Related to: 'Part of the Family'

Be Enthralled By Jude Deveraux

For All Time

Graydon Montgomery couldn’t take his eyes off the young woman...

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW is a heartwarming and poignant saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Readers love Pam Evans' books: 'A touching novel' Daily ExpressDespite air raids and rationing in wartime London, sisters Liz and Dora Beck find time for fun and laughter at the local ice-rink. Then a handsome American serviceman catches their attention, and so begins heartache between the sisters. Dora is increasingly jealous of her sister's blossoming romance with Victor. But when Victor is killed in a bomb attack, Liz makes a shocking discovery that upsets her whole family. Forced out of her home, Liz finds support where she least expects it. And, with almost nothing left to lose, she hopes for a brighter day tomorrow...

Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Lamplight on the Thames

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When tragedy strikes two childhood sweethearts, they must look to their hearts to find true happiness... A dramatic story of bitter rivalry and forbidden love, Pam Evans' London saga, Lamplight on the Thames, is sure to appeal to fans of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Kate Thompson.Since the end of the war, when Bob Brown had taken over the car workshop in London, Frank Bennett had been trying to get his hands on it. An East-Ender made good, Frank was determined to get the prime site - whatever the cost.As children, Bob's daughter Bella and Frank's son Dezi became unlikely friends, though both families disapproved. Years later, their love blossomed, and it seemed that nothing, not even the feud between their fathers, could prevent their marriage. Until Bob's tragic death and his dying request to Bella... What Amazon readers are saying about Lamplight on the Thames: 'Loved this book. It was the first time I had read anything by Pam Evans but won't be the last. A super story, couldn't put it down''Another great book by Pamela Evans, I really enjoyed it'

Headline

Diamonds in Danby Walk

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A young girl discovers that the grass isn't always greener on the other side... Set in London's East End in the 1900s, Diamonds in Danby Walk is Pam Evans' dramatic and heartrending family saga sure to appeal to fans of Dilly Court and Annie Murray.If Ralph Jackson had not been selfishly intent on an afternoon's stolen pleasure with his East End mistress Clara that day in 1900, a great many lives would have been different - most notably that of Amy Atkins, Clara's skinny young niece. Her penniless father George wants a better start for her than the mean streets of Bethnal Green, and if he has to resort to a spot of blackmail to get it, so be it.For fear of his philandering ways coming to light, Ralph offers Amy a job at his posh West London jewellers. With her quick wits and eye for business she attracts the attention of Ralph's handsome son Clifford. But when one thing inevitably leads to another, weak-willed Clifford is quite happy to leave Amy holding the baby. He has reckoned without the powerful influence Amy's father still exerts over Ralph. An amazed Amy finds herself Mrs Clifford Jackson, but even love and gratitude do not blind her to her husband's weaknesses, and when tragedy strikes she is faced with some difficult choices... What Amazon readers are saying about Diamonds in Danby Walk: 'Lovely story''Five stars'

Headline

When the Lights Go Down

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' family saga brings post-war London vividly to life as, amid rationing and food shortages, a young girl finds a passion for growing her own vegetables.It is February 1945 and April Green and her cousin Heather wonder if the war will ever end. Then the local pub in Chiswick takes a direct hit and April's father is killed in the blast. Life without him is hard to bear and April and her brother do all they can to help, particularly when their mother announces she is pregnant. Volunteering to tend her father's allotment, April discovers a passion for growing vegetables.Meanwhile, Winnie Benson is coming to terms with her husband's spinal injuries. He may never walk again and, until their son, George, returns from the Merchant Navy, Winnie must run their greengrocer's on her own. Once the war is over and George is home, things start to improve but rationing remains in force and fresh vegetables are hard to find. April's supply of home-grown produce couldn't be more welcome. And, before long, George can't help wishing he was the apple of her eye...

Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Headline

On Her Own Two Feet

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Distant Dream

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

It's 1936 in West London, and fifteen-year-old May Stubbs and her family have endured the worst of The Depression. Looking forward to a more prosperous future, they take on a derelict cricket pavilion, convert it into a café and general store, and find it quickly becomes the hub of the community. Then May contracts tuberculosis, and the way ahead looks less certain. Leaving her best friend, Betty Lane, and lifelong soul mate, George Bailey, behind, she is sent away to fight off the illness. But on her return to London, she finds things have changed. And when war is declared, it is clear that serious complications and heartache lie in store for them all.

Headline

Second Chance of Sunshine

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A caring mother struggles against the prejudices of the 1950s, with tragic consequences... Second Chance of Sunshine is a captivating tale of a woman gaining her independence, in a poignant London saga from much-loved author Pam Evans. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Cathy Sharp.'Evans has a real feel for the people and places of the South East. In this colourful picture of life in post-war London there is a strong sense of community and a finely drawn illustration of the tension caused by the changing role of women in society... Warm, entertaining and peopled with lovable characters' - Lancashire Evening PostIt's 1956, and while many women are doing jobs they'd never dreamed of before the war, Molly Hawkins is chained firmly to the kitchen sink. Her husband Brian believes his wife's place is in the home, but is too idle to seek regular employment for himself. Molly worries that her six-year-old daughter Rosa is going without, but is willing to sacrifice luxuries - and her own happiness - for her little girl to have a dad.Then a family friend dies suddenly, leaving Molly a share in a successful pottery business. To Brian's horror, it's on condition that Molly takes a job at the pottery. Seizing the chance to bring in much needed income, Molly accepts the position, and soon gains strength from her new-found independence. It's a strength she will need to take her through the tragedy that lies ahead... What readers are saying about Second Chance of Sunshine: 'I have read many Pamela Evans novels and have always thoroughly enjoyed them - these are the sort of novels that should be turned into Sunday afternoon watching, they are easy, they hold the reader and you can guarantee that all will come right in the end despite the ups and downs along the way''Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It makes for pleasurable, laidback, and captivating reading'

Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Harvest Nights

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Sparrows of Sycamore Road

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

When The Boys Come Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Under an Amber Sky

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Two sisters manage to escape their tragic beginnings, but heartbreak is never far away. A wonderfully eventful and colourful picture of life in wartime London, Under an Amber Sky is a compelling wartime tale from much-loved saga writer, Pam Evans. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Dilly Court.For the Porters and the Mills, family and friendship are the glue that binds everything together. So when the Porters' home is destroyed in the Blitz and only seventeen-year-old Nell and her little sister Pansy survive, all their lives are shattered. Peg Mills is determined to look after her best friend's daughters and, in time, the girls begin to thrive - Pansy, evacuated to the countryside and to Peg's loving mother, and Nell in her new job at the local newspaper. But trouble is on its way. Nell discovers her handsome suitor Gus Granger is hiding a dangerous secret. And, just when she needs him the most, her closest confidant Ed Mills is declared missing in action. Nell suddenly realises that Ed means much more to her than just a friend. But will she ever see him again to tell him her true feelings? What readers are saying about Under an Amber Sky: 'Brilliant read, couldn't put it down, you really feel for the characters in the story and can imagine vividly what it must have been like to live through those dark days and the lengths people went to' 'Brilliant book, keeps you guessing from the beginning to the end. The best book I have read in a long time' 'A lovely, easy read in true Pamela Evans style. Her characters are totally believable and you can't help but get involved in their lives'

Headline

The Tideway Girls

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

In The Dark Streets Shining

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When Rose Brown's husband is killed at Dunkirk in 1940, she feels as though she's lost a part of herself. Rose can't imagine the future without Ray, but she's certain he would have wanted her to start again. She decides to volunteer as a postwoman in West London, and when she courageously rescues a young boy from a bombed-out house and takes him home, she finds a new sense of purpose. Traumatised from losing his mother in the ruins, seven-year-old Alfie is also rebellious and withdrawn. However, he touches the hearts of Rose's family, and with kindness, patience and love, they eventually win his trust. But then a handsome stranger, Johnny Beech, turns up on the doorstep, looking for his son, and everything changes...

Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When Jess Mollitt gains a place with the famous Burton Girls dance troupe, appearing on the West End stage, it seems her dreams have finally come true. But then a family outing ends in tragedy, leaving her mother dead and her father a broken man, and Jess is forced to give up her career to look after her younger siblings, as well as manage the newsagents her father is no longer capable of running. Unable to contemplate a life without dance, its not long before Jess is also running a hugely popular Saturday dance class for local children and this, combined with her blossoming friendship with neighbour Don Day, provides Jess with the saving grace she needs. But when the brother Don hates arrives on the scene, it seems Jess's problems may be only beginning...

Headline

Town Belles

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Maggie of Moss Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans