Related to: 'Backstreet Child'

Headline

The Farrans of Fellmonger Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

When widowed Ida Farran runs off with a bus inspector in 1949, she leaves her five children to fend for themselves. Preoccupied with the day-to-day task of earning enough money to keep the family together, eighteen-year-old Rose battles bravely on, thankful for the mysterious benefactor who pays the rent on their flat in Imperial Buildings on Fellmonger Street. Life isn't easy but between them Rose and her younger brother Don just about manage to make ends meet. Recently, however, Don has become rather too friendly with the Morgan boys. Everyone knows the small-time Bermondsey villains are a bad lot. But even this concern pales into insignificance when Rose finds herself pregnant. Now it'll need a miracle to keep the Farrans of Fellmonger Street together.

Headline

The Whispering Years

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

That Summer in Eagle Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

As Time Goes By

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

The Glory and the Shame

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

Waggoner's Way

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

One More for Saddler Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

For the families in Saddler Street, drama is always just around the corner. Harry Bowling's post-war saga, One More For Saddler Street, is a tale of the families that inhabit one East End London street, and the dramas and events that make up their lives. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Dilly Court. Saddler Street is like many of the other little backstreets of Bermondsey, with its row of two-up, two-down terraced houses standing in the shadow of Allen's Wharf.Number 5 is home to the Johnson family, but the atmosphere inside the four walls is not always as happy as the neighbours may think. Lana Johnson - young, intelligent and strikingly attractive - is getting serious with the local small-time villain, Ben Ferris. And everyone except Lana herself is sure that the match will end in tears.Next door to the Johnsons lives Lottie Curtis, a kind-hearted widow they have taken under their wing. For decades Lottie has been foster mother to children from broken homes. Only Jimmy Bailey has ever demonstrated in a practical way the debt he owed to Lottie - until the war intervened and he was called up. But it's 1946 and Lottie is facing her eightieth birthday alone. When Jimmy, now demobbed, teams up with Lana to organise a reunion of all the old lady's children as a birthday treat, there's more than one surprise in store... What readers are saying about One More For Saddler Street: 'I am hooked on Harry Bowling books! Fantastic storytelling puts you right into the action''Once again I find myself engrossed in the Bermondsey back streets as the folk go about their daily lives'

Headline

Pedlar's Row

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Now that the war is over, life can go back to normal. But things can never be the same again... Harry Bowling writes a moving saga in Pedlar's Row - a tale of two sisters, and their differing experiences of living in 1940's London. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Annie Murray. It's 1946 and the close-knit community of Pedlar's Row in Bermondsey is full of curiosity about the new family, the Priors, moving into number three. Laura Prior is enjoying the excitement of her new home - not least because of her growing attraction to docker Billy Cassidy.But her sister, Lucy, is finding life harder: rationing, a shortage of homes, a husband who is emotionally scarred from his internment in a POW camp and her guilt about a wartime affair, make it difficult to settle into married life. What readers are saying about Pedlar's Row: 'Perfect''Five stars'

Headline

The Chinese Lantern

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Born on opposite sides of the world, war brings two young people together. In The Chinese Lantern, Harry Bowling writes a heart-wrenching saga about the strength of love and the brutality of war. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Dilly Court.In May 1929 two babies are born on the same day on opposite sides of the world. In Tanners Alley in Bermondsey, Ruby Neal gives birth to a son, Paul. On the edge of a paddy field in Eastern China, a young woman dies giving premature birth to a girl. A travelling trader takes pity and takes the tiny child to the Anglican mission to be cared for. He becomes the child's guardian and names her Mei Li Ching.By the time Paul and Mei Li reach their twenty-first birthdays, they could not have had more different lives. And it is only as a consequence of war that they ever meet. Instantly attracted to each other, they are soon to discover the problems their cultural differences - and family prejudices - will bring. What readers are saying about The Chinese Lantern: 'I loved this story - five stars''As with all the Harry Bowling books, a very good read. You are transported into the era and get to know the characters'

Headline

Conner Street's War

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

The onset of the Second World War has a devastating effect on the close-knit community of London's Conner Street. Harry Bowling's Conner Street's War is a poignant and heart-warming saga of a community struggling to survive the dangers of the Blitz. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.Behind the grimy wharves of London's dockland lies Conner Street, home to a close-knit community where women stand gossiping in doorways, small boys play marbles on the cobbles and the dockers pop down to the Eagle for a quick pint. Corner shops nestle beside the tiny terraced houses and two minutes away is the lively Tower Road market, where it is said, if you can't buy something then it's not made. Once World War Two breaks out, however, life in Conner Street changes dramatically - forever... What readers are saying about Conner Street's War: 'You need to make time for this book as once you pick it up, you cannot put it down''Another winner from Harry. Believable, heart-warming characters, a true and accurate depiction of the people and the times, living through the Blitz. The man's a genius'

Headline

When the Pedlar Called

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

Ironmonger's Daughter

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Two daughters. Two families. One world war. Ironmonger's Daughter is a moving portrayal of life and love in the gritty poverty of the East End streets, from much-loved author Harry Bowling. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lizzie Lane.'Poignant, nostalgic - but not romanticised - stories of good-hearted ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances' - IndependentIronmonger Street in 1920, with its ugly tenement blocks and tumbledown houses, is one of the most unsightly turnings in Bermondsey; its residents are hardened to the grim poverty of their lives.In the slum block, Jubilee Dwellings, two sisters - attractive, fun-loving Kate Morgan and the happily married Helen Bartlett - give birth to daughters. One is illegitimate, her mother refusing to name the father, the other is disabled. Connie and Molly grow up together and wouldn't be parted for the world.Until the day Connie catches the eye of handsome Robert Armitage. Despite the differences in their backgrounds, and the antagonism that dogs their two families, they are drawn together and are determined to be married. Until war intervenes... What readers are saying about Ironmonger's Daughter: 'Absolutely love this book, would recommend to others. Typical of family life in London, this took me on a journey way back in time. Couldn't put it down''Very good book, could not put it down'

Headline

The Girl from Cotton Lane

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

Gaslight in Page Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Page Street, a shabby, cobbled and gaslit Bermondsey backstreet is home to a diverse and close-knit community fighting an ongoing battle against poverty, hunger and the devastating effects of the Great War.George Galloway owns a cartage business; his right-hand man is William Tanner. William's loyalty has worn thin over the years but he cannot break the ties with Galloway because times are hard and the house in which he lives belongs to him. Carrie Tanner grows up in the heart of a poor yet loving family, but as she becomes a young woman she becomes involved in the Suffragette movement. The times are changing - and quickly. Will this close-knit community be able to pull together or will it be torn apart?

Headline

Paragon Place

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

Paragon Place, an ordinary square of two-up, two-down houses in Bermondsey, has pretty well survived the Blitz. But it's taken its toll on a hard-working and tight-knit community. Despite going through the very worst of times - the never-ending fight against poverty, rationing and bombs - the residents of Paragon Place have been brought closer together by laughter and tears in the face of despair. There is Sally Brady, who is torn between two men, local drunk Alf Porter, the prim Carey sisters, the gossips and the villains. After surviving the horror of the war, they face new dramas as they rebuild their lives together...

Headline

When the Pedlar Called

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

Down Milldyke Way

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling
Headline

Tuppence to Tooley Street

Harry Bowling
Authors:
Harry Bowling

As he lay in the mud on the beach at Dunkirk, Danny Sutton didn't think he would ever see his home in London's docklands again. But he was one of the lucky ones. Returning home, he is reassured to find that things are just the same: the smell of the wharves and warehouses in Tooley Street; the usual hubbub in Dawson Street, where aproned figures stand in doorways discussing the war; the men down The Globe; the children playing tin-can copper in the gutters. And at number 26, Danny's family crowd round to welcome their beloved son home. But, scarred in mind as well as body, Danny is to realise that things have changed. Unable to do heavy work because of his war wounds he must adjust to a different way of life. And, worst of all, his childhood sweetheart, Kathy, didn't wait for him ...

Alison Weir

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth-bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She has published eighteen history books, including her most recent non-fiction book, Queens of the Conquest, the first in her England's Medieval Queens quartet. Alison has also published several historical novels, including Innocent Traitor and The Lady Elizabeth. Anna of Kleve: Queen of Secrets is Alison Weir's ninth published novel and the fourth in the Six Tudor Queens series about the wives of Henry VIII, which was launched in 2016 to great critical acclaim. The first three books in the series - Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession and Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen were all Sunday Times bestsellers. Alison is a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and an honorary life patron of Historic Royal Palaces.

Barbara Nadel

Trained as an actress, Barbara Nadel used to work in mental health services. Born in the East End of London, she now writes full time and has been a visitor to Turkey for over twenty years. She received the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for her novel DEADLY WEB, and the Swedish Flintax Prize for historical crime fiction for her first Francis Hancock novel, LAST RIGHTS.To find out more, follow Barbara on Twitter @BarbaraNadel or visit her website www.barbara-nadel.com