Related to: 'The Spies of Sobeck (Amerotke Mysteries and Book 7)'

Headline

Devil's Wolf (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 19)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

England, 1311. In the dark of the North the devil lies in wait... Paul Doherty's most popular series character returns in the gripping nineteenth mystery in the Hugh Corbett series.If you love the historical mysteries of C. J. Sansom, E. M. Powell and Bernard Cornwell you will love this.1296: King Edward I has led his army to Scotland, determined to take the country under his crown. But the fierce Scots have no intention of submitting to their oppressor and violent and bloody war breaks out. 1311: Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the Secret Seal, finds himself back in Scotland and is revisited by the horrors he witnessed there fifteen years ago. An anonymous letter was delivered to the new king. It promised information about a fatal incident that could allow England to finally bow out of the war with the Scots. Tasked with finding out the truth about the murder, Corbett is forced to take risks he would rather avoid and put his faith in the words of strangers. But with an unknown traitor lurking in the shadows and danger around every corner, will Corbett be able to unravel the complex web of plots in time?What readers are saying about DEVIL'S WOLF:'Doherty evokes the Medieval world brilliantly...tense and suspenseful, the mystery keeps you guessing until near the end...an excellent and enjoyable read' Amazon reader, 5 stars'[A] well written rendition of our historical past...A joy to read' Amazon reader, 5 stars'Another well told story from a master storyteller...If you like historical adventures you will enjoy this vivid, well paced tale!' Amazon reader, 5 stars'Vivid and lively. Another Hugh Corbett, please!' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Headline

Dark Serpent (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 18)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Love Knot

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Gates of Hell (Telamon Triology, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Serpent Amongst the Lilies (Matthew Jankyn, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poisoned Chalice (Tudor Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Rodger and Benjamin are sent to Paris on a secret errand of state importance...Violent death, danger and treachery abound in The Poisoned Chalice, the second journal of the incorrigible Roger Shallot from acclaimed historical author, Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susannah Gregory. In 1521, England is at peace under the magnificent Cardinal Wolsey, who rules the country while Henry VIII spends his time in masques, banquets and hunting, whether it be the fleet-footed deer or the even more delicious quarry of the silken-garbed ladies of the court.But Richard Falconer, chief secretary of the English embassy in Paris, has been found mysteriously murdered. Wolsey believes that Falconer's death is connected with the disturbing news that there is a spy in the English court, or in its embassy in Paris, passing information to King Francis I of France. He summons his nephew, Benjamin Daunbey, and the wayward Roger Shallot to investigate. The only clue is the spy's code name, 'Raphael'.King Henry has secret instructions of his own before the pair journey to Paris: to retrieve a precious ring, the subject of a wager, and a certain book that the King does not want to fall into enemy hands. They are not to return to England without them.What readers are saying about The Poisoned Chalice:'Shallot is a superb character, and his voice is once again portrayed convincingly''The story moves along briskly, sprinkled liberally with foul murder, to an unexpectedly sensitive and touching ending''Paul Doherty seems to be able to turn his hand to virtually any century in history'

Headline

The Grail Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 3)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

The search for hidden treasure brings Rodger Shallot face to face with murder...In Paul Doherty's The Grail Murder, Richard Shallot's third journal, he must pit his wits against the terrifying and mysterious Templars. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and C.J. Sansom.In 1522 the rogue Roger Shallot and his sober-sided master Benjamin Daunbey are sent for by Cardinal Wolsey. Stafford, Duke of Buckingham, has been arrested for treason and Benjamin and Roger are made to witness his bloody execution. The true reason for Buckingham's downfall soon becomes apparent: he was searching at Templecombe Manor and Glastonbury Abbey in Somerset for two precious relics - the Holy Grail and Excalibur, the sword of King Arthur.Benjamin and Shallot are ordered to Templecombe, accompanied by the leaders of King Henry VIII's dreaded secret service, the Agentes in Rebus, to find these relics for the King. They must pit their wits against the Templars, a secret organisation plotting against the Tudors, of which Buckingham may have been a part and who may still have a member of their society close to the crown.The difficulties that wily Shallot - running true to his boast of possessing the fastest legs and quickest wits in Christendom - has to face soon make their presence felt: a duel, blackmail, the curses of a witch, the grisly hand of glory, decapitated heads, mysterious fires - and silent murder in the eerie Templar chapel.What readers are saying about The Grail Murders: 'This book had it all, locked room murders, a mysterious country manor house, an abbey, Templar conspiracy and Arthurian folklore - excellent!''Fascinating... historical mysteries brought to life with lots of accurate historical facts''Excellent story. Always enjoyed the Shallot stories, he is a lovable rogue'

Headline

A Brood of Vipers (Tudor Mysteries, Book 4)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

Rodger embarks on a mission to Florence, in search of an elusive assassin...In his fourth journal, A Brood of Vipers, Roger Shallot encounters treacherous conspiracies and terrible murders as he journeys from Tudor London to Florence. Paul Doherty's Tudor mysteries are perfect for fans of Susannah Gregory and C. J. Sansom.Spring 1523. Benjamin Daunbey and his rapscallion servant, Roger Shallot, are summoned to London. A Florentine envoy, Lord Francesco Abrizzi, has been murdered and King Henry is determined to unmask the perpetrators of this outrage. In London, Shallot experiences King Henry's rage, the insults of the Abrizzis and a murderous attack. Shallot, a born coward, wants to crawl away and hide, but the King and Wolsey insist that he and Benjamin go to Florence, find Abrizzi's assassin, deliver a secret message, and bring back a Florentine painter. It sounds simple enough - but the reality is murderously different.What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:'Paul Doherty weaves a tangled web of murder and intrigue''These novels vividly bring the dirt, squalor and adventure of Henry VIII's reign to life''Excellent story. Always enjoyed the Shallot stories, he is a lovable rouge'

Headline

The Gallows Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 5)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Poison Maiden (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

It's 1308 and England hovers on the brink of civil war. Edward II, his wife Isabella and the royal favourite Peter Gaveston Earl of Cornwall, have been forced to retreat to the King's folly. Just an arrowshot away lie the Great Lords and Philip IV of France, who are demanding that the Earl of Cornwall be charged with high treason.Edward is trapped, and worse, he has learnt that Philip has the 'Poison Maiden' on his side, a formidable spy who did untold damage during his father's reign. As Edward tries in vain to unmask the identity of the spy, Mathilde, handmaiden to the Queen, also attempts to identify the source of this threat. Soon the crisis spills over into violence. The Lords attempt to take Gaveston by force and the King and his Court, including Mathilde, are forced to flee. As the enemy closes in, Mathilde finds herself embroiled in a life and death struggle for the English crown.

Headline

The Cup of Ghosts (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

By 1322, Mathilde of Westminster was considered the finest physician in London. But in her years as lady-in-waiting to Princess Isabella, she was drawn into the murky politics of the English court, where sudden, mysterious death was part of the tapestry of life. Many years later, Mathilde looks back and chronicles her turbulent life. With her sharp, suspicious intellect ready to distinguish between a fatality and an unnatural death, Mathilde is confronted by a host of chilling murders. The source of these horrors is the fierce political rivalry between Philip of France and Edward of England. This manifests itself in a series of gruesome killings, one of which actually took place during Edward II's Coronation, when a knight of the Royal Household, Sir John Baquelle was crushed to death.

Headline

The Song of the Gladiator (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

313 AD, and tempers are rising in Rome. The Emperor Constantine and his mother Helena are trying to make sense of the new Christian religion which is spreading through the Empire - but the Christians can't agree among themselves. Scholars are locked in a bitter struggle over whether Christ really was the son of God, and Constantine invites delegates from both sides to debate before him at his villa.Now strange things start to happen. Envoys from both sides are found murdered in a most macabre way. The villa is secretly attacked, and the Holy Sword is stolen. Helena calls on the help of her secret agent Claudia - that shrewd, unobtrusive detective - to untangle the dangerous web of intrigue. As she sets to work, the spy is also facing a crisis in her own life...

Headline

The Magician's Death (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 14)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The House of Shadows

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

Murder Imperial (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 1)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

A Haunt of Murder (Canterbury Tales Mysteries, Book 6)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

The Horus Killings (Amerotke Mysteries, Book 2)

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty
Headline

By Murder's Bright Light

Paul Doherty
Authors:
Paul Doherty

It is the winter of 1379 and a sea of trouble is besetting England. French privateers attack the southern coast on a path to threaten London itself. In response an English flotilla of warships, with God's Bright Light in its number, has dropped anchor in the Thames. When the sun rises on their first morning, however, further mysteries are in store. The first mate and two of the crew of God's Bright Light have disappeared without trace.Sir John Cranston, the wine-loving Coroner of the City, and his clerk, the Dominican Monk, Brother Athelstan, are summoned to resolve the mysteries on board the ill-omened warship. In particular, they must search out the truth behind the death of Sir Henry Ospring, who had visited the ship's captain prior to his death only to be viciously stabbed to death in a tavern chamber. Could the events be connected? As Cranston and Brother Athelstan investigate, they find themselves in the thick of a bloody battle on the Thames as scandal, treason and murder rule the day.