Related to: 'Murder's Immortal Mask (Ancient Roman Mysteries and Book 4)'

Headline

Devil's Wolf (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 19)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Dark Serpent (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 18)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Paul Doherty's most popular series character returns. It is the Summer of 1311 and Hugh Corbett is about to take up a life of danger again in the eighteenth novel in his series, DARK SERPENT, the follow up to THE MYSTERIUM. If you love historical mysteries from Robin Hobb, Susanna Gregory, Michael Jecks, Peter Tremayne and Bernard Knight you will love this.After his recent unveiling of a devious assassin, Sir Hugh Corbett has returned to service as the Keeper of the Secret Seal, begrudgingly admitting that his appetite for adventure has once again been whetted. Summoned to meet the King to be congratulated on their work together, Corbett and Ranulf learn of the death of Corbett's close friend, Ralph Grandison. Ralph, a leper, has been found dead in a rowing boat, a dagger thrust through his chest. But this murder is not the first of its kind. Other patients of the hospital in which Ralph was staying have similarly slaughtered and it seems as though the lepers, all former knights of the Royal household, are being targeted. The discovery that Ralph was killed by no ordinary weapon, but a poison dagger that once belonged with the Crown Jewels before being famously stolen, leads Corbett down a complex path, where the risk of disease plays out against the backdrop of finding an assassin who will use any means necessary to kill. As Corbett puts himself in the path of extreme danger, will he survive to see another day?

Headline

The Love Knot

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

A powerful and passionate story of forbidden love set in Medieval England...Immersed in the colours and drama of medieval life, Paul Doherty's richly evocative novel, The Love Knot, combines fact and fiction to tell one of history's greatest but most secret love affairs. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Jean Plaidy. Spring, 1297. Recently widowed Joanna of Acre, loving daughter of Edward I, is pleased at her father's unexpected visit. But Edward has heard a rumour of an inappropriate friendship between Joanna, still officially in widow's weeds, and penniless commoner Ralph Monthermer. Edward, believing he has proof of a clandestine affair, immures Joanna in a nunnery and imprisons Ralph within Bristol Castle. Henry Trokelowe, Edward's clerk, stops him killing Ralph, who is allowed to live while the cold, almost passionless Henry investigates. Ralph and Joanna's only chance of survival now lies in Henry's hands, but how can a confirmed bachelor even begin to understand the all-consuming passion binding them?What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books''Fascinating''Five stars'

Headline

The Godless Man (Telamon Triology, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Can the mysteries of Ancient Greece, and Alexander himself, be unravelled? Alexander the Great faces the challenge of the Persian Centaur in The Godless Man, the second novel in Paul Doherty's magnificent series. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.'[Paul Doherty's] Alexander is a loyal friend and likeable rogue intent on gambling everything to achieve his dreams of world conquest' - Times Literary SupplementAlexander has smashed the armies of the great king Darius III and is roaming the Western Persian Empire like a hungry predator, living up to his nickname of 'the Wolf of Macedon'. Arriving in the great city of Ephesus in 334 BC, his campaign is threatened by a series of violent murders carried out by a high-ranking Persian spy known as 'the Centaur'. Worse, one of Alexander's old tutors, Leonidas, is found face down in a pond at the House of Medusa.Alexander's friend and physician, the level-headed Telamon, must set about unravelling this mass of blood-strewn mysteries. As always one of the biggest obstacles is Alexander himself, a consummate actor whose lust for power and glory matches the carnage and intrigue that dog his footsteps like the Furies themselves.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'Paul Doherty has the rare talent of making you feel as though you are there, be it medieval England, or battling with Alexander. The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of his books''[You] lose yourself in the story''Five stars'

Headline

The Gates of Hell (Telamon Triology, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Serpent Amongst the Lilies (Matthew Jankyn, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poisoned Chalice (Tudor Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Grail Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Brood of Vipers (Tudor Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Rodger embarks on a mission to Florence, in search of an elusive assassin...In his fourth journal, A Brood of Vipers, Roger Shallot encounters treacherous conspiracies and terrible murders as he journeys from Tudor London to Florence. Paul Doherty's Tudor mysteries are perfect for fans of Susannah Gregory and C. J. Sansom.Spring 1523. Benjamin Daunbey and his rapscallion servant, Roger Shallot, are summoned to London. A Florentine envoy, Lord Francesco Abrizzi, has been murdered and King Henry is determined to unmask the perpetrators of this outrage. In London, Shallot experiences King Henry's rage, the insults of the Abrizzis and a murderous attack. Shallot, a born coward, wants to crawl away and hide, but the King and Wolsey insist that he and Benjamin go to Florence, find Abrizzi's assassin, deliver a secret message, and bring back a Florentine painter. It sounds simple enough - but the reality is murderously different.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'Paul Doherty weaves a tangled web of murder and intrigue''These novels vividly bring the dirt, squalor and adventure of Henry VIII's reign to life''Excellent story. Always enjoyed the Shallot stories, he is a lovable rouge'

Headline

The Gallows Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poison Maiden (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Cup of Ghosts (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

By 1322, Mathilde of Westminster was considered the finest physician in London. But in her years as lady-in-waiting to Princess Isabella, she was drawn into the murky politics of the English court, where sudden, mysterious death was part of the tapestry of life. Many years later, Mathilde looks back and chronicles her turbulent life. With her sharp, suspicious intellect ready to distinguish between a fatality and an unnatural death, Mathilde is confronted by a host of chilling murders. The source of these horrors is the fierce political rivalry between Philip of France and Edward of England. This manifests itself in a series of gruesome killings, one of which actually took place during Edward II's Coronation, when a knight of the Royal Household, Sir John Baquelle was crushed to death.

Headline

The Song of the Gladiator (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

313 AD, and tempers are rising in Rome. The Emperor Constantine and his mother Helena are trying to make sense of the new Christian religion which is spreading through the Empire - but the Christians can't agree among themselves. Scholars are locked in a bitter struggle over whether Christ really was the son of God, and Constantine invites delegates from both sides to debate before him at his villa.Now strange things start to happen. Envoys from both sides are found murdered in a most macabre way. The villa is secretly attacked, and the Holy Sword is stolen. Helena calls on the help of her secret agent Claudia - that shrewd, unobtrusive detective - to untangle the dangerous web of intrigue. As she sets to work, the spy is also facing a crisis in her own life...

Headline

The Magician's Death (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 14)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

The monk and scholar Roger Bacon claimed to have seen many marvels of nature and science and concealed these in a book written in an unbreakable code. Sir Hugh Corbett has been instructed to organise agents in Paris to steal this Book of Secrets. They do so but pay a violent price and the French King Philip IV now wishes a meeting between the scholars of England and France to discuss breaking the code. Edward I has no choice but to allow the meeting to take place at Corfe Castle, which becomes a place of murder and mayhem. Young women from the castle are being slain whilst horrific things are witnessed in the nearby forest. The situation becomes more serious when two of the French scholars die in sinister circumstances. Corbett and Ranulf-atte-Newgate have to thread this maze of malevolent murder whilst trying to decipher the great secrets of one of England's most outstanding scholars.

Headline

The House of Shadows

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

In the late autumn of 1380, Brother Athelstan is busy enough. He and his parish council are preparing for the annual Christmas mystery play when a series of brutal murders occur at a Southwark tavern. Two young whores are found slain but their deaths are only the beginning of a series of gruesome killings which occur around the parish of St Erconwald's. A whole host of mysterious characters assemble to this pageant of murder: the Misericord, master thief and cunning man; the Judas man, a bounty hunter who tracks down outlaws and wolfheads; and finally the Knights of the Golden Falcon who assemble to celebrate their annual reunion. Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranstone have to resolve not only these grisly deaths but also their source - the Great Robbery of the Lombard treasure which occurred in Southwark some twenty years earlier...

Headline

Murder Imperial (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Haunt of Murder (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 6)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

As the sun sets, Chaucer's pilgrims find themselves lost in a Kent forest rumoured to be haunted. Huddled around the fire, trying to ignore the cries of screech owls and other, more frightening sounds of the night, the Clerk of Oxford agrees to tell a ghostly tale of love and death that will chill the blood.

Headline

The Horus Killings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty