Related to: 'The Universe Next Door'

Headline

The Wasp That Brainwashed the Caterpillar

Matt Simon
Authors:
Matt Simon
Headline

The Handmade Mind

Maggie Jackson
Authors:
Maggie Jackson
Headline Eternal

Blackbird: A Redemption Novel

Molly McAdams
Authors:
Molly McAdams

Blackbird is the new novel from New York Times bestselling author, Molly McAdams, a dark, twisting story of redemption and true love against the odds, perfect for fans of J. B. Salsbury, Jamie McGuire, Sophie Jackson and Lisa Renee Jones, which A. L. Jackson calls, 'Consuming. Enthralling. Sexy. MIND-BLOWING.'Briar Chapman is going to be the death of me, and I don't care. I'll take every day until that death comes, and I'll welcome it when it does.On the outside, Lucas Holt is what nightmares are made of. A man cloaked in darkness, with sin-filled eyes and an enticing grin. A devil so devastatingly beautiful and cruel that his very presence instils fear.But beneath his terrifying, ever-calm exterior is an affectionate man haunted by a past that refuses to stay buried. And Lucas looks at me as though he's finally found the only person who can make it all go away.We're in a battle of the brightest day and the darkest night - and I want to lie in the wake of our war.Look for the next Redemption novel from Molly McAdams, Firefly.

Headline

The Water Book

Alok Jha
Authors:
Alok Jha
Headline

TED Talks

Chris Anderson
Authors:
Chris Anderson
Headline

Hello Life!

Marcus Butler
Authors:
Marcus Butler

The Sunday Times number 1 bestseller.Marcus Butler's irreverent YouTube channel has long combined laughs and comedy sketches with thoughts on more serious issues. What sets him apart from the rest is his ability to mix light-hearted banter with a deep empathy for the problems facing young people today. Thanks to his experiences of family illness, his parents' divorce, weight issues and catastrophic hair days, Marcus is in a unique position to share everything he has learned about healthy living, relationships and dealing with the daily pressures life throws at us all. Working with journalist and writer Matt Allen, in HELLO LIFE! his part-autobiography, part-self help guide Marcus shares his trademark big-brotherly advice and unveils his roadmap to success for anyone navigating the trickier aspects of modern living. Funny, cool, fully illustrated and totally readable, this book is the ultimate must-have for fans of Marcus Butler.

Headline

Gemini Cell (Reawakening Trilogy 1)

Myke Cole
Authors:
Myke Cole
Headline

The Human Age

Diane Ackerman
Authors:
Diane Ackerman

'Our relationship with nature has changed . . . radically, irreversibly, but by no means all for the bad. Our new epoch is laced with invention. Our mistakes are legion, but our talent is immeasurable.'In The Human Age award-winning nature writer Diane Ackerman confronts the fact that the human race is now the single dominant force of change on the planet. Humans have 'subdued 75 per cent of the land surface, concocted a wizardry of industrial and medical marvels, strung lights all across the darkness'. We now collect the DNA of vanishing species in a 'frozen ark', equip orang-utans with iPads, create wearable technologies and synthetic species that might one day outsmart us. Ackerman takes us on an exciting journey to understand this bewildering new reality, introducing us to many of the people and ideas now creating - perhaps saving - the future.The Human Age is a surprising, optimistic engagement with the dramatic transformations that have shaped, and continue to alter, our world, our relationship with nature and our prospects for the future. Diane Ackerman is one of our most lyrical, insightful and compelling writers on the natural world and The Human Age is a landmark book.

Headline

Smashing Physics

Jon Butterworth
Authors:
Jon Butterworth

Headline

Bruno My Story

Bruno Tonioli
Authors:
Bruno Tonioli

Meet Bruno Tonioli - Strictly Come Dancing judge, wildcat choreographer and stardust magnet. With his irrepressible personality and Italian exuberance, Bruno has become a TV sensation, settling the fate of Britain's ballroom hopefuls during the nation's favourite Saturday night show. Bruno's journey is mind-blowing. He fled from home at eighteen to join the dance company La Grande Eugene and travelled around Europe; he later coached the actress Goldie Hawn as a dance instructor, and orchestrated lavish productions for TV, film and pop videos, where he worked alongside The Rolling Stones, Freddie Mercury, Duran Duran and Tina Turner. Along the way Bruno has Tangoed with high fashion, performed the Cha Cha Cha with untameable pop vixens Bananarama and danced an emotional Waltz with bereavement and breakdown before settling in the perfect location - a seat on the judging panel of Strictly Come Dancing, where he wowed the nation at home and in Hollywood with his passion for dance and an excitable turn of phrase. My Story tears away the glittery wrapping of this most exuberant and loveable of TV stars. Strap yourselves in for a wild and sexy ride with more frills than Versailles.

Headline Review

The Paradise Trail

Duncan Campbell
Authors:
Duncan Campbell

A witty, wildly funny, poignant and, at times, tragic novel about the passing of an age where nothing seems to matter until the hard, cruel world comes knocking at the door. It's 1971, and the travellers who end up in the flea-pit Lux Hotel in Calcutta are determined to have a good time. Theres ex-public schoolboy Gordon, the cool American Larry,a weird pair of Australians, and Freddie Braintree, the acid casualty. Their scene is innocence and inner journeys. But there's a war going on between India and Pakistan and a mysterious hippie killer is lurking in the dark alleyways of the city. Meanwhile, Hugh, the straight one who is trying to build a career, is covering the war for a British newspaper but he hasn't a clue what he is doing. The shocking massacres and brutality he witnesses cast a long shadow over all their lives.

Headline

Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment

James Patterson
Authors:
James Patterson

WELCOME TO MY NIGHTMARE Do not put this book down. I'm dead serious - your life could depend on it. I'm risking everything by telling you - but you need to know. STRAP YOURSELF IN for the thrill ride you'll want to take again and again! From Death Valley, California, to the bowels of the New York City subway system, you're about to take off on a heart-stopping adventure that will blow you away...YOUR FAITHFUL COMPANIONS: Max, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, the Gasman and Angel. Six kids who are pretty normal in most ways - except that they're 98% human, 2% bird. They grew up in a lab, living like rats in cages, but now they're free. Aside, of course, from the fact that they're prime prey for Erasers - wicked wolf-like creatures with a taste for flying humans. THE MISSIONS: Rescue Angel from malicious mutants. Infiltrate a secret facility to track down the flock's missing parents. Scavenge for sustenance. Get revenge on an evil traitor. And save the world. If there's time.

Headline Review

The Philosophy Gym

Stephen Law
Authors:
Stephen Law

Alok Jha

Alok Jha is a journalist and broadcaster based in London. He is science correspondent for ITN and, before that, was science correspondent at the Guardian. He has presented science programmes for BBC2 and BBC Radio 4. Alok received a science-writing award from the American Institute of Physics in 2014, was named European Science Writer of the year in 2008, and has been shortlisted for feature writer of the year at the annual Association of British Science Writers awards".

Diane Ackerman

Diane Ackerman has been the finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Non-fiction in addition to many other awards and recognitions for her work, which include the international bestsellers The Zookeeper's Wife and A Natural History of the Senses. She lives with her husband Paul West in Ithaca, New York.

Jon Butterworth

Jon Butterworth is a leading physicist on the Large Hadron Collider, and Head of Physics and Astronomy at UCL. He writes the popular Life & Physics blog for the Guardian and has written articles for a range of publications including the Guardian and New Scientist. Jon often discusses physics in public, including talks at the Royal Institution and the Wellcome Trust and appearances on BBC Radio 4's Today Programme, The Infinite Money Cage, BBC Newsnight, Horizon, Channel 4 News and Al Jazeera. He was awarded the Chadwick Medal of the Institute of Physics in 2013 for his pioneering work in high energy particle physics, especially in the understanding of hadronic jets. His book Smashing Physics was shortlisted for the 2015 Royal Society Winton Prize.

Maggie Jackson

Maggie Jackson is the award-winning author of Distracted and What's Happening to Home? A former Boston Globe columnist known for her coverage of social issues, especially technology's impact on humanity, her essays and articles have appeared in The New York Times and Business Week. Jackson is a vice president and senior fellow at the New York-based think tank The Center for Talent Innovation, a past affiliate of the Institute for the Future in Palo Alto, and a former journalism fellow at the University of Maryland. She is a graduate of Yale and the London School of Economics, and has strong connections with the UK and UK media

Marcus Chown

Marcus Chown is the Cosmology Consultant for New Scientist magazine. He has a first-class degree in physics from the University of London and an MSc in astrophysics from the California Institute of Technology.

Matt Simon

Matt Simon is a journalist who writes Wired Science's 'Absurd Creature of the Week' column. He has also edited Wired's 'This Day in Tech blog', which was compiled into the book Mad Science, and writes a second column called 'Fantastically Wrong' that explores the strangest mistakes in folklore and science. He lives in San Francisco.

Stephen Law

Stephen Law is a lecturer in philosophy at Heythrop College, University of London, and was formerly Research Fellow in Philosophy at Queen's College, Oxford. He received his doctoral degree in philosophy from the University of Oxford.