prashad.

The Patels and Prashad, their small Indian restaurant in Bradford, were the surprise stars of Ramsay’s Best Restaurant TV show in autumn 2010. Everyone who saw them fell in love with this inspirational family dedicated to serving delicious, original vegetarian food.

At the heart of the family is Kaushy, who learned to cook as a child growing up on her grandmother’s farm in northern India. On moving to northern England in the 1960s, she brought her passion for fabulous flavours with her and has been perfecting and creating dishes ever since. Never happier than when feeding people, Kaushy took her son Bobby at his word when he suggested that she should share her cooking with the world – a launderette was converted first in to a deli and then a restaurant, and Prashad was born.

Now Kaushy shares her cooking secrets – you’ll find more than 100 recipes, from simple snacks to sumptuous family dinners, to help you recreate the authentic Prashad experience at home. Whether it’s cinnamon-spice chickpea curry, green banana satay, spicy sweetcorn or chaat – the king of street-side India – there’s plenty here for everyone to savour and share.
Filter by +