Related to: 'Quintin Jardine'

Headline

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

State Secrets (Bob Skinner series, Book 28)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

A shocking act of violence at the Palace of Westminster draws Edinburgh's toughest cop into a complex new case... Skinner is plunged into a web of politics and enemies in STATE SECRETS, another compelling and utterly addictive mystery from bestselling author, Quintin Jardine. Not to be missed by readers of Ian Rankin and Peter May. Praise for Quintin Jardine's gritty novels: 'Well constructed, fast-paced...many an ingenious twist and turn' Observer Former Chief Constable Bob Skinner is long out of the police force but trouble has a habit of following him around. So it is that he finds himself in the Palace of Westminster as a shocking act befalls the nation. Hours before the Prime Minister is due to make a controversial statement, she is discovered in her office with a letter opener driven through her skull. Is the act political? Personal? Or even one of terror? Skinner is swiftly enlisted by the Security Service to lead the investigation. Reunited with Met Police Commander Neil McIlhenney, he has forty-eight hours to crack the case - before the press unleash their wrath. There are many in the tangled web of government with cause to act. But the outcome will be one that not even Skinner himself could predict... What readers are saying about STATE SECRETS:'From start to finish it is a brilliant story written by a person of pure literary genius''Gripping, complex and seemingly impossible to resolve until the carefully-crafted finale''Twists and turns abound in this Skinner tome. You will not be disappointed as Bob continues to investigate and intimidate in his usual style'

Headline

Game Over (Bob Skinner series, Book 27)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

GAME OVER is the twenty-seventh gripping Bob Skinner mystery from crime master Quintin Jardine, author of HOUR OF DARKNESS, LAST RESORT, PRIVATE INVESTIGATIONS and many more. 'Another cracker from Jardine...There are plenty of twists and turns along the way to keep you engrossed' Scots MagazineWhen supermodel Annette Bordeaux is found battered and strangled in her Edinburgh flat, former Chief Constable Bob Skinner's old team instantly have a global case on their hands. The victim's husband, world-renowned footballer and recent Merrytown FC signing, is quickly discounted as a suspect. But there are others in the club with less watertight alibis... Two years out of the game, Skinner can't help getting his hands dirty. And as his old team work to convict the prime suspect, his own daughter, Alex, is the lawyer tasked with leading the defence. The opposing sides must work to find the culprit while the press watch on. But in this game, no one can be trusted, and there are murkier deeds still to uncover before the final whistle blows...

Headline

Last Resort (Bob Skinner series, Book 25)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Mathew's Tale

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

No better friend, no deadlier enemy... In Mathew's Tale, his landmark fortieth novel, Quintin Jardine tells the remarkable story of a man's quest for justice - at any cost. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Paul Doherty.'Once I picked it up, I couldn't let it go' - Michael Jecks1818, Carluke, Lanarkshire. Mathew Fleming returns home to Scotland following heroic service at the Battle of Waterloo. After seven years away, he is a ghostly presence to those he left behind.But Mathew is ambitious and soon becomes a man of influence in his county and beyond. Yet through all his success, he still hides the loss of his one true love.When a terrible act of murder occurs, Mathew must choose between the rule of blood and the rule of law. And as a man of honour with a warrior's instincts, he embarks on a journey of vengeance that will test every sinew of his faith in mankind... What readers are saying about Mathew's Tale: 'The quality of the prose, which feels authentically early 19th-century and has such a skilled lightness about it, sucks the reader in and [this book] becomes an addictive read''Mathew's Tale is full of colour, immersing the reader in a bygone age with deceptive ease. It is such a pleasure to read''This is a highly accomplished, sensitive novel, enriched by great storytelling, characterisation and historical setting and mood'

Headline

Hour Of Darkness (Bob Skinner series, Book 24)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

Quintin Jardine's new Bob Skinner novel sees the Edinburgh cop faced with a case that calls every part of his life into question.The body of a murdered woman is found washed up on Cramond Island near the mouth of the River Forth. Days later detectives are called to a flat in Edinburgh; the kitchen is covered in blood, and the occupier is missing.When the name of the woman from Cramond Island is revealed, it stirs unwelcome memories for those who knew her, Chief Constable Bob Skinner most of all. Now based in Glasgow, he has no reason to become involved in the case. Yet he does, unwittingly setting in motion a course that leads him to the toughest choice of his life, putting him in the midst of a personal nightmare, both life-threatening and career changing.

Headline

As Serious As Death (Primavera Blackstone series, Book 5)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

The stunning new Primavera Blackstone mystery from the Scottish crime master.Primavera Blackstone has found a hard-earned contentment in a small Spanish village by the sea. A fiercely protective single mother, she doesn't appreciate an offer of marriage. Nor does she welcome the arrival of a blast from her murky Scottish past, retired cop Ricky Ross, now a private detective and working for Jack Weighley, millionaire owner of a budget airline. Jack is a powerful, persuasive man with deep pockets, someone you don't say 'no' to without considering the consequences. So Primavera teams up with Ricky to investigate a series of mystery assaults on Jack's aircraft. Are they mere acts of vandalism, or the sinister work of Catalan extremists? When Ricky's car is fire-bombed and he narrowly escapes with his life, more questions arise...not least, why is the Spanish Special Branch involved? As Primavera and Ricky are drawn into events, and the body count rises, she begins to understand the true meaning of 'till death us do part'.

Headline

Pray for the Dying (Bob Skinner series, Book 23)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Deadly Business (Primavera Blackstone series, Book 4)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

As Easy as Murder (Primavera Blackstone series, Book 3)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

Evil stalks an idyllic retreat... An exciting ensemble of characters make for a gripping read in As Easy as Murder, Quintin Jardine's third unmissable crime thriller to feature Primavera Blackstone. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald.'Don't plan to begin reading this one on a work night. You won't put it down until the final page' - Globe and MailA tranquil Spanish village by the sea is the perfect place for Primavera Blackstone to raise her ten-year-old Tom, son of the late lamented Oz, especially when they are joined by his nephew, tyro pro golfer Jonny Sinclair. But when her best friend Shirley introduces her new man, Patterson Cowling, he seems to be a trouble magnet. A casual thief tries to pick his pocket and is found a few days later with his face blown off. A bloody coincidence, or does Patterson Cowling have a past to protect? As the body count rises, and Primavera becomes den mother to an extended golfing family, it seems that homicide is par for the course, and that hazards lie in wait for everyone. Can she save the day, or is the game just too rough? What readers are saying about As Easy as Murder: 'Primavera Blackstone at her very best''A great read and keeps you on the edge of your seat right until the end''Five stars'

Headline

The Loner

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Autographs in the Rain (Bob Skinner series, Book 11)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Gallery Whispers (Bob Skinner series, Book 9)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Blood Red (Primavera Blackstone series, Book 2)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Skinner's Trail (Bob Skinner series, Book 3)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Fatal Last Words (Bob Skinner series, Book 19)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

Death reads between the lines... It's no ordinary summer for DCC Bob Skinner, as murder and mystery leap from the page of Fatal Last Words, the nineteenth volume of Quintin Jardine's outstanding crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter May. 'Very engaging as well as ingenious, and the unravelling of the mystery is excellently done...Very enjoyable. Fatal Last Words will accompany many on their holidays and quite right too' - Allan Massie, Scotsman August in Edinburgh: As Skinner stands on the edge of a career-defining moment and his fiancée, Scotland's First Minister Aileen de Marco faces a political crisis, a famous figure from another field is found dead. As the mystery deepens, Skinner finds himself crossing swords with an old enemy from the past, while his investigating detectives are faced with the unwelcome complication of a duke's junkie daughter. Meanwhile a second Scottish celebrity dies violently in Australia. It seems impossible, but could the two be connected? As DCS Mario McGuire heads to Melbourne to investigate, back in Scotland his boss's big moment is compromised in the most dramatic and unexpected manner, as a famous friendship is shattered for ever. What readers are saying about Fatal Last Words: 'Gripping, from page one to the twist at the end''Very exciting and very hard to put down''Five stars'

Headline

Inhuman Remains (Primavera Blackstone series, Book 1)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine

A trail of deceit with a deadly conclusion... Inhuman Remains introduces Primavera Blackstone in her new guise as sleuth in a thrilling new series from the bestselling Scottish crime author Quintin Jardine. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writing, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery' - Glasgow HeraldHer mind still filled with thoughts of her dead ex-husband, Oz, Primavera Blackstone is in Spain with their son Tom when their peace is breached again with the arrival of her elderly but formidable aunt, Adrienne McGowan. All is not well in Auntie Ades world; her roguish son Frank has become involved with a shady international casino project and has disappeared. Prim flies to Seville to track him down, only to find herself a fugitive, with her life under threat, as her aunt joins the missing persons list, and Tom is forced to flee to safety. As she and her companion in danger cross Spain in a struggle to keep themselves alive, and to free Adrienne, Prim finds herself at the centre of a maelstrom of mystery... What readers are saying about Inhuman Remains: 'This is a really good, unputdownable sort of thriller, densely plotted, good characterisation, lots of exciting chases where you never can predict where you will end up''I really enjoyed this engrossing roller-coaster of a story with lots of twists and turns''Brilliant debut novel for Primavera'

Headline

Skinner's Festival (Bob Skinner series, Book 2)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Death's Door (Bob Skinner series, Book 17)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Lethal Intent (Bob Skinner series, Book 15)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine