Related to: 'The Universe Next Door'

Headline Eternal

Blackbird: A Redemption Novel

Molly McAdams
Authors:
Molly McAdams

Blackbird is the new novel from New York Times bestselling author, Molly McAdams, a dark, twisting story of redemption and true love against the odds, perfect for fans of J. B. Salsbury, Jamie McGuire, Sophie Jackson and Lisa Renee Jones, which A. L. Jackson calls, 'Consuming. Enthralling. Sexy. MIND-BLOWING.'Briar Chapman is going to be the death of me, and I don't care. I'll take every day until that death comes, and I'll welcome it when it does.On the outside, Lucas Holt is what nightmares are made of. A man cloaked in darkness, with sin-filled eyes and an enticing grin. A devil so devastatingly beautiful and cruel that his very presence instils fear.But beneath his terrifying, ever-calm exterior is an affectionate man haunted by a past that refuses to stay buried. And Lucas looks at me as though he's finally found the only person who can make it all go away.We're in a battle of the brightest day and the darkest night - and I want to lie in the wake of our war.Look for the next Redemption novel from Molly McAdams, Firefly.(P)2017 Molly McAdams

Headline

The Wasp That Brainwashed the Caterpillar

Matt Simon
Authors:
Matt Simon
Headline

The Handmade Mind

Maggie Jackson
Authors:
Maggie Jackson

We are constantly bombarded with new information about the benefits of taking breaks devoted to meditation, yoga, and other stress-relieving practices. But, more often than not, these moments of calm are exactly that - blissful, fleeting periods that interrupt the grind of life. We relax, we unwind, we decompress, and then we get right back to work. In nearly every arena speed is king.Rather than encourage us to take time away from our day to slow down and breathe deeply, Maggie Jackson's THE HANDMADE MIND: Crafting Slow Thought in an Age of Speed inspires us to integrate slow thinking and reflection into all of our daily activities. Combining extensive research with historical perspective, her narrative draws from an often surprising and illuminating variety of arenas, frommedicine to wood carving. Her book will explore the ways in which we can craft our waking (and sleeping) hours to maximize awareness and make space for versatility, serendipity, and true creativity.THE HANDMADE MIND is not a manifesto about the dangers of technology, but rather a way forward that recognizes the limits and constraints of automation. Instead of trying to train our minds to be more machine-like, Jackson urges us to hone the skills that are uniquely and irreplaceably human, and harness the power of slow thought.

Headline

TED Talks

Chris Anderson
Authors:
Chris Anderson
Headline

Hello Life!

Marcus Butler
Authors:
Marcus Butler
Headline

The Water Book

Alok Jha
Authors:
Alok Jha
Headline

Gemini Cell (Reawakening Trilogy 1)

Myke Cole
Authors:
Myke Cole
Headline

The Human Age

Diane Ackerman
Authors:
Diane Ackerman
Headline

Smashing Physics

Jon Butterworth
Authors:
Jon Butterworth

Headline

Bruno My Story

Bruno Tonioli
Authors:
Bruno Tonioli

Meet Bruno Tonioli - Strictly Come Dancing judge, wildcat choreographer and stardust magnet. With his irrepressible personality and Italian exuberance, Bruno has become a TV sensation, settling the fate of Britain's ballroom hopefuls during the nation's favourite Saturday night show. Bruno's journey is mind-blowing. He fled from home at eighteen to join the dance company La Grande Eugene and travelled around Europe; he later coached the actress Goldie Hawn as a dance instructor, and orchestrated lavish productions for TV, film and pop videos, where he worked alongside The Rolling Stones, Freddie Mercury, Duran Duran and Tina Turner. Along the way Bruno has Tangoed with high fashion, performed the Cha Cha Cha with untameable pop vixens Bananarama and danced an emotional Waltz with bereavement and breakdown before settling in the perfect location - a seat on the judging panel of Strictly Come Dancing, where he wowed the nation at home and in Hollywood with his passion for dance and an excitable turn of phrase. My Story tears away the glittery wrapping of this most exuberant and loveable of TV stars. Strap yourselves in for a wild and sexy ride with more frills than Versailles.

Headline Review

The Paradise Trail

Duncan Campbell
Authors:
Duncan Campbell

Calcutta 1971. A city in black-out as India declares war on Pakistan. Even so, the backpackers who end up in the flea-pit Lux Hotel are determined to have a good time. That is, until two mysterious deaths amongst them change their lives forever. Thrown together in the city are - Anand, the jazz-loving insomniac hotelier; Gordon, one of the hotel's dope-smoking guests; the philandering journalist Hugh, covering his first war; Britt, a Californian photographer with a jealous boyfriend; and the enigmatic Freddie Braintree, who interprets life through the lyrics of Bob Dylan and the Incredible String Band. Is it possible that one of them is behind the deaths? And why will it take more than three decades and three continents to find out?

Headline

Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment

James Patterson
Authors:
James Patterson

WELCOME TO MY NIGHTMARE Do not put this book down. I'm dead serious - your life could depend on it. I'm risking everything by telling you - but you need to know. STRAP YOURSELF IN for the thrill ride you'll want to take again and again! From Death Valley, California, to the bowels of the New York City subway system, you're about to take off on a heart-stopping adventure that will blow you away...YOUR FAITHFUL COMPANIONS: Max, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, the Gasman and Angel. Six kids who are pretty normal in most ways - except that they're 98% human, 2% bird. They grew up in a lab, living like rats in cages, but now they're free. Aside, of course, from the fact that they're prime prey for Erasers - wicked wolf-like creatures with a taste for flying humans. THE MISSIONS: Rescue Angel from malicious mutants. Infiltrate a secret facility to track down the flock's missing parents. Scavenge for sustenance. Get revenge on an evil traitor. And save the world. If there's time.

Headline

The Plague Lord

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Thirteenth-century China, and the legendary Kublai Khan rules over Cathay and the Middle Kingdom. Of his many ministers and advisors, his favourite is a foreigner - the Venetian Marco Polo, whose understanding of the language and etiquette of the court is exemplary, and whose advice is widely sought. So when a flood of portents, strange visions and ghastly murders occur throughout the kingdom and even across the oceans, Marco's wisdom is called upon. The leaders of a demonic sect have disappeared from the desert to which they were banished, and Kublai Khan believes that they will attempt to release the Plague Lord himself, and open the gates of Hell...

Headline

The Anubis Slayings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Hatusu, the remarkable young widow of Pharaoh Tuthmosis II, has forced Egyptian society to acknowledge her as Pharaoh, and her success in battle is spreading Egypt's glory well beyond its frontiers. In the Temple of Anubis, Hatusu and the defeated King Tushratta of Mitanni are negotiating a peace treaty that will seal her greatest victory. But then two hideous murders in the temple and the theft of the Glory of Anubis threaten the tentative truce, and the respected judge Amerotke must find the perpetrators.

Alok Jha

Alok Jha is a journalist and broadcaster based in London. He is science correspondent for ITN and, before that, was science correspondent at the Guardian. He has presented science programmes for BBC2 and BBC Radio 4. Alok received a science-writing award from the American Institute of Physics in 2014, was named European Science Writer of the year in 2008, and has been shortlisted for feature writer of the year at the annual Association of British Science Writers awards".

Diane Ackerman

Diane Ackerman has been the finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Non-fiction in addition to many other awards and recognitions for her work, which include the international bestsellers The Zookeeper's Wife and A Natural History of the Senses. She lives with her husband Paul West in Ithaca, New York.

Jon Butterworth

Jon Butterworth is a leading physicist on the Large Hadron Collider, and Head of Physics and Astronomy at UCL. He writes the popular Life & Physics blog for the Guardian and has written articles for a range of publications including the Guardian and New Scientist. Jon often discusses physics in public, including talks at the Royal Institution and the Wellcome Trust and appearances on BBC Radio 4's Today Programme, The Infinite Money Cage, BBC Newsnight, Horizon, Channel 4 News and Al Jazeera. He was awarded the Chadwick Medal of the Institute of Physics in 2013 for his pioneering work in high energy particle physics, especially in the understanding of hadronic jets. His book Smashing Physics was shortlisted for the 2015 Royal Society Winton Prize.

Maggie Jackson

Maggie Jackson is the award-winning author of Distracted and What's Happening to Home? A former Boston Globe columnist known for her coverage of social issues, especially technology's impact on humanity, her essays and articles have appeared in The New York Times and Business Week. Jackson is a vice president and senior fellow at the New York-based think tank The Center for Talent Innovation, a past affiliate of the Institute for the Future in Palo Alto, and a former journalism fellow at the University of Maryland. She is a graduate of Yale and the London School of Economics, and has strong connections with the UK and UK media

Marcus Chown

Marcus Chown is the Cosmology Consultant for New Scientist magazine. He has a first-class degree in physics from the University of London and an MSc in astrophysics from the California Institute of Technology.

Matt Simon

Matt Simon is a journalist who writes Wired Science's 'Absurd Creature of the Week' column. He has also edited Wired's 'This Day in Tech blog', which was compiled into the book Mad Science, and writes a second column called 'Fantastically Wrong' that explores the strangest mistakes in folklore and science. He lives in San Francisco.