Related to: 'Nobody's Darling'

September Book of the Month

WHEN I'M WITH YOU - EXCERPT

A sizzling excerpt from When I'm With You, Book 2 in Beth Kery's captivating Because You Are Mine series.

Headline

Living a Lie

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Rainbow Days

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline Review

Her Father's Sins

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Vagabonds

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Alley Urchin

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

A classic story in the Emma Grady trilogy by Sunday Times bestselling author Josephine Cox.By 1870 Emma Grady has spent seven years of servitude as a convict in Australia. Emma lives for the day when she will return to England, to face those who cheated and betrayed her. And to Marlow Tanner, the man she loves - and whose tragic child she had borne and then lost. Emma struggles to make something of her life in Australia despite the sinister presence of her employer's evil son Foster. His determination to 'have' Emma leads to dark and terrifying consequences. As Emma battles against adversity, she is unaware that in England the child she has given up for dead is being lovingly raised by Marlow's sister Old Sal, who teaches Emma's daughter Molly to be an expert pickpocket.Will Emma ever be reunited with Marlow? Even if she finds him, will he still love her? And what of the child lost to both of them? Emma is plagued with fears but her love for Marlow never weakens - and can never be forgotten . . .

Headline

Outcast

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

On a fateful night in 1860, Thadius Grady realises, too late, that he has made a grave mistake. In blind faith he has put himself and his daughter Emma at the mercy of his sister and her conniving husband, Caleb Crowther - for he has entrusted to them his entire fortune and the daughter he adores. With his dying breath he pleads to see his daughter one last time - but Caleb's heart is made of stone. A feared Lancashire Justice, Caleb Crowther is a womaniser and a gambler, and now the inheritance due to Emma is as much in his hands as is the beautiful Emma Grady herself. But Caleb lives in fear of the past, for how did Emma's mother mysteriously die? And what made Thadius and Caleb hate the river people so intensely? History seems likely to repeat itself when Emma falls helplessly in love with Marlow Tanner, a young bargee. For Marlow and Emma, it is an impossible love - a love made in Heaven, but which could carry them both to Hell . . .

Headline

Whistledown Woman

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Born to Serve

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Jessica's Girl

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

She must endure horror and heartache, but can she dare to hope for happiness? In a tale of secrets and intrigue, Josephine Cox writes a gritty family saga in Jessica's Girl. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.Despite a deathbed warning from her beloved mother, Phoebe Mulligan has no choice but to throw herself on the mercy of her uncle, Edward. Wrenched from all she holds dear, the tragic young girl is delivered to Blackburn town, where she must live in a household terrorised by the cold, forbidding presence of her mother's brother.Phoebe cannot understand why she is treated so harshly by Edward Dickens. She is not to know the guilty secret that lies in his past, a secret that casts a sinister shadow over his feelings for his lovely niece... What readers are saying about Jessica's Girl: 'A very good read, keeps you guessing until the end. Found it hard to put down''Great story like always - [Josephine Cox] takes me to another world''[Josephine Cox's] books never fail to keep me interested and intrigued as to the outcome. Really enjoyable'

Headline

Let It Shine

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

As her past catches up with her, can she ever hope to restore happiness? Josephine Cox writes an enthralling saga in Let It Shine - a story of bad choices, family ties and second chances. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Dilly Court.Ada Williams once believed money and power would bring her happiness. But now she is all alone except for her greedy son Peter, who waits only for the day he will inherit her fortune. Ada, however, has a different plan altogether.A few miles away in Blackburn, the Bolton family may be poor - but the love they share means they can overcome almost any adversity. But no one could foresee the shocking events of Christmas night, 1932, which split the family asunder, leaving Larry crippled and the twins, Ellie and Betsy, in a foster home. Events that began many years ago, when Ada Williams was young and foolish... What readers are saying about Let It Shine: 'I bought this book last night and have not been able to put it down, just finished it and have gone through so many different emotions. First you're laughing, the next tears, the next anger. Then it happens all over again. Fantastic read''Brilliantly written, Josephine provides such an interesting cast of heroes and villains. This novel is Josephine at her best. She is able to make you care about the characters she writes about and keeps you guessing up until to the end'

Headline

Let Loose the Tigers

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

As she retraces her steps back north, Queenie threatens to disturb more than one person's future... In the sequel to Her Father's Sins, Josephine Cox writes a captivating saga in Let Loose the Tigers, in which Queenie returns to Blackburn... and to her past. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.Queenie Bedford fled her native Blackburn and the bitter knowledge that she and Rick Marsden, the man she loved, could never marry. But in 1965 she returns north again to stand by her friend Sheila Thorogood, imprisoned for running a brothel with her mother Maisie. Though Rick had vowed to find her, Queenie takes care that he should not know of her whereabouts.The magnificent Edwardian house in Blackpool is sadly neglected - but Queenie moves in with the ailing Maisie, and sets about transforming it into a sparklingly clean, highly respectable guesthouse. Meanwhile, Queenie meets the frail and confused Hannah Jason, locked away years ago for murder, and desperate for news of her long-lost son. As Rick continues his dogged search for Queenie, she sets out to find Hannah's son. But both their enquiries threaten to unlock the cage where crucial secrets have long been held captive. What readers have been saying about Let Loose the Tigers: 'This book was brilliant, once you pick it up you cannot put it down because you need to know what happens next''Keeps you spellbound till the end'

Headline

Tomorrow the World

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

One snow storm. One choice. A lifetime of consequences. In Tomorrow the World, Josephine Cox writes a moving saga of heartache, friendship and longing. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Sheila Newberry.Bridget Mulligan loves her husband. He is caring, loyal and dependable - everything a woman could ask for. But she can't quite forget Harry - the one that got away - and when a snow storm drives her into his arms, the inevitable happens. Nine months later a child is born.Overcome with remorse, Bridget is determined that her husband should know the truth, but her confession can lead only to heartbreak. Although he allows his wife and her child to continue living in his home, Tom Mulligan makes it clear that their marriage is over. Lonely and afraid, Bridget finds comfort in the friendship of Fanny, a feisty young mother who knows what it is to be alone. But Bridget's life can never be complete until she has the love of the only man she ever really wanted... What readers are saying about Tomorrow the World: 'Brilliant read, loved it. I just couldn't put it down. Was disappointed when I finished it. Excellent writer, felt like I was in the story myself''I found this book hard to put down, the further you get into the book it gets more and more exciting''Gripping - five stars'

Headline

Take this Woman

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Jinnie

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Somewhere, Someday

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Miss You Forever

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

One winter's night, in the coal-hole in her yard, Rosie finds that a woman sheltering there has been severely beaten by thugs. At a glance, Kathleen looks like an unkempt, aged vagabond who tramps the roads carrying all her worldly possessions in a grubby tapestry bag. Her only friend is the mangy old dog who accompanies her; the sum of her life is in the diaries she so zealously guards. Yet close up, Rosie can see that Kathleen has a gracious beauty - the 'look' of a respectable lady of means.In hospital, fighting for her life, yet moved by Rosie's care and compassion, Kathleen entrusts the diaries to her, urging her to look at them. There, in the soft glow of the lamp, Rosie reads a heartrending tale of stolen dreams, true love, heartache and loss. A tale that, somehow, must have a happy ending . . .

Headline

Cradle of Thorns

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

The Devil You Know

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Sonny Fareham's lover - and also her boss - is the charismatic Tony Bridgeman, a successful and ruthless man who usually gets what he wants. But for Sonny, the affair that has promised a future of hope and happiness must end in desperate fear. Late one evening, Sonny overhears a private conversation between Tony Bridgeman and his wife. Only then does she realise she is in great danger. Pregnant and afraid, Sonny flees her home to make a new life in the north of England, where she meets a gregarious and motherly new friend, Ellie Kenny. When the mysterious and handsome David Langham seems drawn to her, Sonny almost dares to believe that she could be happy again. But never far away is the one person who wants to destroy everything that she now holds dear...

Headline

More than Riches

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Angels Cry Sometimes

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox