Related to: 'Michael Jecks'

Headline

The Knights Templar Collection: Volume 1

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

Escape into the evocative medieval world of Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock, as you join them on the suspenseful trail of three murder mysteries. The Knights Templar Collection brings together three engrossing novels in the widely acclaimed and much-loved Knights Templar series by Michael Jecks. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Bernard Cornwell.The Mad Monk of Gidleigh (Book 14): As the winter of 1323 descends on Dartmoor, who could blame the young priest, Father Mark, for seeking affection from the miller's daughter, Mary? But when Mary and her unborn child are found dead, Mark is the obvious suspect. Called to investigate, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. And by the time their search is over, life will never be quite the same again.The Templar's Penance (Book 15): It is the summer of 1323, and Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock have been granted leave to go on pilgrimage. When a beautiful girl is found murdered on a hillside en route to Santiago de Compostela, the friends are among the first on the scene. As Baldwin and Simon lend their skills to the inquiry, the unexpected appearance of a face from Baldwin's past could threaten the investigation, as well as the future of Baldwin himself...The Outlaws of Ennor (Book 16): On return from pilgrimage, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock's ship is attacked by pirates, and Simon sees Baldwin washed overboard. On the island of Ennor, Simon must investigate the murder of the island's hated tax collector while, unbeknownst to his friend, Baldwin begins to unpick the same murder on the other side of the island. Can the pair uncover the truth in time to prevent certain massacre? What readers are saying about The Knights Templar mysteries: 'Michael Jecks is one of the best medieval writers of our times. His two main characters come alive in the imagination when you're reading them''The characters are richly drawn and weave in and out of the events of the early 14th century, with Michael Jecks showing great knowledge of the times''Good introduction to the series'

Headline

The Michael Jecks Compendium (A Free Sampler)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

No Law in the Land (Knights Templar Mysteries 27)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

The new riveting novel from the West Country's medieval crime master Michael Jecks.King Edward II is furious when he learns that his wife Queen Isabella has defied him and remains in France with their son. As the unfortunate messengers of this unhappy news, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and his friend, bailiff Simon Puttock, are instantly dismissed from court. Returning to their homes in Devon, the pair are shocked to find that outlaws now hold sway in the land and the chaos escalates as the bodies of two clerics are found among a party of travellers...

Headline

The Bishop Must Die (Knights Templar Mysteries 28)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

1326. As the threat of war hangs over England, Sir Baldwin and Bailiff Puttock must work desperately to prevent murder, in Michael Jecks' latest thrilling mystery in this hugely popular series. In France, King Edward II's estranged wife Queen Isabella shames him by refusing to return to England, and humiliates him further by flaunting her adulterous relationship with the king's sworn enemy, traitor Sir Roger Mortimer. When the king hears she has betrothed their son to the daughter of the Count of Hainault, all England fears an invasion of Hainault mercenaries. Meanwhile the Treasurer of England's life is threatened. He has made many enemies in a long political life and Sir Baldwin and Simon must do all they can to find the would-be assassin before he can strike...

Headline

The King Of Thieves (Knights Templar Mysteries 26)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

On a diplomatic mission in France, Sir Baldwin and Simon encounter more than they bargained for... Baldwin and Simon uncover a deadly assassination plot in The King of Thieves, a gripping mystery in Michael Jecks' hugely popular medieval crime series. Perfect for fans of Paul Doherty and Susanna Gregory. 'Complicated, well-populated, written with cross-cutting gusto, and accompanied by scholarly extras' - Ellery Queen Magazine1325: Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Simon Puttock are in France guarding King Edward's son on his perilous journey to meet the French king, Charles IV. But they are unaware that King Edward's wife Isabella is disaffected and plotting her revenge...What first appears a simple diplomatic mission is fast becoming lethally dangerous. Meanwhile, two murders in Paris are causing alarm. Is there a connection between the killings and the shadowy 'King' of thieves? Simon and Baldwin know the future of the English crown is at risk. And in order to protect it they must put their own lives in jeopardy. What readers are saying about The King of Thieves: 'Fast pace, intricate plot, well-drawn characters and good period feel make this a must for all fans of this genre''I cannot praise Michael Jecks' writing highly enough, his books always keep me guessing right to the end''Fantastic read - five stars'

Headline

The Prophecy of Death (Knights Templar Mysteries 25)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

The Templar, the Queen and Her Lover (Knights Templar Mysteries 24)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

Dispensation of Death (Knights Templar Mysteries 23)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

The Malice of Unnatural Death (Knights Templar Mysteries 22)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

The Death Ship of Dartmouth (Knights Templar Mysteries 21)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

A Friar's Bloodfeud (Knights Templar Mysteries 20)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

Bailiff Simon Puttock's servant, Hugh, has been granted leave to look after his wife Constance and help raise her child. One day she is attacked and raped by a gang of men at her home. She sees her son being murdered and her man Hugh struck down before she is killed and the house set on fire. When Simon and Sir Baldwin Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, arrive on the scene, the cottage has burned to the ground and the body of the child lies outside. Inside there is a woman's torso, badly burned, but no remains of Hugh. The fire raged so fiercely, all believe Hugh died inside. However, things are not so simple, and not only does Simon vow revenge, there are dark forces lurking which will cause no end of mischief and bloodshed.

Headline

The Butcher of St Peter's (Knights Templar Mysteries 19)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

When a merchant in Exeter hears an intruder in his home one night, his first thought is to conceal his adulterous lover. But then he witnesses a sinister figure stooping over the bed of his only child, a figure who seems to vanish into thin air.Two years on and the identity of the intruder has become common knowledge: the idiot of the city who lost his own children many years ago, and who seems doomed to wander the town searching for them. But when a boy then disappears, suspicion immediately falls on him.The local constable is determined to solve the mystery, as his own son disappeared some years ago and he always suspected the fool. Sir Baldwin is asked to follow a lead to the manor of Bishop's Clyst to try and find out what has happened. While he is there a body is found under the stone bridge - the body of a boy, but not the one who recently went missing...

Headline

The Chapel of Bones (Knights Templar Mysteries 18)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

Forty years ago, Exeter Cathedral close was the scene of a vicious ambush. Afterwards, the bodies left lying in their blood bore witness to the conflicts tearing at heart of the Cathedral itself.Today, in 1323, more deaths have occurred. Is the first an accident? The second is surely not. Murder is again polluting the Cathedral close, but this killer will not be easily caught. The victim, Henry Potell, was feared by many, and held secrets that some wished to keep hidden...For Sir Baldwin Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace, and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock, events become increasingly mysterious. Who among Henry Potell's companions knows the truth about his death? What first appears to be a matter of lust or greed soon grows more troubling as Baldwin becomes aware of the ominous Chapel of Bones, built long ago in reparation for a terrible murder...

Headline

The Tolls of Death (Knights Templar Mysteries 17)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

The Outlaws of Ennor (Knights Templar Mysteries 16)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

The Templar's Penance (Knights Templar Mysteries 15)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

The Mad Monk Of Gidleigh (Knights Templar Mysteries 14)

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

The Devil's Acolyte

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

Amidst the myth and folklore of Tavistock, one tale above all others strikes fear into the hearts of the town's inhabitants - that of the murders on the Abbot's Way -whereby a young acolyte paid the price for stealing his abbot's wine when the devil himself led him to his death on the treacherous Devon moors. Now, in the autumn of 1322, it looks as though history may be repeating itself. Abbot Robert has found his wine barrel empty, and a body has been discovered on the moors. Sir Baldwin Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock are called upon to investigate but it soon becomes apparent that it's not just wine that's gone missing from the abbey, and the body on the moor isn't the last ...

Headline

The Abbot's Gibbet

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

The Last Templar

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks

1314, Paris: Pope Clement has destroyed the Order of Knights Templar, wrongly persuaded of their corruption. Watching through a veil of tears as his friends die at the stake, a surviving knight swears vengeance on their accusers.1316, Devon: The newly appointed bailiff of Lydford Castle, Simon Puttock, is called to a village where a charred body has been found in a burned-out cottage. Unaccustomed to violence in this peaceful area, Simon assumes it's accidental death - but Sir Baldwin Furnshill, recently returned from abroad, quickly convinces him that the victim had been killed before the fire began. As Simon and the astute knight piece together the evidence, word comes of another murder, more horrible by far. Are the two incidents connected - and will the killers strike again?