Related to: 'Starting Over'

Laurie Frankel, author of Goodbye For Now, describes how social media inspired the concept behind her novel.

Laurie Frankel on Second Novels, Inspiration, and RePose

One of the things I always used to tell my students – no matter what the course, no matter what the assignment – is that all writing must have a point, something you want to say.

Headline

Winning Through (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 3)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

The Courtyard

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Holding On (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 2)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

The Keep must remain in the family... Holding On is the stunning second novel in Marcia Willett's Chadwick Family chronicles set in Devonshire. The perfect read for fans of Katie Fforde and Fern Britton. Over the years, the magnificent Keep in Devon has provided a bolt hole for the Chadwick family. Now the five young cousins who grew up there have left home and their grandmother Freddy wonders anxiously whether she will live to see the arrival of the next generation. No matter what happens to them, she knows that The Keep must remain within the family, ready and waiting for their return.What readers are saying about Holding On:'The author is a genius at portraying characters and I felt I knew them personally very early on''The story of the Chadwick family is so compelling and I just couldn't put it down''Marcia Willett writes in such a way that you want to be part of this family'

Headline

The Dipper

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Thea's Parrot

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

An 'old friend' changes everything... Thea's Parrot is an entertaining standalone tale of marriage and lies with some familiar faces from Marcia Willett's debut Those Who Serve. The perfect read for fans of Veronica Henry and Fern Britton. George Lampeter certainly isn't looking for a wife but as soon as the forty-three-year-old submarine commander sets eyes on Thea, twenty years his junior, he's found his partner for life. Just about everyone knows of George's long-standing affair with Felicity Mainwaring, the intimidating wife of a naval colleague. Her husband's death the previous year had prompted many to speculate that George would end up marrying his formidable mistress. No one expected it more than Felicity herself and as her letters and calls to George go unanswered she becomes suspicious. He somehow manages to duck Felicity's attempts to contact him long enough to marry Thea, and the couple embark on a harmonious life together in the heart of rural Devon. Thea enjoys matrimony immensely and through the naval network, finds a soul mate in Polly, another youthful bride, but not with such an understanding husband. But everything changes for Thea and George when she mentions that an old friend of his had dropped in for a chat while he was in London - Felicity Mainwaring. What readers are saying about Thea's Parrot:'Intelligently written and nicely plotted with enough twists and good characters to keep you moving through it''Thoroughly fantastic. The twists and turns were remarkable''I was left wanting more'

Headline

Those Who Serve

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Hattie's Mill

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Forgotten Laughter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

A Week in Winter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

Choosing to sell the farmhouse has consequences no one saw coming... A Week in Winter is Marcia Willett's engrossing and sympathetic portrayal of a family in turmoil. The perfect read for fans of Katie Fforde and Veronica Henry. 'Wonderfully evocative' - Devon LifeWhen Maudie Todhunter finally decides she must sell Moorgate, her beautiful farmhouse on the edge of Bodmin Moor, she anticipates strong objections from her family - particularly from Selina, her stepdaughter, with whom she has never seen eye to eye. But no one could have predicted the feelings that Moorgate evokes or the consequences...What readers are saying about A Week in Winter:'The characters are so believable and you grow to love them''Another brilliant gem from writer Marcia Willett' 'Just like her other novels, this one excels in its description of the various characters and draws you into the moving story with sharp observation and compassion'

Headline

Looking Forward (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 1)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

Summer of 1957. Life at The Keep changes forever...Marcia Willett tells the tale of three orphaned siblings sent from Kenya to live with their grandmother and cousins in Devon. Looking Forward is the first stunning novel in the Chadwick Family chronicles and is the perfect read for fans of Veronica Henry and Hilary Boyd. 'This moving family chronicle has a cast of wise and family characters. A real tear-jerker' - Family Circle Life at The Keep changes forever when Fliss, Mole and Susannah arrive in the summer of 1957. Their parents and elder brother have been killed in Kenya so the children are sent to their grandmother, Freddy, in Devon. Freddy is no stranger to grief, but she would be lost without her devoted helpers, Ellen and Fox, who enable her to cope with this latest tragedy. And, above all, she looks to her brother-in-law, Theo, to guide her while the children heal their wounds and embark on the treacherous journey to adulthood.What readers are saying about Looking Forward:'Marcia Willett has a wonderful affinity for bringing her characters to life' 'Another touching story!''Both heart-warming and heart-wrenching. But it left me feeling warm and happy'

Headline

Second Time Around

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

When Mathilda Rainbird bequeaths her beautiful house in a Devonshire cove to three unknown relatives, she brings together a group of people who all secretly yearn for a sense of belonging. Tessa, a delightful twenty-two-year-old, still misses her dead parents and brother but has learned that it is better to be alone than to be with the wrong people. Will, a retired widow, is by nature a positive man. Enchanted by Mathilda's house and drawn to Isobel, Mathilda's housekeeper who still lives in the cove, he sees life taking an exciting turn. Beatrice, a retired prep-school matron, thinks the idea of living with her cousins is preposterous. But a magical Christmas spent in the cove soon wins her over. As they muck in together it is as though they have known each other all their lives. Isobel, who still grieves for her dear friend, recognises Mathilda in each one of them as she is warmly accepted as part of this delightful and truly extraordinary family.

Amanda Reynolds

Amanda Reynolds lives in the Cotswolds with her family where she writes full-time. Her debut novel, Close To Me, is a #1 e-book bestseller. Lying To You is her second book.

Anne Perry

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

Brian Kimberling

Brian Kimberling is a native of Indiana and a graduate of Indiana University. In the mid-nineties he was a research assistant for a major study of Indiana songbirds, an experience central to his first book, SNAPPER. Since then he has lived and worked in the Czech Republic, Mexico, Turkey and England. He began writing SNAPPER on the Bath Spa Creative Writing MA in 2009, and was awarded the first annual Janklow & Nesbit Prize for the best manuscript to emerge from the course. He lives in Bath with his wife and son.

Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

Claire McGowan

Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland and now lives in London, where she runs an MA in creative writing at City University. THE KILLING HOUSE is Claire's seventh crime novel, and the sixth in the highly-acclaimed Paula Maguire series. She also writes women's fiction as Eva Woods.

David Churchill

David Churchill is the pseudonym of an award-winning journalist, who has conducted several hundred in-depth interviews with senior politicians, billionaire entrepreneurs, Olympic athletes, movie stars, supermodels and rock legends. He has investigated financial scandals on Wall Street, studio intrigues in Hollywood and corrupt sports stars in Britain, and lived in Moscow, Washington DC and Havana. He has edited four magazines, published seventeen books and been translated into some twenty languages. The Leopards of Normandy trilogy reflects his lifelong passion for history and his fascination for the extraordinary men and women of the past who shaped the world we live in today.

Deborah Harkness

Deborah Harkness is a historian of science and a professor of history at the University of Southern California. She spent several years in Oxford doing research (and really did once find a missing manuscript in the Bodleian Library!). She has written THE JEWEL HOUSE: ELIZABETHAN LONDON AND THE SCIENTIFIC REVOLUTION as well as the three novels in the internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, SHADOW OF NIGHT and THE BOOK OF LIFE.

Hannah Doyle

Hannah Doyle likes to write so much that she went to university twice just so that she could call putting pen to paper (well...finger to keyboard) her profession. She started out at a press agency in Bristol before skipping off to London to be a celebrity journalist. During the five years she spent at Reveal magazine and, for reasons unknown, Hannah became the go-to girl for interviewing male stars during scantily clad photo shoots. She now lives with her husband in Yorkshire where she writes for women's magazines, runs a blog and faffs about on Instagram. THE YEAR OF SAYING YES is her debut novel. Join Hannah online!Twitter: @HannahShowbizInstagram: @byhannahdoyleFacebook: /byHannahDoyleBlog: www.thisishannah.co.uk

Harriet Evans

Harriet Evans is the author of seven previous novels, Going Home, A Hopeless Romantic, The Love of Her Life, I Remember You, Love Always, Happily Ever After and Not Without You. She lives in London with her family.