Related to: 'Where Old Bones Lie (Mitchell & Markby 5)'

Headline

Asking for Trouble (Fran Varady 1)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Bricks and Mortality (Campbell & Carter Mystery 3)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

The third Cotswold village mystery featuring Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter reveals a ruthless killer and a case of mistaken identity.In the cold light of dawn, a dead body is found entombed in the smouldering remains of a burnt-out Cotswold manor. Key House has stood empty for years, but its owner, Gervase Crown, is rumoured to have been seen in Weston St Ambrose prior to the blaze. Could he be responsible for the fire and the tragic death that followed, or was he in fact the intended target? As Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter begin their investigation it becomes clear that Gervase wasn't the most popular and his return reawakens old memories, not all of which are good.

Headline

Candle for a Corpse (Mitchell & Markby 8)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Rack, Ruin and Murder

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Risking It All (Fran Varady 4)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

When will Fran Varady learn to trust her instincts?Young amateur sleuth Fran Varady is being hunted down by a suspicious private investigator in Risking it All, the fourth compelling mystery in Ann Granger's Fran Varady series. The perfect read for fans of LJ Ross and Joss Sheldon. 'A fascinating tale... Highly recommended' - Mystery Women NewsletterWhen Fran Varady is approached by Private Investigator Clarence Duke, she mistrusts him on instinct. But she can't ignore what he has to tell her. Her mother, Eva, who walked out on Fran when she was only seven years old, has hired Clarence to find her daughter. And for good reason. Eva is dying. Within days, Fran is reunited with the mother she hasn't seen for fifteen years, and is soon to lose again. But the biggest bombshell is still to come. Eva has another child - a daughter she gave up soon after her birth - and she wants Fran to find her. Matters aren't helped by the fact that slippery Clarence Duke seems intent on discovering what she's up to. But it's when he's found dead in his car outside Fran's home that the trouble really begins ...What readers are saying about Risking it All:'The writing is lively and fun, and Fran is a very likeable character''The plot is a cracker - at heart a traditional detective story with a nice contemporary twist' 'A powerful addition to the series as the storyline has emotional depth and left me wondering what I would do'

Headline

Shades of Murder (Mitchell & Markby 13)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

A Season for Murder (Mitchell & Markby 2)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

The Boxing Day Hunt leads to a hunt for a killer...A Season for Murder is the second cosy and colourful English village mystery in Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series. This thrilling whodunit will enthral fans of Colin Dexter, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.'A good feel for understated humour, a nice ear for dialogue' - The Times It is with some trepidation that Meredith Mitchell returns to the Cotswolds: the Bamford district holds memories that, to put it generously, are bittersweet, and Christmas is a difficult time to find oneself a stranger in a new area. Yet she receives a kindly welcome, in particular from her old acquaintance Chief Inspector Markby and from her new neighbour Harriet Needham, a striking redhead with whom Meredith immediately feels a certain kinship. But Meredith has barely got to know her neighbour when Harriet is involved in a shocking - and fatal - accident at the Boxing Day Hunt. Witnesses to the death are plentiful, for the incident occurred in Bamford's crowded market square, and many are adamant it's a case of murder. Chief Inspector Markby is inclined to agree, although he suspects the guilty party is not the most obvious one. Before long Meredith Mitchell begins, reluctantly, to think he might be right ...What readers are saying about A Season for Murder:'The writing is witty and engaging, the characters are well rounded and the reader is left wanting to know more about what might happen in the future to them''The interplay between Mitchell and Markby and the clashes and stresses of their own lives nicely balances the intelligent plots''Really addictive. Very cleverly woven'

Headline

Cold in the Earth (Mitchell & Markby 3)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Murder Among Us (Mitchell & Markby 4)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

A Fine Place for Death (Mitchell & Markby 6)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Flowers for his Funeral (Mitchell & Markby 7)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

A Touch of Mortality (Mitchell & Markby 9)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

Village life can be deadly... A move to rural Oxfordshire is not the peaceful existence the London couple are looking for in A Touch of Morality, Ann Granger's ninth English village crime novel in the Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Agatha Raisin, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.'To be savoured' - Publishers Weekly When Sally Caswell persuaded her scientist husband Liam to move from London to the quiet of rural Oxfordshire it was in the hope of a more peaceful existence. But so far the move has led to nothing but discord. Liam's sabbatical book project is not going well so, frustrated and isolated, he quarrels incessantly both with Sally and with their next-door neighbour, the crotchety pensioner Bodicote whose unruly goats are a constant source of contention. But then a mysterious package arrives that gives the couple real cause for anxiety. It appears that Liam is being targeted by animal rights activists, though Superintendent Markby, in charge of the investigation, is not entirely convinced. Liam has many enemies, Bodicote among them, and it seems to Markby that Liam's cantankerous old neighbour is hiding something. The more Markby investigates, the more his unease grows - as does that of Meredith Mitchell, Markby's girlfriend and an old friend of Sally Caswell, for Meredith suspects Sally is far from well. Then a body is found ...What readers are saying about A Touch of Mortality:'Simply wonderful. She [Ann Granger] will always throw in a lovely little twist''The author piles up detail on detail with plenty of clues, suspects and undercurrents''Ann Granger is definitely one of the best out there that pens English village cosies'

Headline

Keeping Bad Company (Fran Varady 2)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

A Word After Dying (Mitchell & Markby 10)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

A holiday becomes work for Mitchell and Markby as a crime unravels... Mitchell and Markby find themselves drawn into a murder enquiry whilst holiday in a country cottage in A Word After Dying, the tenth cosy English village crime novel in Ann Granger's captivating Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Rebecca Tope, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.'Probably the best current example of a crime writer who has taken the classic English village detective story and brought it up to date' - Birmingham Post Superintendent Alan Markby and Meredith Mitchell are in desperate need of a holiday - and the Cotswold village of Parsloe St John seems the perfect choice. Their neighbour, retired journalist Wynne Carter, is as convivial as the village itself and, over a glass of blackberry wine, indulges in her latest obsession, Olivia Smeaton, a racy old lady whose life - and death - she is convinced are not all they seem. Markby is more interested in buying Olivia's house than the circumstances of her vacating it, but Meredith is intrigued: by the old lady, the death of a cherished horse and a dusty junk shop run by a white witch.When another fatality - of a very grisly nature - is discovered, it seems her suspicion is justified. Clearly Olivia isn't the only enigma in Parsloe St John - and her death might be the first of many unless Meredith Mitchell and Alan Markby can make sense of some very secret lives to reach the truth...What readers are saying about A Word After Dying:'If you like your crime novels written in a low key style with plenty of amusing moments and not too much graphic violence then this is the series for you''Yet another great Mitchell & Markby whodunit''An invigorating novel!'

Headline

A Restless Evil (Mitchell & Markby 14)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Mixing With Murder (Fran Varady 6)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

That Way Murder Lies (Mitchell & Markby 15)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

A chilling secret from the past leads to a violent murder in the present... Mitchell and Markby must put their wedding plans on hold when an old friend seeks their help in That Way Murder Lies, the fifteenth English village murder mystery in Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Kathy Cranston, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.When Meredith Mitchell's old friend Toby Smythe turns up on leave, she is delighted to see him. But Toby has a problem - or rather his relative Alison Jenner has - and he wants to enlist the help of Meredith's fiance, Detective Superintendent Alan Markby. Alison has been receiving anonymous hate mail which alludes to the murder of her aunt, Freda Kemp, of which Alison was acquitted when she was just twenty. Who is the writer, and how does he or she know about this secret in Alison's past? Markby is at first reluctant to become involved, especially as he and Meredith are busy planning their wedding, but enquiries into a poison pen campaign soon turn into a murder hunt. With the help of Inspector Jessica Campbell, a new member of Markby's team, the investigation unravels a twenty-five-year-old mystery and its dreadful legacy of violence.What readers are saying about That Way Murder Lies:'Enjoyable, clever, incredibly entertaining and interesting book''Anyone who enjoys a delightful English cosy that is a clever blending of amateur sleuth and police procedural will enjoy this series!''Quite a mystery right up to the very end'

Headline

Beneath these Stones (Mitchell & Markby 12)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Say it with Poison (Mitchell & Markby 1)

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger