Related to: 'Nobody's Darling'

September Book of the Month

WHEN I'M WITH YOU - EXCERPT

A sizzling excerpt from When I'm With You, Book 2 in Beth Kery's captivating Because You Are Mine series.

Headline

Somewhere, Someday

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Somewhere, Someday by Josephine Cox, the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lonely Girl and Whistledown Woman, is the heartfelt story of learning to live with your past.Kelly knew that, although Barney would always love her, his restless soul would never allow him to stay, but she could never have envisaged how his leaving would alter her life. Alone once more, Kelly finds herself remembering the past: in particular, what happened in the autumn of 1877 and how it destroyed her family. Filled with regrets and wishes that life may have been different, Kelly begins to see that she must confront her past - and only then will she finally be free.

Headline

Angels Cry Sometimes

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

No.1 bestselling writer, Josephine Cox, is 'one of the country's best-loved storytellers' (Prima). Angels Cry Sometimes is a heartrending novel of discovering happiness again through heartbreak, grief and despair. A classic that will appear to fans of Catherine Cookson and Rosie Goodwin. 'Cox's talent as a storyteller never lets you escape' Daily MailThe marriage of Marcia and Curt Ratheter seemed idyllically happy. As much in love as on their wedding day, nothing could mar their joy. But one fateful day in 1931 brought Marcia's world tumbling about her ears and left her and her two daughters bereft.Barty Bendall had always loved her, he said; and the girls needed a father. Marcia moved to Blackburn with him, where she tried to forget the past. Barty, though, sank into bad ways, tyrannizing the family. In particular he would vent his aggression on Polly, Curt and Marcia's first-born, blonde as an angel but afflicted since birth with an ominous shadow over her health.Even in troubled times, lovely raven-haired Marcia was a fighter. But the news that Curt Ratheter had reappeared would render her the helpless prey of wildly conflicting emotions.

Headline

Alley Urchin

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

To return to those she loves, she must also return to the past... In the second instalment of her Emma Grady trilogy, bestselling author Josephine Cox brings us Alley Urchin, a gripping saga of a woman determined to overcome the brutality of life as a convict to return to the man she loves. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.By 1870 Emma Grady has spent seven years of servitude as a convict in Australia. Emma lives for the day when she will return to England, to face those who cheated and betrayed her. And to Marlow Tanner, the man she loves - and whose tragic child she had borne and then lost.Emma struggles to make something of her life in Australia despite the sinister presence of her employer's evil son, Foster. His determination to 'have' Emma leads to dark and terrifying consequences. As Emma battles against adversity, she is unaware that in England the child she has given up for dead is being lovingly raised by Marlow's sister Old Sal, who teaches Emma's daughter Molly to be an expert pickpocket.Will Emma ever be reunited with Marlow? Even if she finds him, will he still love her? And what of the child lost to both of them? Emma is plagued with fears but her love for Marlow never weakens - and can never be forgotten... What readers are saying about Alley Urchin: 'Josephine Cox has the unique talent of writing books which provoke every emotion in the reader. This book in the Emma Grady trilogy has all this - and more. We feel for the characters as if we know them and, as with all Josephine Cox books, it is very hard to put down the book once started... You will find yourself impatient to get to the end!''Another great, thrilling book which keeps you guessing till the end. The story is well written with some great twists''Totally absorbing. Unputdownable!'

Headline

Born to Serve

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

When her future is cruelly snatched away, can she ever hope for happiness again? Josephine Cox writes a heart-stopping saga in Born to Serve, a tale of courage, fortitude and devastating jealousy. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale. 'I can take him away from you any time I want.' Her mistress's cruel taunt is deeply disturbing to Jenny. But why should Claudia be interested in a servant's sweetheart? Jenny reckons without Claudia's vicious nature; using a wily trick she seduces Frank, who, overcome with shame, departs for a new life in Blackburn. Losing her sweetheart is just the first of many disasters that leave Jenny struggling to cope alone.When Claudia gives birth to Frank's baby girl, she cruelly disowns the helpless infant and relies on Jenny to care for little Katie and love her as her own. Always afraid for the beloved child who has come to depend on her, Jenny is constantly called upon to show courage and fortitude to fight for all she holds dear. In her heart she yearns for Frank, believing that one day they must be reunited. When Fate takes a hand, it seems as though Jenny may see her dreams come true... What Amazon readers are saying about Born to Serve: 'It is a heartrending story and is so well written that you feel so much for Jenny, Katie and Frank. It has many interesting twists and turns but remains a brilliant story throughout. A definite good read for a long afternoon!''I loved this book and it's definitely one of my favourites, I did not want it to end. The story grips you as soon as you start reading and I did not want to put it down to do anything else''Another spell-binding, unputdownable story from Josephine Cox'

Headline

Her Father's Sins

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Jessica's Girl

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

She must endure horror and heartache, but can she dare to hope for happiness? In a tale of secrets and intrigue, Josephine Cox writes a gritty family saga in Jessica's Girl. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.Despite a deathbed warning from her beloved mother, Phoebe Mulligan has no choice but to throw herself on the mercy of her uncle, Edward. Wrenched from all she holds dear, the tragic young girl is delivered to Blackburn town, where she must live in a household terrorised by the cold, forbidding presence of her mother's brother.Phoebe cannot understand why she is treated so harshly by Edward Dickens. She is not to know the guilty secret that lies in his past, a secret that casts a sinister shadow over his feelings for his lovely niece... What readers are saying about Jessica's Girl: 'A very good read, keeps you guessing until the end. Found it hard to put down''Great story like always - [Josephine Cox] takes me to another world''[Josephine Cox's] books never fail to keep me interested and intrigued as to the outcome. Really enjoyable'

Headline

Let Loose the Tigers

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Outcast

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Tomorrow the World

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Take this Woman

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

The Gilded Cage

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Bad Boy Jack

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Jinnie

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Let It Shine

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Rainbow Days

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

'You're everything to me. I'd have to lose my life before I'd lose you.'This is the vow Silas made to Cathleen on the day he asks her to marry him. Throughout their childhood their love has grown stronger and now, in 1900, they start to plan a life together. But a jealous woman is determined to ruin their happiness and uses Silas's father - a good and honest man - to do so, forcing him to make an impossible sacrifice. As a dutiful son, Silas has no choice but to obey his father, and Cathleen must pay the bitter price. Separated, each is swept along to a place where there is no love or peace and no way back . . .

Headline

Miss You Forever

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Cradle of Thorns

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Nell Reece has never known her mother, and her father's burden of guilt about his wife has kept him cowed for years, working as a common labourer on his sister's farm. But for all her aunt's spiteful attempts to break Nell's independent spirit, she has never succeeded. But now Nell, pregnant and alone, is forced to leave behind the men in her life, believing she might never be able to return. With little but the clothes she wears, she travels across the Bedfordshire countryside of 1890. When she encounters a scruffy urchin called Kit, a ten-year-old orphan who's lived his whole life on the streets, she takes him under her wing. The pair become devoted friends, never knowing where their journey will take them, but each aware that the time will come when there must be a reckoning.

Headline

The Devil You Know

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Sonny Fareham's lover - and also her boss - is the charismatic Tony Bridgeman, a successful and ruthless man who usually gets what he wants. But for Sonny, the affair that has promised a future of hope and happiness must end in desperate fear. Late one evening, Sonny overhears a private conversation between Tony Bridgeman and his wife. Only then does she realise she is in great danger. Pregnant and afraid, Sonny flees her home to make a new life in the north of England, where she meets a gregarious and motherly new friend, Ellie Kenny. When the mysterious and handsome David Langham seems drawn to her, Sonny almost dares to believe that she could be happy again. But never far away is the one person who wants to destroy everything that she now holds dear...

Headline

Living a Lie

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

In 1975 Lucinda Marsh throws herself in front of a speeding train leaving her twelve-year-old daughter Kitty alone, confused and abandoned - save for a selfish aunt, a violent father and her childhood sweetheart Harry Jenkins. When Kitty is sent to an orphanage after the death of her father, she meets Georgie, a lively cockney girl who, through the following difficult years, becomes her loyal friend. Convinced that her feelings for Harry will ruin the brilliant future that lies ahead of him, Kitty turns her back on his love. Together with Georgie, she strives to find fulfilment in other places and other relationships, but when fate throws her back together with Harry she begins to wonder if true love can ever die . . .

Headline

Don't Cry Alone

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Beth Ward and Tyler Blacklock share a love they know will last forever. But Beth's mother, Esther, is jealous of the girl and seizes an opportunity to be rid of her daughter. Banished in disgrace from the family home, Beth takes the northbound train and alights at Blackburn, friendless and alone. On this day, Fortune smiles, for Beth is taken in by warm-hearted Maisie Armstrong, a widow with two children. Money is scarce, but love abounds in the cosy house on Larkhill, and Beth is content there to await the birth of her child. But she cannot forget Tyler, and is tormented by the belief that he has betrayed her . . .