Related to: 'Empire of the Moghul: Ruler of the World'

Author

Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow's passion for writing began at an early age. After a childhood spent travelling the world he pursued his great love of history as a teacher, before becoming a full-time writer in 2005. Simon's Roman soldier heroes Cato and Macro first stormed the book shops in 2000, and Simon continues to create one new adult Roman novel each year. Simon has many other literary projects in hand including a young adult Roman series and THE SWORD AND THE SCIMITAR, an epic tale of the Siege of Malta in the sixteenth century. To find out more about Simon Scarrow and his novels, visit www.catoandmacro.com and www.scarrow.co.uk.

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Traitors in the Shadows

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

TRAITORS IN THE SHADOWS is the sixth gripping novel in the action-packed Empire of the Moghul series by Alex Rutherford, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Robyn Young. 'Totally absorbing... Authentic characters and sweeping action' Wilbur SmithA dynasty at warA new emperor, Aurangzeb, sits on India's glittering Peacock Throne - the throne he seized from his father while the old emperor still lived. He has paid for it with blood: during the brutal civil war he hunted down and killed his brothers. Now he must return the Moghul Empire to the true path and achieve new glory. But the exercise of great power is isolating. With enemies everywhere, who should he trust? Certainly not his sons. He must rely on himself and the knowledge that there are more ways to subdue a man than on the battlefield.But as the years pass memories haunt him - memories of a father who never loved him and a mother who lies in the Taj Mahal; of murdered brothers and of sons and daughters locked in sunless prisons. He tells himself that everything he has done has been necessary - moral, even. But how will his God judge him?

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Serpent's Tooth

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

** EXCITING TV SERIES IN PRODUCTION **The new Moghul Emperor Shah Jahan reigns over a colossally wealthy empire of 100 million souls. Yet to gain his throne he has followed the savage 'throne or coffin' traditions of his ancestors - descendants of Genghis Khan and Tamburlaine. Ever since the Moghuls took India, brother has fought brother and sons their fathers for the prize and Shah Jahan has been no exception.As his reign dawns, now is the time for Shah Jahan to secure his throne by crushing his enemies. Instead, devastated by the death of his beautiful wife Mumtaz, he becomes obsessed with building an epic monument to their perfect love - the Taj Mahal. His overwhelming grief isolates him from his sons and he does not see the rivalries, indeed hatreds, building between them. When he falls ill, civil war breaks out - ruthless, murderous and uncontrollable - and the foundations of the empire itself begin to shake.

Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: The Tainted Throne

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline

Ice Force

Matt Lynn
Authors:
Matt Lynn
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Ruler of the World

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Business Plus

Demand (India Only)

Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er
Authors:
Adrian Slywotzky With Karl Web, Er

Demand is one of the few economic terms almost everyone knows. Demand drives supply. When demand rises, growth happens - jobs are created, the economy flourishes and society thrives. So goes the theory.It sounds simple, yet almost no one really understands demand, including the business owners, company leaders and policy makers who try to stimulate and satisfy it. Aimed at a business and general non-fiction readership, DEMAND is a book which searches for clues as to where demand really comes from, and why, and how we might control it.

Headline Review

The Thread

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Headline

Playfair Cricket Annual 2011

Ian Marshall
Authors:
Ian Marshall

The 64th edition of the PLAYFAIR CRICKET ANNUAL reviews England's Ashes tour to Australia, the 2010 Test series against Pakistan and Bangladesh, as well as England's triumph in the ICC World Twenty20. The book is packed with all the essential information required to follow events on the cricket field, with unrivalled up-to-the-minute statistical detail on all first-class players registered in the UK at the time of press, including for the first time career bests in international T20 matches. There are fixture lists for the coming season, including 2nd XI and Minor Counties. It also features highlights of the 2010 summer and previews the 2011 Test series against Sri Lanka and India, plus full Test match, first-class and limited-overs international records.

Headline

Bumpalicious

Denise Van Outen
Authors:
Denise Van Outen
Headline

A Discovery of Witches

Deborah Harkness
Authors:
Deborah Harkness

An epic, richly inventive, historically sweeping, magical romance.When historian Diana Bishop opens an alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, it's an unwelcome intrusion of magic into her carefully ordered life. Though Diana is a witch of impeccable lineage, the violent death of her parents while she was still a child convinced her that human fear is more potent than any witchcraft. Now Diana has unwittingly exposed herself to a world she's kept at bay for years; one of powerful witches, creative, destructive daemons and long-lived vampires. Sensing the significance of Diana's discovery, the creatures gather in Oxford, among them the enigmatic Matthew Clairmont, a vampire genticist. Diana is inexplicably drawn to Matthew and, in a shadowy world of half-truths and old enmities, ties herself to him without fully understanding the ancient line they are crossing. As they begin to unlock the secrets of the manuscript and their feelings for each other deepen, so the fragile balance of peace unravels...

Headline Review

The Only Way is Up

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Brothers at War

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford
Headline Review

Empire of the Moghul: Raiders From the North

Alex Rutherford
Authors:
Alex Rutherford

** EXCITING TV SERIES IN PRODUCTION **The first book in the Empire of the Moghul series: chronicling the rise and fall of the Moghul rulers of India, beginning with Babur who swept in from Central Asia to found one of the most powerful dynasties in history.1494, and the new ruler of Ferghana, twelve-year-old Babur, faces a seemingly impossible challenge. Babur is determined to equal his great ancestor, Tamburlaine, whose conquests stretched from Delhi to the Mediterranean, from wealthy Persia to the wild Volga. But he is dangerously young to inherit a crown and treasonous plots, tribal rivalries, rampaging armies and ruthlessly ambitious enemies will threaten his destiny, his kingdom, even his survival.

Headline Review

The Perfect Man

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

The Woman Who Drew Buildings

Wendy Robertson
Authors:
Wendy Robertson

A powerful portrayal of the unbreakable bond between a mother and her son.As Adam Matheve walks towards his mother's house, to see her for the first time in two years, he has just one hope - to forge the bond with her for which he's always yearned. Enigmatic Marie Matheve has spent her life indulging her passion for drawing buildings, often at the cost of her relationship with her son. Now, after a dangerous fall, she lies unconscious, her life slipping away. All Adam can do is wait in desperate hope for her recovery. But as time passes Adam begins to unravel the mystery of his mother's past and discovers how little he really knows about the woman who raised him. For all his life Marie has kept a secret from him, a secret that will change his life for ever...

Headline

Ghostgirl: Homecoming

Tonya Hurley
Authors:
Tonya Hurley

Charlotte may have graduated Dead Ed but that's not the end of her story.Life, for Charlotte, was one bitter disappointment after another. And it seems death isn't going to be much different. Convinced that graduating Dead Ed was her route to the afterlife Charlotte is a little surprised to find she has to complete an internship!Answering the phones at a help centre for troubled teens isn't proving brilliantly exciting. Until Scarlet calls: a pedicure-gone-hideously-wrong has landed Petula in a coma and Scarlet thinks Charlotte is the only person who can help...

Headline

The Quickie

Michael Ledwidge, James Patterson
Authors:
Michael Ledwidge, James Patterson

James Patterson takes us on a twisting roller-coaster ride of thrills in his most gripping novel yet. This story of love, lust and dangerous secrets will have readers' hearts pounding to the very last page. Lauren Stillwell is not your average damsel in distress. When the NYPD cop discovers her husband leaving a hotel with another woman, she decides to beat him at his own game. But her revenge goes dangerously awry, and she finds her world spiralling into a hell that becomes more terrifying by the hour. In a further twist of fate, Lauren must take on a job that threatens everything she stands for. Now, she's paralysed by a deadly secret that could tear her life apart. With her job and marriage on the line, Lauren's desire for retribution becomes a lethal inferno as she fights to save her livelihood - and her life.

Headline Review

The Island

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop
Headline Review

Small Island

Andrea Levy
Authors:
Andrea Levy

It is 1948 in an England still shaken by war. At 21 Nevern Street, London, Queenie Bligh takes into her house lodgers who have recently arrived from Jamaica. What else could she do when her husband, Bernard, never returned from his RAF wartime posting to India? Among her tenants are Gilbert and his new wife Hortense. Gilbert Joseph was one of the several thousand Jamaican men who joined the RAF to fight against Hitler. Returning to England after the war he finds himself treated very differently now that he is no longer in a blue uniform. Desperation makes him remember a wartime friendship with Queenie and knock at her door. Hortense shared Gilbert's dream of leaving Jamaica and coming to England to start a better life. But when she at last joins her husband, she is shocked by London's shabbiness and horrified at the way the English live. Even Gilbert is not the man she thought he was.Queenie's neighbours do not approve of her choice of tenants, and neither would her husband, were he there. Through the stories of these people, SMALL ISLAND explores a point in England's past when the country began to change.

Headline Review

A Minor Indiscretion

Carole Matthews
Authors:
Carole Matthews

Carole Matthews' bestselling romantic comedy is reissued with a stunning new cover design.Happily married with three children, Ali Kingston can't believe that a quick cappuccino in a Covent Garden café will turn her life upside down. But then it isn't every day that a gorgeous street artist, fifteen years her junior, falls at her feet. When Ali's husband, Ed, finds out that she's spent time with another man, he's sure there's more to it than meets the eye. And what started as a minor indiscretion soon turns into something major...