Related to: 'Hattie's Mill'

September Book of the Month

WHEN I'M WITH YOU - EXCERPT

A sizzling excerpt from When I'm With You, Book 2 in Beth Kery's captivating Because You Are Mine series.

Headline

Winning Through (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 3)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

The Chadwick siblings will always have a place to call home... Marcia Willett presents a sensitive, compassionate and deeply moving story in Winning Through, the third novel in the Chadwick Family Chronicles. The perfect read for fans of Erica James and Liz Fenwick. 'Fans will love this story for its absorbing insight into character and rich evocation of local settings' - South Hams Gazette It's nearly thirty years since the Chadwick siblings arrived from Kenya at The Keep in Devon to live with their grandmother Freddy. And while much has altered since in their lives, The Keep remains a sanctuary for the whole family; warm, unchanging, filled with love. Now mistress of The Keep, Fliss finds it hard to fill the place of her beloved grandmother, especially when she has so many doubts in her life. Mole has settled into his second family, the Navy. And Susanna, always the baby, is now a wife and mother herself. But whatever challenges they face, the family know that the house will always be ready to welcome them home.What readers are saying about Winning Through:'Ms Willett has given her characters such depth and their lives such texture that you feel that you are reading about real people''Beautifully written and emotive, with tragedy and delight clearly interwoven''Wonderful description of scenery which I was able to visualise immediately'

Headline

The Courtyard

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Holding On (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 2)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Second Time Around

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Forgotten Laughter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

An unexpected visitor brings back haunting memories... Set against the magnificent beauty of Dartmoor, Marcia Willett's spellbinding novel is a tale of a complicated mother-daughter relationship, strengthened by unforgettable events and a visitor with an excess of baggage. Forgotten Laughter is the perfect read for fans of Liz Fenwick and Harriet Evans.'Her descriptions of Devon's natural beauty are vividly woven into her tale of human strengths and frailties... She understands her people well and handles them with sympathy' - North Devon Journal When Brigid Foster's elderly mother Frummie comes to stay with her at her idyllic Devonian hideaway - Foxhole - Brigid feels it's a hideaway no longer. There has always been tension between the two women, caused by Brigid's opinion that Frummie has always favoured her sister Jemima over her. But when two murders occur nearby, both of women on their own, Brigid and Frummie are drawn together; especially when a visitor appears who seems to be hiding a terrible secret...What readers are saying about Forgotten Laughter:'Set in the beautiful Devon countryside, the story completely draws you in - you will not want to put this down''A lovely book which had me enthralled''Five stars - Marcia Willett always has me gripped from beginning to end'

Headline

Looking Forward (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 1)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

Summer of 1957. Life at The Keep changes forever...Marcia Willett tells the tale of three orphaned siblings sent from Kenya to live with their grandmother and cousins in Devon. Looking Forward is the first stunning novel in the Chadwick Family chronicles and is the perfect read for fans of Veronica Henry and Hilary Boyd. 'This moving family chronicle has a cast of wise and family characters. A real tear-jerker' - Family Circle Life at The Keep changes forever when Fliss, Mole and Susannah arrive in the summer of 1957. Their parents and elder brother have been killed in Kenya so the children are sent to their grandmother, Freddy, in Devon. Freddy is no stranger to grief, but she would be lost without her devoted helpers, Ellen and Fox, who enable her to cope with this latest tragedy. And, above all, she looks to her brother-in-law, Theo, to guide her while the children heal their wounds and embark on the treacherous journey to adulthood.What readers are saying about Looking Forward:'Marcia Willett has a wonderful affinity for bringing her characters to life' 'Another touching story!''Both heart-warming and heart-wrenching. But it left me feeling warm and happy'

Headline

A Week in Winter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Starting Over

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

When recently-widowed Annie's god-daughter Pippa is abandoned by her husband, she insists that she comes to live with her. Frances and Stephen Ankerton are desperately worried about their son, Hugh, who wrongly blames himself for a fatal accident that took place nearly a year ago. While Frances turns to Annie for advice, Stephen finds a way to set Hugh's mind at rest... When Max Driver inherits some land on Dartmoor his dream becomes a reality. And a chance encounter with Frances leads to each and every one of them being touched by his warmth and enthusiasm. Soon he is an integral part of their lives and his determination to fulfil his own goal inspires the others to start over again.

Headline

The Dipper

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

In the depths of Dartmoor, Quentin and Clemmie Halliwell know that the onset of old age threatens their life together at The Grange. Phyllida Makepeace feels secure in her marriage to Alistair, but when a deep sorrow strikes them, she discovers that no one is untouched by human frailty. Claudia and Jeff Maynard seem the perfect couple. But they are hiding from the truth and Claudia is about to realise the shattering effects of denial. Turning to one another in their time of need, these friends and neighbours learn those vital lessons in how to love, forgive and, most importantly, how to trust again.

Headline

Thea's Parrot

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Those Who Serve

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

It had all seemed so exciting and romantic! Not even out of their teens, Kate and Cass, friends since boarding school, both marrying dashing naval officers within weeks of each other. But after all the glamour of naval balls and white weddings, passing beneath the arches of naval swords had not led Kate down the pathway to marital bliss. Not even her cherished twins can compensate for her husband's coldness and mental cruelty and she yearns for the peace of her beloved West Country. Cass, on the other hand, revels in the freedom of movement her husband's long absences on the submarines provide - even with the arrival of the first of her four children, she is not to be denied the frenzied activity of the 1960s sexual revolution! But it is a dangerous game that Cass is playing, and as the decades roll by, Kate may not always be around to pick up the pieces...

Abi Maxwell

Abi Maxwell is the author of an acclaimed story collection, LAKE PEOPLE, and her fiction has also appeared in McSweeney's. She studied writing at the University of Montana and now lives in New Hampshire, where she grew up, with her husband and son.

Kelly Rimmer

Kelly Rimmer is the USA Today bestselling women's fiction author of six novels, including Before I Let You Go and Me Without You. She lives in rural Australia with her husband, two children and fantastically naughty dogs, Sully and Basil. Her novels have been translated into more than twenty languages.

Lee Francis

Lee Francis worked for several years in the world of film, TV and advertising as a script reader and assistant director. PLAYING WITH DEATH, written with his former lecturer Simon Scarrow, is his first novel.

Lesley Nneka Arimah

Lesley Nneka Arimah was born in the UK and grew up wherever her father was stationed for work, which was sometimes Nigeria, sometimes not. She has been published in The New Yorker and Granta, her story 'Light' was winner of the 2015 Commonwealth Short Story Prize for Africa, and she has twice been shortlisted for the Caine Prize (2016 and 2017) with stories from WHAT IT MEANS WHEN A MAN FALLS FROM THE SKY.

Lisa Gardner

Lisa Gardner is a New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author. Her FBI Profiler novels include SAY GOODBYE, GONE and THE KILLING HOUR. Her Detective D.D. Warren series includes THE NEIGHBOUR, which won the International Thriller Writers' Award in 2010, CATCH ME, CRASH & BURN and FIND HER. Lisa lives with her family in New England.

Lisa Scottoline

Lisa Scottoline is the New York Times bestselling author of over twenty novels. There are now more than twenty-five million copies of her books in print, and she is published in over thirty countries. She has been awarded the Edgar Award for crime fiction, and the Cosmopolitan Fun Fearless Female Award. In addition, Lisa writes a weekly column for the Philadelphia Inquirer, as well as a number of non-fiction titles with her daughter, Francesca Serritella. Lisa is a former trial lawyer and lives in Philadelphia with an array of disobedient pets.

Louise Lee

Louise Lee was once a Geography teacher. When oxbow lakes no longer floated her boat, she took the next, natural step in her career progression and became a Private Investigator. Memorable cases include a high-functioning bigamist with three wives and six children, who was set to marry a fourth; and losing a target because George Clooney started chatting her up in a bar.Louise undertook an MA in Creative Writing at Birkbeck, and has had work commissioned by BBC Radio Four. The Florence Love novels follow the life of an irreverent, thor­oughly 'modern' PI who specialises in entrapment, and Louise would love to hear from fellow Florences - stop by her website: www.louiselee.co.uk or drop her a line on Twitter: @louise_lee1.If Louise's mum is reading this, the books are in no way based on her true experiences. Honest.

Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers. Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.www.lynandrewsbooks.co.ukwww.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooksTwitter: @LynSagaAuthor

Lynda Page

Lynda Page was born and brought up in Leicester. The eldest of four daughters, she left home at seventeen and has had a wide variety of office jobs. She now spends the majority of her time helping her daughter and writing her novels in the peace and tranquillity of her daughter's holiday park in Epworth, North Lincolnshire.Follow her on twitter @LyndaPage9 and like her Facebook page: Lynda Page